We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas lunch at Chives” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chives on the Green Restaurant - CLOSED

Chives on the Green Restaurant
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Christmas lunch at Chives”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

A very enjoyable lunch with friends at Chives. As usual Graham came up trumps. The food was hot and well prepared and Graham's personal touch was evident. Roger and Jan

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dinefinely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChivesGreen, Owner at Chives on the Green Restaurant, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you, it is always a pleasure welcoming you both, I hope to see you again soon.

With warm regards

Debbie & Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    13
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swanley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Christmas week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed for a week over the Christmas period and had 4 meals including Christmas Day & Boxing Day and on 1 evening a meal in the bar. During our stay we were joined by discerning friends on two occaisons and we all felt that service, food, presentation & atmosphere were 1st class. This is the 2nd time we have stayed at Broome Park and hope that Chives will be there next time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank howard w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChivesGreen, Owner at Chives on the Green Restaurant, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for lovely review, It was as always lovely to look after you and your friends and I hope to see you again this Christmas.
In the meantime have a lovely year with kind regards from us all
Debbie. Graham, Glenys & all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
494 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Accommodation and surroundings lovely - Christmas Dinner terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. The chalet was beautifully furnished and very comfortable even with a strong smell of paint in the master bedroom. No restaurant open on Christmas Eve which was very annoying, but what was a huge disappointment was the Christmas Day dinner which cost £67.50 per head. We were a table of 4 booked for the 2pm sitting - all the diners were called in groups which we thought would help with the service - how wrong we were. The starters were at best average, soup good, duck good but the sea bass and vegetable dishes were overcooked, dry and cold. What was shocking was the turkey dinner we were served. It was cold dry and inedible with roast potatoes that were grey/black and powdery and cold veg. Looking at the other tables we were not the only ones who struggled to eat it. My 78 year old brother in law said it was the worst roast turkey dinner he had eaten and he has had a few. We complained to the very nice waitress and again when we booked out. We have had 2 calls from Chives who to be frank made quite pathetic excuses for wrong potatoes, 83 covers? - hey you are a catering company! but we are still waiting their suggested resolution of 4 meal vouchers...........

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gardenofengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChivesGreen, Owner at Chives on the Green Restaurant, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
This was of course unacceptable that your Christmas lunch was unsatisfactory, We posted a voucher with a covering letter on the 3rd January so we look forward to welcoming you back to show the high quality of the food that we serve and to seeing a positive review following your visit.

I would like to emphasise that this was not the general consensus amongst our diners, these were two emails from guests on Christmas day 'Just a note to say thank you to you and all your staff at Broome park during our stay over Christmas.As on previous stays the food and service was perfect. It is good to have such confidence in your menus especially when we bring guests along' & 'I would just like to say how much we enjoyed the Xmas lunch today. Couldn’t fault a thing. The staff and service was brilliant'

However this doesn't detract from your personal experience and we can only apologise again for your experience of Chives, but I do wish to clarify that the only complaint made to ourselves on the day and when Graham called was that the Turkey was dry but the other courses were enjoyed. Your complaint should have been handled better on the day and this has been discussed with the restaurant team

We have looked at the way the Turkey was carved and held and will change the way this is done for next Christmas to ensure there is not a repeat of your experience.
I also appreciate that the delay in receiving the voucher has led you to write the review and again apologise for that.
With very kind regards
Debbie & Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Visiting dual national UK/US”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Went out of their way to serve a wonderful Thanksgiving Day dinner on Nov. 28 to the three of us! Wait staff excellent, food very good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank goodyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChivesGreen, Owner at Chives on the Green Restaurant, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
It was an absolute pleasure and I am glad that we were able to bring a little bit of Thanksgiving to England for you.
We hope to welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“40th Birthday Party Held In Style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Fourteen years ago, my wife and I had our wedding service and reception at Broome Park. This year was my fortieth birthday and I was looking for a venue that would be smart, sophisticated but not snobby (with eight kids under 10 coming I definitely didn't want snobby).

From the first contact with the staff at Chives, through an on site meeting and then to the day itself, we could not have asked for better.

The venue itself was superb, it really is quite a setting, a beautiful mansion set deep in the Kent countryside. The weather was on our side so we were able to stroll around the grounds whilst the children played on the lawn.

As it was a private function, we were given exclusive use of the Chinese Room, just off the restaurant itself. This room is a perfect size for the 21 guests. The restaurant itself is brilliant for quiet dinners.

The dinner was not cheap but it was not extortionate and, as you will see below, well worth the money.

The welcome was lovely. Friendly staff for whom nothing was too much trouble and they all made the day go without a hitch.

We had all preordered our food, with a choice of lamb, pork or fish (no vegetarian option but then, we did not ask for or need one) with a separate menu for the children. The quality of the food was outstanding. I had the pork, which was so beautifully cooked it just melted in my mouth. I tried my wife's food, she had the lamb, and that was just as good. Not being a fish eater, I cannot comment first hand on its quality but I am reliably informed it too was delicious.

After the meal we withdrew to the bar for a couple of drinks without any feeling we were being pushed out, the friendly service just kept coming.

So, would I recommend this restaurant? Without question or hesitation. Thank you for making the rather painful process of turning 40, and organising a number of people to attend, so much easier.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChivesGreen, Owner at Chives on the Green Restaurant, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your review it means a great deal to us, it was a pleasure working with you and planning your birthday dinner, and I will ensure the whole team sees your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Graham & Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chives on the Green Restaurant also viewed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing