We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a difference a year makes!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chartham
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a difference a year makes!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I am sorry to be writing this after giving a super review last year but cannot believe how a hotel can go down so much in a year. On arrival I was greeted by the hotels one saving grace Eduard. He was polite & helpful throughout the weekend. That is pretty much where the service ended. The food is now average to mediocre in the evenings and poor to terrible at breakfast. In fact our breakfast this morning took 1 hour to arrive. Some of our party even gave up and left before getting their breakfast. There are lots of small faults in the hotel now that need dealing with- the door hook from the bathroom being left on the towels, the light that only works when you touch it. All minor faults but they need work. It is such a shame to see the demise of what was a super hotel in lovely grounds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catbelle57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    128
    38
    9
    5
See reviews for
66
212
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Howfield Manor is a pleasant three star hotel near Canterbury. Very pleasant and helpful staff breakfast was well cooked and well presented although the coffee quality could be improved! If we have a negative comment it's the 'piped music' -turn it off or change the record!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms/bathrooms are on the small size so it's probably best to request something lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrington, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I booked a night at Howfield Manor based on very good reviews on trip advisor. Following a very difficult time suffering from serious health issues and no holidays for a long time we really needed a relaxing break visiting nearby Canterbury and Sissinghurst. Upon arrival we were greeted in a very unprofessional and confused manner and our booking could initially not be found. I was eventually presented with three different print outs of bookings to 'choose' from, luckily one of them was ours! When we were taken to our room it did not have a four poster bed as booked. When pointing this out we were offered a discount as apparently a mistake had been made by the booking system. No four poster bedrooms were available that night, even though we were not happy we really did not have any choice in the matter as it was getting rather late to look elsewhere. The room was very shabby and tired, the bathroom rather off putting (see pictures). The only plus side was the comfortable mattress. About midnight a loud noise woke us both up, it sounded like somebody had decided to hoover right outside our door. After further investigation we decided it must be the plumbing system or the next door's bathroom fan. The noise continued on and off for over an hour and we finally managed to get to sleep around 3am! When I complained about this to the receptionist in the morning I received no explanation or promise of one. Breakfast was ok and the breakfast staff very helpful and polite.
We shall not be returning to Howfield Manor and I am astounded by the many positive reviews posted on Trip Advisor, this was possibly one of the worst nights we've ever spent in any hotel anywhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sveske654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Manager at Howfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Firstly please accept my sincerest apologies for the disappointment regarding your stay.
When you booked your four poster bed we had a major problem with our fax line, email, and internet access for several days due to a BT fault beyond our control. Once fixed we entered and checked the backlog caused for booking made in this period. Unfortunately, in the confusion your were put in a standard double room. On checking again before you arrival we released we had incorrectly booked you in and as both four posters were already in use put you in a canopy bed as the next best option with a reduction in price. The confusion on arrival was caused because we had swapped several room s around to accommodate you in what we believed to be the next best room available. The oversight was our fault and in normal circumstances this would not have happened.
The chair has now been replaced and the bathroom improved. Maintenance is an ongoing and constant task and in this case we were out of step with what needed to be done, but have taken your feedback seriously and acted on the situation.
Again my apologies for the noise , which has never been mentioned by any guest before or since in this room. The plumber has looked at the system and we have checked the adjoining bathroom fan without finding any cause, but will continue to monitor the situation.
I am sorry that a break you were looking forward did not turn out as you wished and your experience is far from the one that we normally deliver.
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

In Canterbury for a school reunion after a break o almost 45 years, this hotel enabled to to relax and enjoy a really interesting return to the City and my formative years.
The hotel is stunning, especially if, like me, you love windey stairs, uneven floors and creaky floorboards, it was easy to remember days of not so very long ago, when, Service, meant something.
My wife and I ate in the hotel and had a great meal, well cooked if a little slowly presented, but actually the service was fine and we really enjoyed our stay

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

What was not to love! I booked last minute (escaping the snow in Cumbria - and wanted something close to the Eurotunnel).

The area is a bit strange, but once you pass through the gates, you think you are in another world! They should shoot a Downton Abbey type show here!

The room was huge, the bed was very comfortable. Tiny complaint: the washroom was slightly drafty, but that doesn't really matter.

Food was great - had dinner and breakfast there. The breakfast was spectacular, felt like i ate enough to last me for two days!

And best of all, the service! I am still in shock as to how great it was. They even came up to the room to make sure we didn't miss breakfast in the morning! I am really impressed and wish more hotels followed this example.

All in all, a 100% recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meereeree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have just attended a conference at Howfield Manor in the Oak Room which was wonderful, light and bright and opened onto the garden. We stayed the night before and following the conference and had a lovely large room in the oldest part of the house with a 7ft bed and everything you could need was provided. I loved the history of the building and the gardens, lake etc. The food was beautifully cooked and presented and the staff couldn't have been more polite or more helpful. Everywhere was clean and well presented. I would recommend this hotel for a stay or a conference.

Room Tip: I think that all the rooms were fine and as far as I'm aware - a couple of them have four poste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Spent a most enjoyable night here for a conference. Evening meal in the restaurant was exceptional, service was first class, absolutely cannot fault 10/10. Overnight accommodation very comfortable double aspect room with everything you could need for an overnight stay. Breakfast and lunch to the same high standard. For first class service and outstanding fresh food I would highly recommend a stay here. We will definitely be staying here again, will drive over just for dinner!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chartham
2.5 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
2.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
431 reviews
2.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,135 reviews
1.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
275 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howfield Manor Hotel

Property: Howfield Manor Hotel
Address: Howfield Lane, Chartham, Canterbury CT4 7HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Chartham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chartham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howfield Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel in superb setting.Easy access to Canterbury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing