We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bank holiday break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chartham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Invited to a birthday party hosted here. Decided to make a weekend of it.
Called direct and they managed to sort out a spare bed and a camp bed for the kids. Grateful for that.
Seems like a nice place, didn't take advantage of the grounds as went to the nearby outlet and shopped instead! Good fry up next morning after a good nights sleep.
Toiletries included, hairdryer and iron available. The restaurant looked good but not experienced. I think it would make a nice base for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank push99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 388 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed at Howfield Manor at the end of July and ate in the restaurant. The meal on the specials menu was lovely and very good value for money. The deserts were especially good and it is great to have something as unusual as pistachio panna cotta with local cherries.

Well worth a visit to the restaurant which is open to non-residents.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnjohn5964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Very nice hotel, lovely clean room with a nice bathroom, good value.
Delicious breakfast. Very friendly staff.
We had dinner at the restaurant, the food was excellent!
We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romagnolo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed at Howfield Manor for one night (on a dinner, B&B offer of £60 pp) to celebrate my retirement. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, the room was a good size with a lovely view over the gardens. Inside the hotel felt a little like a good quality chain hotel, i.e. not much character, but it was very clean and comfortable, although the bathroom was rather outdated.
The food was excellently cooked and presented. The cheese course (for one) was fantastic quality and quantity, it could have fed four!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRandJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed a Saturday night here and simply couldn't sleep. It was too noisy until after midnight.

Despite having a two-year old, which the hotel knew about on booking, we were allocated a room directly above a marquee hosting a loud, and quite fun sounding, wedding party. The room wasn't double-glazed and didn't have air-conditioning. Our 2yo is normally OK with quite a bit of noise, but she couldn't get to sleep, and that was with the window closed.

The staff on the night were fairly hopeless. We were told by the woman who visited our room that it "wasn't totally horrendous", that the party would finish at midnight and that there it could have been worse as apparently the two rooms below us suffered even more from the noise (we were in room 9). Some of the other staff told us that it was a frequent problem and that they also received complaints from neighbours, which had increased recently but they didn't know why.

In mitigation, the management have not charged us for the room. No apology, but no bill, which did make up for the experience slightly.

I'm sure that if you're here during the week, or as part of a party, then it will be fine, but for us it was a total failure!

Room Tip: If staying at the weekend then make sure that you're on the side away from any event
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MysteryManDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulsharma, Director at Howfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay and for the response you received from the staff on site.
I have seen your written letter of complaint and have already dispatched a reply which I can only assume has crossed with your placing of this review.
To sum up the contents of my letter:
It is usual practice for all rooms to be booked by the wedding party hence avoiding the issue arising, for this oversight I apologise.
The member of staff who was not understanding will be retrained in their guest relations skills.
I presume that other aspects of the hotel fulfilled your expectations as there is no mention in either your letter or review.
I hope this has not put you off staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights on a special deal that included B/B and Dinner. The hotel was extremely comfortable. The staff were professional, courteous friendly and could not do enough to help. The food, cooked by the French Chef, was fantastic and beautifully presented.
The Hotel itself was set back from the main road and was very quiet.
I would definitely recommend this Hotel to friends and relatives and we hope to return again before too long.

Room Tip: Room 1 was large, quiet and had a 6ft bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

This hotel offers very good value for money, it's in a nice location, our room was nicely furnished and very clean with a lovely view of the garden. The breakfast was excellent. We also had dinner in the 1181 restaurant which was great too. The staff were very efficient and polite.

The only downside was the bathroom needed updating, just minor things like a cracked tile, chipped sink, towels were a bit old. The bed needs a more comfortable mattress too. Apart from these minor complaints we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaKent0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chartham
2.5 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
2.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,180 reviews
2.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
455 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
1,138 reviews
1.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#8 of 16 in Canterbury
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howfield Manor Hotel

Address: Howfield Lane, Chartham, Canterbury CT4 7HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Chartham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chartham
Price Range: $86 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howfield Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel in superb setting.Easy access to Canterbury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Howfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing