We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location on Orient Beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mont Vernon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mont Vernon
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cul de Sac
Brighton, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location on Orient Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very good value and location at the North end of Orient Beach. We rented a studio for 2 of us and it was very adequate for space. Nice balcony overlooking the pool area and bay beyond. Walk to restaurants and bars along the beach. As you walk South along the beach, you may see topless and then nude people in the Orient Beach area at the South end. This has to be the best beach in Sint Marteen with plenty of water activities and night life.

Room Tip: Try to get a rental close to the pool. Terrain is hilly and not friendly to anyone with physical di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    45
    17
    2
    5
See reviews for
14
63
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Wonderful studio just facing one of the best beaches of St Martin. Very clean, quiet and confortable. Kitchen fully equipped. Bed absolutely king sized.
Wonderful having breakfast on the balcony in front of the beach.

Room Tip: 3206 second floor Aruba, brand new (as per July 2013), big, confortable, good air conditioning, wond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Tivano37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean View, Delaware
Level Contributor
161 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We rented a second floor condo from July 28-August 4, 2013 from Amaury and Thibault who own Bistrot Caraibes in Grand Case. I met Amaury at his restaurant, and he clearly explained directions to drive there and where to park. He is very professional and such a pleasant person to do business with! We also rented a car from Automax--a must to explore this lovely island.

The condo was great! It was clean, had a stove top, fridge, microwave, washing machine, and some kitchen essentials. The ocean view was breathtaking. The entire condo complex was safe, well maintained, and full of friendly people, We enjoyed the pool one night as well, and I loved being able to run on Orient Beach in the morning.

I would definitely stay here again! This is a great condo complex, and the brothers aim to please their customers. I do prefer the French side of St. Martin--it's less developed and the locals are the best! Also, if you want some good pizza, Chez Enzo has a little van about a mile away that makes some out of this world pizza.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is our second time renting a studio at Mont Vernon on Orient Beach. As have many others, we rented from Amaury and Thibault who own Bistrot Caraibes in Grand Case. As my review stated 2 years ago, Mont Vernon is not for everyone. If you can't walk long distances, do not rent a car, want a swim up bar or a restaurant on premises keep looking. At Mont Vernon you are renting about a 500 square foot studio apartment. We rented in the Aruba building which was right on the water. The views are beautiful and the beach and pool are a minute walk away. No matter where your room is located you will have to walk. Either you have a short distance to the beach and a long distance to the parking lot or vice versa.
I have noticed significant improvments since our last visit. The pool, which was under construction is now completed. It's a very large pool and very clean. On weekends there was a discrete security guard who sent away locals who tried to access the pool area from the beach. The grounds still need work and you can tell the difference in the buildings that are vacation rentals from those that the locals stay. Some peeling paint but the view and location makes up for it.
Grand Case is a 5 minute drive away. There you can get excellent french cuisine. There is the Simply Market about a 2 minute drive away that will have everything you will need for your stay. The market is closed on Sunday so if you arrive on that day of the week, shop at Grande Marche in Phillisburg.
If/when we return to St. Martin we will definetly stay at Mont Vernon again as it gives us tremendous views and immediate access to the beach. Look for Amaury and Thibault's studios as they keep them in excellent shape.
The only reason Mont Vernon did not get an "excellent" was due to the grounds and some painting that needs to be done. If you can overlook those 2 items, then stay here!

Room Tip: make sure you get a room overlooking the beach and not a room overlooking another building or the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank buckelisttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is the second time I stayed at this place and as expected it was the best choice I made.

As I explained in my previous review a year before, it all depends on the unit you rent as each unit is own by a different owner.

This time, I first tried renting the one I already knew. However, it was not available. So, I looked around and found another available unit from a different owner.

This new unit was amazing. It was fully equipped with everything you need and more. Full kitchen with dishwasher, washing machine, amazing shower, beautiful bed, LCD TV, an incredible view of Orient Bay and much much more.

The Mt. Vernon complex is beautiful as always. Nice gardens, amazing pool and direct access to the beach. Plus, it is close to supermarkets, shops, Isle Pinel, restaurants, dive shops, aquatic sports operators and great beaches.

If you would like the contact info of the owner of the units I've been, just write me.

I can not wait to go back soon!!

Room Tip: It all depends on the unit you rent as each one has a different owner. It is not a hotel anymore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matías C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We rented a studio condo on the third floor located in the Aruba building in March. The owners depicted the condo very well and we were very happy with the cleanliness and location of their unit. The unit had been recently upgraded and we really enjoyed having a full kitchen, large patio, modern bathroom and washing machine. In addition, the unit was in a great location, very quiet and the views of Orient Beach were just spectacular. The unit also over looked the ocean and pool. However, the pool is in need of some repairs but there are some nice lounges to use for sunbathing. In addition, most of the grounds of this complex are a little run down and the pathways / stairs are little rough to maneuver. If you are not in the best shape this may be a concern. We did not mind that the grounds were unkempt however; we were annoyed that the water went out one day without notice and we could not flush our toilet or shower. The lack of parking spots available was also a small issue but most days we were able to find spots close to the main building. However, if you come back later in the evening you will have to park beside the tennis courts which is much farther away. However, this was good exercise so we did not mind walking the extra distance. There are not a lot of amenities but they do have a pizza parlor and small grocery store on the property. If you plan to eat in then you will need to rent a car or use a taxi to get groceries ect. There are two new grocery stores within a 5 mins drive. Overall, we enjoyed having the amazing views of Orient beach outside our window, the serene location and the luxury of making meals at home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chapman2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

This place is amazing. Its right on the beach at Orient Bay which is actually like 10 beaches on one strip. We stayed in #9310 (which is actually a vacation rental from Gloria and Nick) and it was awesome. The beach is 1 minute walk down. There is a pool too but if you have the whole beach I don't know why you'd want to go to the pool - would be really good if vacationed with kids. The beach is amazing, warm, the water is warm, the bars and restaurants are all along the beach, so are water sports and some other nightlife.

The only downside I would say is that our balcony didn't look over the water (1st world problems, huh). But you can hear the ocean all day and watch the sunset every night. Its not loud, its really romantic. I think its a good location because its in between a lot of things. Although it might be scary to walk home at night, you're walking on the beach not on the road and during the day you can do a 30 minute walk to Pinel Island ferry which is beautiful. Also, a really popular bar right outside (Boo Boo Jam) burned down recently so it looks more dark and quiet at night, I think if they built another bar there it would be much less scary to walk home every night form downtown.

Love this place, I don't know why I came back to Boston.

P.S. - I think staying on the French side is much more safe and fun and romantic, the Dutch side is nice if you want to do a LOT of shopping, its much more "developed" in a way that there are businesses on every street and block. The french side is all beach and topless women. win!

Room Tip: If I went again, I would make sure that your balcony looks over the water. Its many building on a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ValSapozhnikova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cul de Sac
0.7 mi away
La Playa Orient Bay
La Playa Orient Bay
#3 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
6.6 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mont Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mont Vernon

Property: Hotel Mont Vernon
Address: Rue du Mont Vernon | Baie Orientale, BP 1174, Cul de Sac 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Cul de Sac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cul de Sac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mont Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Vernon Hotel
Hotel Mont Vernon Cul De Sac, Saint-Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing