We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location on St. Maarten with an excellent...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of studio pinel

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
view from the studio reserve naturelle
studio by the sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cul de Sac, Saint-Martin, St Martin / St Maarten

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
IrixGuy
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Perfect location on St. Maarten with an excellent host!”
Reviewed November 14, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I trust TripAdvisor exclusively, when researching vacation rentals. This rental exceeded my expectations! It's located on the French side of St. Maarten. There is a nice grocery store about 3 minutes away. Pinel Island is approximately a 15 minute paddle. Kayaks are included with the vacation rental! There are an abundance of restaurants nearby. The rental itself was immaculately clean. The king-size bed was super comfortable and there were two smaller beds also, in case traveling with more than two people (it was only my wife and I). The owner Bruno was incredibly hospitable! The airport had lost one of our bags. Bruno managed to coordinate airport delivery of the bag to vacation rental. That was a huge relief for us! Orient Beach is a short drive away as well, should paddling to Pinel Island not be preferred. I HIGHLY recommend Pinel Island. It's one of the best beaches that I've ever been too in the Caribbean and we travel to the Caribbean frequently. There are mosquitos on St. Maarten, so be sure to pack bug spray. There is a super clean and nice hot tub right on the beach. There is a BBQ grill too! This place has it all and the WiFi Internet worked as well! I have nothing negative to say and will stay here again, if future travel prompt me to return to St. Maarten. If all that you want is a beach, there is likely no need to leave this area to explore other parts of St. Maarten.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Included kayaks and the paddle to Pinel Island.
Liked least: The refrigerator could use an update.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy K
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow, this was awesome and we can't wait to do it again.”
Reviewed May 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Wow, Wow, Wow! This place is the best find ever! May of 2016, my wife and I escaped the depressing cold Colorado spring snow and came to spend 7 days at Pinel.Studiorental@gmail.com (Saint Maarten French side) costing $440 for the weekly studio rental. We flew from Denver to Saint Maarten with some layovers on Spirit Air free on points but cost $50 in fees round trip for the two of us. We rented a car from Hertz for seven days for $265 which included the insurance. Pinel Studio was a very clean and well kept place almost at the very end of a dead end road so it was very quiet. It had fast WIFI, flat screen TV, AC,tighly screened windows, hot water, frig, gas cook stove, pots and pans, plates silverware, wine glasses, robes, plenty of towels, hot tub, free canoe and kayaks to use, outdoor BBQ, room safe, maid service ever three days, and a very responsive host on sight who was very eager to insure everything was to our liking. Pinel Studio has everything you would expect from a five star Hilton Hotel and more! We went to the local supermarket and bought some nice steaks, chicken filets and a salmon like fish called “Dorade Corifene” to cook on our BBQ. We washed it down with some nice French wines. Everyone we encountered was happy, jovial, and just plan relaxing. The Hertz car rental was well worth the money and allowed us to explore, driving on the right side of the road just like back home. I am not even home yet, and I am looking forward to doing this vacation again and again.

Two Quick FYI’s:
As with all tropical places, you need bug spray. Zeika Virus is not an issue here, only one documented case on the island, and who knows where they were actually at when they got bitten. I swell up dramatically from mosquito bites and can say that the bugs were not bad compared to my experiences at San Juan and Culebera.
Power outlets and different from U.S. (see photos) so before you leave home, spend $18 at Walmart on the adaptor that we did as well as $7 at 711 on a car cigarette USB charger an you will have no charging problems keeping your U.S. laptops and phones charged up.
You will be very happy with Pinel Studio Rental It was our first time at this place and can highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: easy of getting to great activities, beaches,
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We had a great week!”
Reviewed April 23, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
3
people found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I were in St. Martin earlier this month for the first time. We rented a car from a company that Bruno had recommended. They picked us up at the airport and shuttled us to Studio Pinel. This was a nice feature because it let us get used to the roads and the drivers. The rate seemed fair also.

We very much enjoyed the studio apartment. The room is spacious. We really enjoyed the outdoor kitchen and eating area. Our favorite spot was sitting down on the beach in their cabana (I'm not sure that is the right word -- it is an outdoor "bed" with canvas roof and sides with curtains) reading a book, looking out over the bay with a nice breeze coming across the cabana. Heaven!

We also really enjoyed having the ability to borrow a few kayaks to paddle over to Pinel Island. There are two beach bar/restaurants that have good drinks and food. The beach is really nice. Again, heaven.

There is a good restaurant within walking distance of Studio Pinel and a small grocery store a short drive away. Having a car is a must.

Bruno and his family were very helpful. Bruno was very prompt responding to emails which was very helpful. We appreciate having the opportunity to stay at Studio Pinel.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Using the kayaks and sitting in the cabana.
Liked least: Everything was great. Really. You do have to provide your own toilet paper, garbage bags, paper towels and bath items. This wasn't a bit deal. You just have to plan ahead.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sem196420...
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Spot!”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Staying at Studio Pinel in Cul De Sac made our trip to St Martin so much more than it could have been. The Studio was clean, comfortable, well equipped and even came with the most friendly and beautiful dogs as daily visitors (probably because we encouraged them!)

The short kayak to beautiful Pinel Island, the walk to local Grand Cay beach, the easy drives to Grand Case, to Friars Bay, Happy Bay, Orient Bay and Marigot were made even better by returning to the moonlight on the little beachfront and the loungers. Quiet natural St Martin with so much nearby and great hosts and a great house.

Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mymnky
Windsor, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Secluded Gem”
Reviewed January 30, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed for one week in the Banana Suite. I will start by saying, that we travel once or twice a year and typically stay at an all inclusive resort.

Accommodations:
The Banana studio villa was well appointed with pots, pans, bowls, drinking and wine glasses etc. Full size fridge, microwave and two burner range were all put to good use. The bedroom was decent size with a king bed and a twin bunk bed. The room would be very tight with 4 people sharing as there would be no room for luggage and personal belongings.
We took every measure possible to avoid getting ants such as ensuring all food was in the fridge or in zip lock bags, but that didn't stop them from invading. Not a huge issue and I'm not sure if much can be done to stop them. I recommend an ant spray if you have room in luggage.

The grounds:
We were aware the Banana was not facing the water. This was ok with us as it's a mere 50 or so steps to the beach area. The side entrance to the studio makes it very private which we liked. We did enjoy morning coffee and evening drinks on the beach.
The biggest disappointment for me was the water directly in front of the studios. I was under the impression we would be able to wade in the water out to the deeper water where we could swim. The water is ankle deep quite a ways out and mushy to even stand in. You CAN NOT SWIM HERE!
Having said that, the most gorgeous beach is a 10 minute paddle away, so it made it all worth not being able to swim directly on the property.

The owners:
Bruno and his wife live on site above the three rental units. Bruno was very friendly and available to answer any questions we had. There are two of the sweetest dogs you will ever meet on site. They actually swam over to Ille Pinel with us one afternoon we took the kayaks over there.

Location:
Cul de Sac for us was a great location as it is tucked away and we felt safe staying here. You absolutely need a car for the duration of your trip. Parking is available right on site. We did walk to town for dinner a few nights which was less than 2km's. Lovely evening stroll. But dinner is the only place you will be able to walk.

Things to know:
Basic essentials such as toilet paper and garbage bags are not included. Again, if you have room bring from home.
Do not leave any food out or the ants will feast on it.
If you are travelling from Canada or US, bring US currency and not the Euro. Most stores take $1US = $1 Euro. If you charge to your credit card, your bank with convert from the Euro and not the US dollar.

To summarize, we had an amazing adventure in St.Martin and staying at the Studio Pinel. We will absolutely travel to non all inclusive destinations again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvelineK1
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Secluded gem”
Reviewed December 22, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic stay at Studio st Martin. Friendly host Bruno, friendly pet dogs. Studios were comfortable and clean. Perfect place to stay with (little) kids, too. The accommodation offered a lot of extra's like kayaks, a hot tub, grill on the beach and bed on the beach. Island Pinel is in your back garden, who could ask for more?
A car is a must for groceries and exploring the island. It is a very secluded corner of the bay, no surf, no shell, somewhat sheltered from the wind. Note that you cannot swim in the first 20 meters of the bay because of the shallow water there. With excellent view!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kschenks
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical Hideaway on Pinel Bay”
Reviewed December 8, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Bruno was fantastic, the car service recommended NONA rentals was top notch. They were waiting at airport with sign and drove e to Bruno's amazing place. My Jeep was there waiting for as well as Bruno, who was very friendly. His place is situated on a small beach with Kayak and paddle board. There are dogs on the property who are super awesome and friendly. One of them even gets o the paddle board and will go out on the water with you. I ran every morning and the dogs ran with me. Area is very safe. His place has all the necessities, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, air condition. He gave me a water proof bag since we would take kayaks to Pinel island from his place which was the most amazing spot, worth doing, we went every day. You can Kayak or paddle board to the island where you can eat amazing food, sit on blue water while drinking champagne!!! Don't forget to hike around there is a emote beach on the north side of island. Studio St Martin is a perfect place to stay, I will def be going back for years to come!!! The only thing is we didn't realize you had to take the trash out every day which we quickly figured out and is right down the street and was not a big deal at all. Thanks Bruno for such a wonderful place to create new memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Waterfront view and the dogs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing