We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel with great rates”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chartham
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel with great rates”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Top class period Hotel set in lovely grounds.
Stayed a couple of times while visiting Canterbury bed and breakfast very good food and friendly staff & service.
Looks like the ideal Wedding Venue!

Room Tip: Go for a double room if staying alone as it's usually the same price as a single!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maciver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    126
    37
    9
    5
See reviews for
66
209
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Went to Howfield Manor for my son's birthday. Great welcome from the off. The boys thought the steak was the best they had ever had (and they know a good one!). To top it all I only mentioned it was my son's birthday and they produced a lovely, freshly made pistachio sponge cake.
It's really nice to see an independent family-run place sticking to its guns offering good value, gimmick free hospitality. This will be our first port of call for family events in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikect70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We went to a wedding here in Ocober 2011.... it was the perfect setting for a special day. The bedroom was equally good...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeandCaroline2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2012

From the very moment of arrival the staff here were solicitous and friendly. The room was comfortable and quiet and therefore condusive to a good night sleep. The lounge is comfortable and tucked away from the rest of the hotel. A nice place to catch up with friends and a drink or have a game of chess! And if you don't have an opponent perhaps one of the staff in a quiet moment may be willing to take you on.Ate in the Library with 14 of my friends and enjoyed it immensely. The food was really tasty and very well presented. The chef is to be commended on the choices available. All freshly cooked , beautifully presented and served by the staff with aplomb. The availability of 'to share meals' was something unusual and very welcome. Also, I did enjoy the unhurriedness of the breakfast - especially being able to delay ordering the cooked breakfast until I'd finished cereal and fruit which is not normally the case in hotels. That was much appreciated. All in all a relaxing place to be. Hope to return again next year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2012

What a great and comfy stay. The room was brilliant - everything worked and there was space. The evening meal for 15 of us was tasty, plentiful and all arriving at the same time. The service was attentive - even though we were in an individual room that was some way from the restaurant. Overall the staff were friendly and helpful.
Well chosen by our Canterbury friends!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaypayLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I stayed in Howfield Manor Hotel, Chartham one night last summer and had a lovely time, so when I needed to arrange a triple birthday celebration for a group of 15 I thought of Howfield Manor. From making the initial arrangements with the very helpful staff, through to the stay itself, I cannot fault it. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. We had the use of a comfortable lounge and a private dining room.
I would like to commend the chef for delivering such good quality food, nicely cooked, all hot and all at the same time - this is not always the case with a large group. The restaurant staff looked after us very well, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was also fantastic; a good choice and high quality ingredients; the waitress was a marvel of efficiency and charm.

There is always a bit of anxiety when making arrangements for a large group, but Howfield Manor came up trumps for us. A great time was had by all and we are hoping to repeat the experience next year.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the old part, the rooms have more character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRandJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Went for New Years Eve and stayed the night.
Very good evening with excellent attentive service. Food was very good BUT don't expect to get much in the way of vegetables. THREE baby carrots and TWO tiny cherry tomatoes do NOT constitute vegetables. What is the problem with show off chefs??
The "band" was good but far too LOUD. It was a relatively small room but still they had to use amplifiers! We literally could not hear ourselves talk. Ridiculous!

Bedroom was small and clean but carpet looked as though it had not been vacuumed in a while. Great to have a bath and shower with lots of hot water.

Breakfast big disappointment. Only ONE person serving which meant service was very very SLOW. Why do so many hotels seem to think its not necessary to give good service at breakfast? The baked beans were actually COLD and had to be sent back.

Would I stay there again? No

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryTheMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulsharma, Director of Sales at Howfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your review.
I am sorry you felt there was a lack of vegetables, out staff are trained to offer more to all diners during their meals.
The evening was advertised as a dinner dance with live music so it would always appear louder than recorded music
Breakfast in a hotel of this style is never rushed and we pride ourselves in allowing our geust to relax and enjoy their breakfast in a leisurely fashion. In this day and age everything is always at a fast pace and sometimes our allowing a refined and enjoyable experience can be construed as slow rather than relaxing. As a small hotel, 15 rooms, one member of serving staff has always sufficed
Should you change your mind and wish to stay again you will always be welcome
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chartham
2.5 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
2.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
419 reviews
2.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,130 reviews
1.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
269 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howfield Manor Hotel

Property: Howfield Manor Hotel
Address: Howfield Lane, Chartham, Canterbury CT4 7HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Chartham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chartham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howfield Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel in superb setting.Easy access to Canterbury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Howfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing