We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay shame about the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Broome Park Golf and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barham
Certificate of Excellence
hull
1 review
“lovely stay shame about the staff”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

A group of us stayed at Broome Park for a week in September this year, the surroundings are ideal and we rarely used our car as there is a wonderful local bus service near by, this worked out a cheaper option overall as we didn't have to pay for car parks. The room was well equipped and served us throughout the week just fine. There is a bar and a restaurant on site on which we had drinks in through the week. However, a major down point to what otherwise was good service was a rude member of watering staff, sending us away when we requested Sunday lunch. He was very dismissive and acted as if he couldn't care less about the customers, this unfortunately led us not to return to the restaurant for the rest of our stay. The time was 2:30 and it seemed as if service hadn't finished yet. This was shocking and the attitude was unnecessary seeing as we had spent time and money in the bar during the week.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Broome Park Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We are very sorry that you were disappointed with the standard of service you received from a member of staff in our on-site restaurant. Although the restaurant is operated through a franchise, our restaurant team are held to the same standard of service as the rest of our staff, and we are sorry that you had cause for complaint in this regard – please be assured that this experience does not reflect the standards of service excellence we strive for.

We really hope that this issue didn’t mar an otherwise enjoyable stay here and hasn’t dissuaded you from coming back to Broome Park Golf and Country Club in the future!

Clara Wilkinson
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    65
    12
    9
    6
See reviews for
84
82
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Place is lovely. Food was superb. Staff bent over backward to help. Rooms were large and spacious. Beds comfortable. Close to many great historical sights and quaint English villages. Great English pubs close by as well. And they appreciated the fact that Americans were trying to drive on the proper side of the road on very narrow roads. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTtraverler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Broome Park Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and made the most of your stay in the area, we hope that you will book with us next time you are in the UK! Until then we wish you safe travels!

Clara Wilkinson
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We visited England with another couple and stayed in a two bedroom- two bath for 3 nights. Friendly and fun times to share quality time with breakfast and walks of the area. We did rent a car for easy transportation to the city of Canterbury, Dover Castle and the White Cliffs, and Walmer Castle. But the main office had information of the area and of the local public transportation. Just down the street into the village had the most quaint and friendly local pub used in the movie "Battle of Britain" called the Jackdaw (with a secret garden). Broome Park also had a swimming pool and gym, (a bar & restaurant we didn't use though), a walk through the woodlands, golf course and driving range, and also a beautiful old fashioned garden. Just loved the area and will be back to stay again.

Room Tip: Recommend the villas and cook your own breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimmerSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Broome Park Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. It is important to us to deliver excellent service to all our guests and we are pleased to read that you have not been disappointed with your visit to our resort and we are looking forwards to seeing you again in the future!

Clara Wilkinson
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a very relaxing week staying in one of the lodges using our Diamond Resorts points. The location is perfect for visiting Canterbury and the Kent seaside. Lots of heritage sites such as Walmer castle are worth a visit. The accomodation is clean and comfortable and the lodges are well equipped. The restaurant on site is excellent and we ate there several times. Obviously a bit of confusion on tripadvisor about the different types of acommodation available at Broome Park - as ever with Diamond nothing is transparent about who owns what and how to book it ! - but let's not let that detract from the fact this is a lovely venue.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freeflung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed in six months and I have already booked my next visit for December.

This really is a wonderfull place. The whole area is peppered with lovely little villages and country pubs, close to the coast, nature parks, it really is an ideal location.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet but the best room is The Kitchener, its vast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CovDemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Broome Park Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is always lovely to have return guests who enjoy Broome Park Golf and Country Club and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Clara Wilkinson
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

When I arrived at Broome Park for an evening meal with my partner I was looking forward to an evening of great ambience and even better food quality. Well, it left a lot to be desired for. The food we found was extremely over priced and the portions proved that value for money doesn't exist here. My partners fish was tasteless and over done, I was trying to enjoy my beef however, it was so dry at the ends that I ended up only having half my meal which wasn't even a portion size fit for a child. At the end of my evening I was very disappointed and ended up doubling my expenses as I had a filling meal at the Jackdaw just 5 minutes later. We certainly wont be returning or recommending this restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jo a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Broome Park Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We would love our guests to be satisfied with all aspects of their stay and we are equally disappointed if the dining experience has not been as good as you may have wished for it to be. Unfortunately, as the restaurant is a franchise, we have little influence on its operations, however we will of course bring your comments to the management company's attention. Thank you for your review.

Clara Wilkinson
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed there from 18 - 25 May 2013 in the villas in the walled garden at Broome Park. This is not the Diamond resort, which is also in the grounds. We exchanged our time share for a week there. The Villas are charming and very well looked after. Our welcome was warm, efficient and organised, essential after a 3 hour drive. The cars have to be left in the car park - there's no access to unpack, but trollies are available for use and not a problem.

Each villa is open plan with a small but very adequate kitchen. There's no room for a dish washer or washing machine, but there's a laundry behind the reception. AND having to wash up by hand was really no problem anyway! We had 2 very generous sized bedrooms, 1 kingsize with a very comfortable bed, and 1 twin. The main bedroom had a bath, with shower over, bidet, loo and washbasin. The second, a large shower, loo and washbasin.

The living area was comfortable and cosy with DVD player and flat screen TV with Freesat. The dining table was large but the area was a bit tight if 6 people were sitting down to eat.

The night storage heaters were efficient, in fact we turned them all off after 1 day. You have to pay for electricity used, but our bill was just over £6, not excessive.

The grounds are pleasant to walk around and the house amazing - Lord Kitchener of the Nile lived there for a short time. We don't play golf, but use of the course was included and there's a driving range too. We didn't use the restaurants, as we ate out most days.

All in all a lovely place which we would go back to. We did get a look around the lodges, and they are lovely but in the woodland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fsnbfwinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barham
6.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
7.4 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,908 reviews
7.3 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
7.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,151 reviews
12.5 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broome Park Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broome Park Golf and Country Club

Property: Broome Park Golf and Country Club
Address: Broome Park Canterbury Road, Barham, Canterbury CT4 6QX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Barham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Broome Park Golf and Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have you ever wondered what it would have been like to own your own country estate? At Broome Park Golf and Country Club you can experience the feeling for yourself.The grade-1 listed building at this elegant resort is a stunning example of 17th century Jacobean architecture. Steeped in history, Broome Park, which boasts a traditional British-style pub and elegant dining choices, dominates the estate in which you will find your contemporary woodland lodge.A private, 18-hole championship length golf course is just one of many sporting attractions to divert your attention before you strike out to discover Kent—the Garden of England—and medieval Canterbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Broome Park Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broome Park Golf And Country Club Hotel Barham
Broome Park Golf And Country Club Barham, UK - Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing