We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Villa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Broome Park Golf and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barham
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent Location and Villa”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We visited England with another couple and stayed in a two bedroom- two bath for 3 nights. Friendly and fun times to share quality time with breakfast and walks of the area. We did rent a car for easy transportation to the city of Canterbury, Dover Castle and the White Cliffs, and Walmer Castle. But the main office had information of the area and of the local public transportation. Just down the street into the village had the most quaint and friendly local pub used in the movie "Battle of Britain" called the Jackdaw (with a secret garden). Broome Park also had a swimming pool and gym, (a bar & restaurant we didn't use though), a walk through the woodlands, golf course and driving range, and also a beautiful old fashioned garden. Just loved the area and will be back to stay again.

Room Tip: Recommend the villas and cook your own breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimmerSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Broome Park Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. It is important to us to deliver excellent service to all our guests and we are pleased to read that you have not been disappointed with your visit to our resort and we are looking forwards to seeing you again in the future!

Clara Wilkinson
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    64
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
79
78
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a very relaxing week staying in one of the lodges using our Diamond Resorts points. The location is perfect for visiting Canterbury and the Kent seaside. Lots of heritage sites such as Walmer castle are worth a visit. The accomodation is clean and comfortable and the lodges are well equipped. The restaurant on site is excellent and we ate there several times. Obviously a bit of confusion on tripadvisor about the different types of acommodation available at Broome Park - as ever with Diamond nothing is transparent about who owns what and how to book it ! - but let's not let that detract from the fact this is a lovely venue.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freeflung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed in six months and I have already booked my next visit for December.

This really is a wonderfull place. The whole area is peppered with lovely little villages and country pubs, close to the coast, nature parks, it really is an ideal location.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet but the best room is The Kitchener, its vast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CovDemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Broome Park Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is always lovely to have return guests who enjoy Broome Park Golf and Country Club and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Clara Wilkinson
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

When I arrived at Broome Park for an evening meal with my partner I was looking forward to an evening of great ambience and even better food quality. Well, it left a lot to be desired for. The food we found was extremely over priced and the portions proved that value for money doesn't exist here. My partners fish was tasteless and over done, I was trying to enjoy my beef however, it was so dry at the ends that I ended up only having half my meal which wasn't even a portion size fit for a child. At the end of my evening I was very disappointed and ended up doubling my expenses as I had a filling meal at the Jackdaw just 5 minutes later. We certainly wont be returning or recommending this restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Broome Park Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We would love our guests to be satisfied with all aspects of their stay and we are equally disappointed if the dining experience has not been as good as you may have wished for it to be. Unfortunately, as the restaurant is a franchise, we have little influence on its operations, however we will of course bring your comments to the management company's attention. Thank you for your review.

Clara Wilkinson
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed there from 18 - 25 May 2013 in the villas in the walled garden at Broome Park. This is not the Diamond resort, which is also in the grounds. We exchanged our time share for a week there. The Villas are charming and very well looked after. Our welcome was warm, efficient and organised, essential after a 3 hour drive. The cars have to be left in the car park - there's no access to unpack, but trollies are available for use and not a problem.

Each villa is open plan with a small but very adequate kitchen. There's no room for a dish washer or washing machine, but there's a laundry behind the reception. AND having to wash up by hand was really no problem anyway! We had 2 very generous sized bedrooms, 1 kingsize with a very comfortable bed, and 1 twin. The main bedroom had a bath, with shower over, bidet, loo and washbasin. The second, a large shower, loo and washbasin.

The living area was comfortable and cosy with DVD player and flat screen TV with Freesat. The dining table was large but the area was a bit tight if 6 people were sitting down to eat.

The night storage heaters were efficient, in fact we turned them all off after 1 day. You have to pay for electricity used, but our bill was just over £6, not excessive.

The grounds are pleasant to walk around and the house amazing - Lord Kitchener of the Nile lived there for a short time. We don't play golf, but use of the course was included and there's a driving range too. We didn't use the restaurants, as we ate out most days.

All in all a lovely place which we would go back to. We did get a look around the lodges, and they are lovely but in the woodland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fsnbfwinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have been lucky enough to be treated by a friend to a few days at BP in
one of the lodges, and this year was no exception. Very well appointed lodge accommodation, two bedrooms, three TVs, well equipped kitchen, two large comfy sofas.
Even though it's close to Canterbury, in one of the lodges you feel as if you are deep in the countryside, and at night you can just hear the leaves rustling. Perfect!
Staff extremely helpful as ever, golf great, my friend has booked in for next year!! hooray
I would also like to leave a review for Angie and her husband at YogaNature spa, in the mansion house, very well worth a visit, lovely relaxing treatments in a peaceful location.

Room Tip: we have Lodge no 8, near the 'turning circle' for loading/unloading your gear
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodiesCanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed in the Mansion House for a week in a first-floor room with a stunning view over the 18th green of the golf course. The vast entrance hall with two open fires was very welcoming. The bedroom was huge with high ceilings, a large bed, plenty of chairs and sofas and good Sky service on the TV. The only slight downside if you were really expecting to be self-catering is that the partial kitchen only has a microwave, toaster and fridge - this wasn't too bad because there are so many good places to eat nearby ( not just in Canterbury which is less than fifteen minutes away but also at the local pubs which were excellent), however the absence of a sink in the kitchen was a small irritation. We didn't eat at the on-site restaurant but did take advantage of the golfers cafe that opens at 7.30 in the morning for breakfast items. Overall a very favourable impression of a place to stay in a stunning setting.

Room Tip: Stay in the Mansion not the lodges, unless you are a family and need to self-cater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NormanLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Broome Park Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
It is a part of our ethos to deliver great quality of accommodation and excellent standard of service to all our guest and we are pleased to read that we have been successful, however we are sorry if you found the kitchen facilities in your apartment not sufficient. We hope that this has not caused you any inconvenience.
We are glad to know that you have made the most of our location and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit to Broome Park Golf & Country Club!

Clara Wilkinson
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barham
6.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
7.4 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
7.3 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
7.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
12.5 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broome Park Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broome Park Golf and Country Club

Property: Broome Park Golf and Country Club
Address: Broome Park Canterbury Road, Barham, Canterbury CT4 6QX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Barham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Broome Park Golf and Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have you ever wondered what it would have been like to own your own country estate? At Broome Park Golf and Country Club you can experience the feeling for yourself.The grade-1 listed building at this elegant resort is a stunning example of 17th century Jacobean architecture. Steeped in history, Broome Park, which boasts a traditional British-style pub and elegant dining choices, dominates the estate in which you will find your contemporary woodland lodge.A private, 18-hole championship length golf course is just one of many sporting attractions to divert your attention before you strike out to discover Kent—the Garden of England—and medieval Canterbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Broome Park Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broome Park Golf And Country Club Hotel Barham
Broome Park Golf And Country Club Barham, UK - Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing