We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howfield Manor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Canterbury Hotel(Canterbury)
$112
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Victoria Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
$122
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle House Hotel(Canterbury)
$106
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
ABode Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
$108
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Falstaff in Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
$100
$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pilgrims Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
$101
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cathedral Gate Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
$91
$89
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveler rating
220
135
40
11
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
135
40
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely groundsfour poster bedwedding coordinatortrouser presswedding venuepark and ridelovely hotelevening meal and breakfastfunction roomuneven floorssmall hotelan overnight stayenglish breakfastmember of staffbooked this hotelvisiting canterburystayed for two nights
Filter
Updating list...
294 - 299 of 414 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2013

excellent hotel, superb value
watch out for satnav from the north taking you by a convoluted route. #
if two oe more o you get a taxi rather than the bus. £4.40 for 2 or less than £8.00 for the taxi, no contest
evening meal was good but not fabulous, but overall very good value as a package with the accommodation
staff were lovely
one thing to bear in mind. we had an early start and when i got to the desk the night porter said he couldnt do check out involving money
instead he got the receptionist up who came down in her jammies to check us out, she had a smile on her face and no hint of recrimination
again fabulous people

Room Tip: room 1 was great
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have tried several hotels close to Dover en route to our home in France. This has turned out to be one of the best. The reception on arrival was very friendly with an enthusiastic porter (Edouard) who later turned out to be our waiter at dinner. We had a very large room (No 1) in the older part of the building and were thankful for the help with our cases up the stairs and through the narrow corridors. The room was characterfull but had some of the issues you might find in an older place e.g poor water pressure for the shower. We had been given a very good rate for bed and breakfast which made it excellent value. Breakast was fine with nice local sausages.
I hope to review the restaurant seperately as there were a couple of issues which would knock the score down a notch.

Room Tip: If you value space No 1 is a good choice.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forgerons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding at Howfield manor on the 5th January 2013.... I would like to highly recommend this venue for anyone considering a wedding... Nothing was ever to much trouble and everything we asked for for was delivered to the highest standard an the whole day exceeded our expectations and has left us with many happy memories of the day

Everything was included in the package price which was excellent value, so no hidden extras and the venue were more than accommodating an open to negotiation if changes were required to the set package.

What made the day particularly magical and was recognised by all our guests was the attitude and attention to detail that was delivered by all the staff that work at Howfield Manor on the day.
A special mention and recognition must be said to Hayley the wedding co ordinator who is a real credit to Howfield Manor, she planned our wedding with us from start to finish an captured every single detail that we asked for.. It seems a shame our wedding experience has ended as it was always such a pleasure to meet with Hayley and the team during our visits.
Another mention must go to Edwardo who was the most attentive colleague throughout the whole day being there at every opportunity to ensure nothing went wrong and ensuring we were happy with everything.

Howfield Manor and the team come highly recommended by not only us but a large number of guests who attended the wedding party who reported what a lovely venue, with fantastic food and very enjoyable evening entertainment (White Discos) which was all supplied as part if the wedding package.

Well done and a big Thank you to Howfield Manor for making our wedding day so special. Donna & Steve Bridges x

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PoutD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

stayed here with family in June 2012 - lovely hotel, good comfortable rooms, wonderful food. Great base for getting into Canterbury to see the sights - if you get the chance try to go on a canal boat - one guy Ian has a great knowledge

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We got married at howfield manor on new years eve and had a fantastic day. We changed the date at the last minute but the hotel was extremely accommodating and allowed us to switch with only a week's notice.

The wedding package was not only excellent value but also made our lives much easier as everything we needed was included. We were organising everything from a distance so the help of Hayley, the wedding planner, was invaluable. It is also a very practical wedding venue as it offers lots of good and bad weather alternatives and we found that the fireplace in the lounge offered a lovely backdrop for some winter wedding photos.

One of the things our guests praised the most was the friendly and helpful attitude of all the staff, without exception. Each and every one went out of their way to meet our requests, they even went so far as to cut down fresh ivy and then went about decorating the ceremony room with it. We felt at home and very welcome in the hotel and we would certainly say that our whole experience would not have been so good without such a friendly bunch of staff.

We would certainly recommend howfield as a wedding venue to any other couples looking to get married in Kent. The lovely staff and homely atmosphere created a day we will never forget!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kittykatcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews