We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night pre channel crossing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chartham
Certificate of Excellence
kirkham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“one night pre channel crossing”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

excellent hotel, superb value
watch out for satnav from the north taking you by a convoluted route. #
if two oe more o you get a taxi rather than the bus. £4.40 for 2 or less than £8.00 for the taxi, no contest
evening meal was good but not fabulous, but overall very good value as a package with the accommodation
staff were lovely
one thing to bear in mind. we had an early start and when i got to the desk the night porter said he couldnt do check out involving money
instead he got the receptionist up who came down in her jammies to check us out, she had a smile on her face and no hint of recrimination
again fabulous people

Room Tip: room 1 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    126
    37
    9
    5
See reviews for
66
209
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have tried several hotels close to Dover en route to our home in France. This has turned out to be one of the best. The reception on arrival was very friendly with an enthusiastic porter (Edouard) who later turned out to be our waiter at dinner. We had a very large room (No 1) in the older part of the building and were thankful for the help with our cases up the stairs and through the narrow corridors. The room was characterfull but had some of the issues you might find in an older place e.g poor water pressure for the shower. We had been given a very good rate for bed and breakfast which made it excellent value. Breakast was fine with nice local sausages.
I hope to review the restaurant seperately as there were a couple of issues which would knock the score down a notch.

Room Tip: If you value space No 1 is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forgerons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding at Howfield manor on the 5th January 2013.... I would like to highly recommend this venue for anyone considering a wedding... Nothing was ever to much trouble and everything we asked for for was delivered to the highest standard an the whole day exceeded our expectations and has left us with many happy memories of the day

Everything was included in the package price which was excellent value, so no hidden extras and the venue were more than accommodating an open to negotiation if changes were required to the set package.

What made the day particularly magical and was recognised by all our guests was the attitude and attention to detail that was delivered by all the staff that work at Howfield Manor on the day.
A special mention and recognition must be said to Hayley the wedding co ordinator who is a real credit to Howfield Manor, she planned our wedding with us from start to finish an captured every single detail that we asked for.. It seems a shame our wedding experience has ended as it was always such a pleasure to meet with Hayley and the team during our visits.
Another mention must go to Edwardo who was the most attentive colleague throughout the whole day being there at every opportunity to ensure nothing went wrong and ensuring we were happy with everything.

Howfield Manor and the team come highly recommended by not only us but a large number of guests who attended the wedding party who reported what a lovely venue, with fantastic food and very enjoyable evening entertainment (White Discos) which was all supplied as part if the wedding package.

Well done and a big Thank you to Howfield Manor for making our wedding day so special. Donna & Steve Bridges x

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PoutD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Essex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

stayed here with family in June 2012 - lovely hotel, good comfortable rooms, wonderful food. Great base for getting into Canterbury to see the sights - if you get the chance try to go on a canal boat - one guy Ian has a great knowledge

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We got married at howfield manor on new years eve and had a fantastic day. We changed the date at the last minute but the hotel was extremely accommodating and allowed us to switch with only a week's notice.

The wedding package was not only excellent value but also made our lives much easier as everything we needed was included. We were organising everything from a distance so the help of Hayley, the wedding planner, was invaluable. It is also a very practical wedding venue as it offers lots of good and bad weather alternatives and we found that the fireplace in the lounge offered a lovely backdrop for some winter wedding photos.

One of the things our guests praised the most was the friendly and helpful attitude of all the staff, without exception. Each and every one went out of their way to meet our requests, they even went so far as to cut down fresh ivy and then went about decorating the ceremony room with it. We felt at home and very welcome in the hotel and we would certainly say that our whole experience would not have been so good without such a friendly bunch of staff.

We would certainly recommend howfield as a wedding venue to any other couples looking to get married in Kent. The lovely staff and homely atmosphere created a day we will never forget!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittykatcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at Howfield Manor Hotel in September 2012 and were quite pleasantly surprised. The hotel is set in its own large grounds with mature trees and shrubs, approached via a twisty country lane if you come from north off the A2. A crunchy gravel driveway announces your arrival and there's a large car park in front of the hotel. It's an old building, with the original structure dating back to the 12th century and it obviously makes a great venue for weddings.

Our room was quiet and comfortable, overlooking the gardens, with all the comforts you'd expect of a decent hotel these days. Howfield Manor is ideally placed for visiting Canterbury, while the north and east Kent coastline is an easy and interesting full day's tour from the hotel.

The 1181 restaurant has a fairly good menu, although we felt they struggled a little and were maybe perhaps a touch over-ambitious on our first evening (Saturday), bearing in mind they were trying to cater for a large function at the same time. It's perfectly reasonable to suggest that if the Chef and the restaurant Waiting staff weren't having to worry about the incumbent wedding party, then the food and service would have been more impactful. However, prices seemed reasonable and it was much easier than trying to find somewhere to park in Canterbury and then track down a decent evening meal.

I have mentioned the 'W' word - weddings - earlier and, as previously mentioned, there was a wedding party in full flow on the Saturday night we were staying at the hotel… which leads me to one particular grumble that I have with Howfield…. and that's the fact that the 1181 restaurant is situated right between the function room and a bar in the front wing of the building. For us, this was quite annoying as the restaurant was used as a corridor between the two areas for the duration of our meal, so we had somewhat exuberant and vociferous wedding guests shuttling back and forth… anyway, I'm sure you get the picture...
Let me assure you that this review is by no means negative - we just feel that there are a few niggling issues that could be sorted to make this the perfect country escape. All in all, we had a very pleasant stay at Howfield Manor Hotel, we found the staff to be excellent and we'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChappieDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Following what was supposed to be a day trip to Canterbury for some shopping and sightseeing, my boyfriend and I decided we should try to find a place to spend the night. And so we did what I never thought people really do, we got out our mobiles, researched available hotels through TripAdvisor and booked via the phone. And we were delighted with our choice! Howfield Manor is just outside of Canterbury, but as we had a car for the weekend, it was fine for us. The setting is beautiful, an old country manor surrounded by lovely grounds - and free parking!
The receptionist who welcomed us when we arrived was unbelievably friendly, good natured and helpful. She showed us around the hotel and we settled into our room. Admittedly, as we were probably the last to book, the room (number 6) wasn't spectacular but it was cosy, perfectly clean and had one of the comfiest beds I've slept on in ages. The TV in the room is oddly placed as it's not fixed to the wall at the foot of the bed - it's about a metre to the right instead. But aside from that, we were happy.
Dinner was a revelation! Very reasonably priced, fantastic choices for a pescetarian (me) and for a carnivore (him). The starter was the best part - salmon and blini pancakes... We finished off the night with after-dinner drinks in front of the fire in the lounge before heading up to bed.
Breakfast was also delicious, although the staff on the morning shift seemed to be slightly less experienced than those on duty the night before. They were still very accommodating though. All in all, a great last minute decision and the food was an added bonus!

Room Tip: Our room (number 6) was in the older part of the building, and although the TV was oddly placed, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LasttimeIsawRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chartham
2.5 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
2.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
419 reviews
2.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,130 reviews
1.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
269 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howfield Manor Hotel

Property: Howfield Manor Hotel
Address: Howfield Lane, Chartham, Canterbury CT4 7HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Chartham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chartham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howfield Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel in superb setting.Easy access to Canterbury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Howfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing