We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best location on the beach!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mont Vernon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mont Vernon
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cul de Sac
Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best location on the beach!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We rented a studio condo on the third floor located in the Aruba building in March. The owners depicted the condo very well and we were very happy with the cleanliness and location of their unit. The unit had been recently upgraded and we really enjoyed having a full kitchen, large patio, modern bathroom and washing machine. In addition, the unit was in a great location, very quiet and the views of Orient Beach were just spectacular. The unit also over looked the ocean and pool. However, the pool is in need of some repairs but there are some nice lounges to use for sunbathing. In addition, most of the grounds of this complex are a little run down and the pathways / stairs are little rough to maneuver. If you are not in the best shape this may be a concern. We did not mind that the grounds were unkempt however; we were annoyed that the water went out one day without notice and we could not flush our toilet or shower. The lack of parking spots available was also a small issue but most days we were able to find spots close to the main building. However, if you come back later in the evening you will have to park beside the tennis courts which is much farther away. However, this was good exercise so we did not mind walking the extra distance. There are not a lot of amenities but they do have a pizza parlor and small grocery store on the property. If you plan to eat in then you will need to rent a car or use a taxi to get groceries ect. There are two new grocery stores within a 5 mins drive. Overall, we enjoyed having the amazing views of Orient beach outside our window, the serene location and the luxury of making meals at home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chapman2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    45
    17
    2
    5
See reviews for
14
63
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

This place is amazing. Its right on the beach at Orient Bay which is actually like 10 beaches on one strip. We stayed in #9310 (which is actually a vacation rental from Gloria and Nick) and it was awesome. The beach is 1 minute walk down. There is a pool too but if you have the whole beach I don't know why you'd want to go to the pool - would be really good if vacationed with kids. The beach is amazing, warm, the water is warm, the bars and restaurants are all along the beach, so are water sports and some other nightlife.

The only downside I would say is that our balcony didn't look over the water (1st world problems, huh). But you can hear the ocean all day and watch the sunset every night. Its not loud, its really romantic. I think its a good location because its in between a lot of things. Although it might be scary to walk home at night, you're walking on the beach not on the road and during the day you can do a 30 minute walk to Pinel Island ferry which is beautiful. Also, a really popular bar right outside (Boo Boo Jam) burned down recently so it looks more dark and quiet at night, I think if they built another bar there it would be much less scary to walk home every night form downtown.

Love this place, I don't know why I came back to Boston.

P.S. - I think staying on the French side is much more safe and fun and romantic, the Dutch side is nice if you want to do a LOT of shopping, its much more "developed" in a way that there are businesses on every street and block. The french side is all beach and topless women. win!

Room Tip: If I went again, I would make sure that your balcony looks over the water. Its many building on a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ValSapozhnikova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabogie, ON
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I arrived on West Jet Feb 5, 2013 late afternoon. We had rented a studio from a private owner for a week which worked out extremely well. We had visited St Martin several times over the past two decades and were familiar with the Mont Vernon scene and the history of the failed Mont Vernon hotel. Most of the studios are now in private hands under a strata like organisation. Our owner explained that they sold at a knock down price of around 10,000 Euros and then they were subsequently renovated to varying degrees by owners Ours was in the building closest to the pool on the ground floor with a patio and walk out to the garden area and a short walk to the pool. Beach access is at the far side of the pool. This meant that the oft complained about parking at the front of the complex need not be used as the other parking area at the back was closer to our unit hence minimal climbing. (Turn right just before arriving at the front reception area and drive down the hill)

The owner supplied WIFI. His renovations and appointments were excellent. As far as cleanliness goes the unit was pristine.

As has been said, a car is essential. We rented at the airport and stopped by a supermarket (Le Gourmet) on the Dutch side on the way to Cupecoy. Prices service and selection were all good. There is another excellent super market which we later visited: Grand Marche, Cole Bay on the route RN7 north from Simpsons Bay. We were told by the rental car people (ACE) though to avoid that route late afternoon due to expected rush hour gridlock. Going from the airport via Cupecoy was not any better as from Marigot to Grand Case it was gridlock anyway.

Eventually after about three hours, shopping and gridlock included, we found Mont Vernon our owner and the studio and moved in.

The common areas are well maintained except for a very pot hole ridden rear parking area. The pool is well maintained with many sun lounges available Local restaurant are varied, we tried two. Sol E Luna on the Mont Vernon road and Tastevin in Grand Case. Both are up scale with the service excellent at the latter and so so at the former. Food was excellent in both.

Grocery shopping is limited in the immediate area. Basics are available in Grand Case and there is a new Leader Price supermarket a couple of KM south on the road to Philipsburg. We went to this one but the contrast between prices, selection and customer service between the Dutch supermarkets and Leader Price were notable. Indeed, we found the staff at Leader Price most unhelpful; about as customer hostile as it can get. I would never set foot in the place again!! Prices are much higher there too as compared to the prices on the Dutch side.

Returning to the airport via Marigot midday was once again gridlock this time because of a serious accident. We were able to U turn back to Grand Case and successfully made our way south via Philipsburg and Simpsons Bay on RN7. On balance, it was an excellent stay. We would return. Bake


























Philipsburg. Bake

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bakeCalabogie_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballwin, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is our 10th visit to St. Martin, counting cruise stops. We usually stay in Grand Case, but chose to stay closer to Orient Beach this time.

First off, here's who I would recommend NOT stay here: 1) Anyone with mobility issues. A rental car is a certain requirement, and parking is far away (both in feet AND elevation). I have yet to find a flat sidewalk. 2) Anyone looking for the Jamaica/Mexico style all inclusive resort -- do us all a favor and go to Jamaica. 3) Lazy people -- it's a lot of work climbing just to get to your room.

I would recommend this property for 1) "seasoned" St. Martin travelers 2) travelers on a budget 3) travelers able to do valid research BEFORE arriving at your destination 4) anyone who has ever wondered how to exercise during a vacation, but hasn't found the time.

I realize other reviews have mentioned the climbing, but it bears mentioning every time.

The BIG benefits: There are clothes washers in many units. That means either you can bring fewer clothes, and either leave some of the luggage at home or bring more shoes (depending on which side of the gender coin-flip you ended up on). We stayed on a top-floor unit, which I'd recommend (especially after the "aha" moment generated by reading one of the other reviews about kids bouncing balls upstairs all night). Our unit looks directly out onto Orient Beach, and the sunrises (the ones we were awake for) were outstanding. We got up early enough to walk the beach a couple of mornings, and walked mid-morning once (which turns the event into more of a hot-yoga workout).

There's a US Market grocery store nearby, as well as < 10 min from all the restaurants in Grand Case.

We'd stay here again, and would recommend it depending on the physical condition of the travelers.

Room Tip: I'd choose a room on the top floor, and one with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed in one of Studio SXM's units in this defunct hotel. The unit we rented was #5213, very nice, good view, clean -- except for little ants.
Parking is a long way from the unit, so be prepared to drag your suitcase up the hills as there is no convenient place to park. The unit has tile floors, so does the unit above, very noisy, a kid was crying and rolling a ball across the floor 1/2 the night. The beach is very nice, another hike to get there, this time down the hill. We left after 3 nights, nothing here for us.
Sint Maarten/St Martin has gone downhill significantly since our last visit 8 years ago, the roads are awful, the prices are double what they were and the place is generally in disrepair. Choose a US beach area for your vacation, Florida, California or Cape Cod in the summer, much nicer.
Lastly, the prior renter left his invoice and it seems the landlord charged him $70 less than me , last week. Nice guy??

Room Tip: Stay somewhere closer to the beach or somewhere else. Don't pick any hotels that mention height...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ted3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

My husband and I decided to go "on the cheap" and stay here while on our week-long trip to St. Martin. I wanted to like it, but just couldn't, and in fact, we moved 3 days into our stay into another location. The unit itself was nicely decorated, comfortable, with everything you would need for an extended stay (including a washing machine--which was nice). However, we were in unit 4116, which only had a view if you stepped out to the edge of the terrace. In addition, it was on the bottom floor so every time we left, we had to put the security shade down in front of the sliding glass door. Not only was that a pain in the butt, but it didn't allow for natural light to enter.

As others have noted, this location is VERY hilly. I am 49 years old, I am in good shape (I do 5Ks occasionally) and absolutely hated the hills of this property. I go on vacation to RELAX, not climb hills!! Parking is another issue, as no matter if you park in the upper or lower lot, the trek to your room is going to be awful.

The beach is another issue. The waves on this end of Orient Beach are very rough and fairly high. A near drowning in the ocean as a child has left me terrified of big waves and/or rough seas and as such, anything above say, ankle height for waves is very intimidating to me. I'd say the waves on this end of the beach were running about shoulder height to me (I'm 5'5"). And they do not get smaller unless you walk about a mile up the beach closer to the Club Orient area. In addition, the seaweed is absolutely awful!! It is several inches thick at the shore and very icky to walk through to try to get in the ocean. This goes on for several hundred feet so don't think you can just "walk around". You can, but it is quite the trek.

The pool area has been redone and is very nice. The pool area is gorgeous!

Overall, for the money ($90 per day), it would be worth it to someone who doesn't mind hiking uphill to their room and doesn't mind large waves or a rough ocean. For us, I'm willing to pay more for a beach I can use and a room with a view.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room facing the ocean and not on the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VanessaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champion, pa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

The people I rented from own 11 units and they are clean and decorated and equipped very nicely. You are only minutes from Orient Beach. This unit rented for $630.00 for the week in May. Where can you get a better deal than that. Any other hotel with a view of the entire orient bay would cost you almost that a day. The only problem is that it is built on a hillside. You cannot drive your car to your unit. You must carry everything, luggage, groceries etc either up from the lower lot or down from the upper lot. You might bring along one of those old luggage carts and a heavy bag for groceries, or just plan your grocery shopping, well. If you are obese or not in good healt to walk up steps when it is 89 degrees this may not be the place for you.

I am 67 and my wife is 80 and we were able to get thru two weeks with no problem other than sore legs the first couple of day. (my wife works out at the Y 3 times a week).

Keep in mind these are condos and there is no desk or management on site. You rent from individual owners. The owner I rented from has 11 units, their site is www.studiosxm.com.

If you can handle that take advantage of the price and have more money for play time during the day.

Room Tip: Check with the individual owner. A room on the very top with a view would be best so you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rastmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cul de Sac
0.7 mi away
La Playa Orient Bay
La Playa Orient Bay
#3 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
6.6 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mont Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mont Vernon

Property: Hotel Mont Vernon
Address: Rue du Mont Vernon | Baie Orientale, BP 1174, Cul de Sac 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Cul de Sac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cul de Sac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mont Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Vernon Hotel
Hotel Mont Vernon Cul De Sac, Saint-Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing