We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You should eat there👍”
Review of Le Taitu

Le Taitu
Ranked #6 of 14 Restaurants in Cul de Sac
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are located on the road to Mont Vernon : At the Cul de Sac roundabout, take the road to Pinel Island ferry , Drive for 600 meters and take the first right, 100 meters more and here we are on your left hand side.Welcome to the TAITU. We are open every day lunch and dinner, except on Sunday : 11.45 Am to 2.15 Pm and 6.30 Pm to 9.30 Pm.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You should eat there👍”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Restaurant with charme in Cul-de-Sac with good quality of Food and excellent Service from Jean..We like to come back once..or twice Thanks to Jean and his Team

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Switzerland7376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taitu449, Owner at Le Taitu, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your nice review.
Hope you come back soon on St Martin, and in our restaurant !!

JEAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    59
    16
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Best on St.Martin”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We have always eaten at least twice at leTaitu whenever [10+ years] we have come to St.Martin for a few days or a week. It has a relaxed open air ambience just off the beaten path. Intimate, the owner, John and his cook, provide both friendliness and very good food at very reasonable prices by St. Martin standards. His lunch specials equal anything in Grand Case in quality and beat both them and the Orient Beach restaurants in price. Today's lunch menu had 6 choices, a beverage and coffee for 11.25 Euros. Amazing selection and great service for a two person operation!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MorrisTaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taitu449, Owner at Le Taitu, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your review.
You really understand how difficult the restaurant business is, so we appreciate even more your comments.
Hope to see you next year.

JEAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayreville, New Jersey
1 review
“Excellent little spot”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My Husband and I were coming back from loterie farm, and stopped because we really wanted some authentic french creole food. What I really liked was the prices were reasonable, and the owner was very warm and welcoming. The food was good and the atmosphere is quaint. What i really like is speaking to the owner, he really took the reviews to heart and made sure to improve on his service, which is very admirable.

Would go again, was a very relaxed environment.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taitu449, Owner at Le Taitu, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
You make us feel good , with a review like that !!
Thank you.

JEAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
2 reviews
“An enjoyable dining experience”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We have been having dinner at Le Taitu for a number of years and always find the experience enjoyable. John, the proprietor, is always present and attentive to customers. The food is good and prices are very reasonable. For a nice dinner in a relaxed atmosphere, Le Taitu is an excellent choice. B & L

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taitu449, Owner at Le Taitu, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.
We will be pleased to welcome you on your next trip to St Martin.

See you soon

JEAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epe, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Finally we took enough courage to try Le Taitu out. Upon entering we were pleasantly welcomed bij the manager who showed us to our table and explained the menu. Besides this he also offered a choice of five day's dishes with a beverage and tea/coffee afterwards included; and that for a total price of just $15. We opted for the latter.

When the meals were served all four of us were pleasantly surprised by their make-up, their smell
and last but not least the taste.

In all I can say that we felt pleasantly surprised by Le Taitu.

Yolanda & Roel Kuiperij

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yolanda051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taitu449, Owner at Le Taitu, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your plesant review.
We understand you really enjoy our place, because if I remember well, you came back twice !!

A bientôt

JEAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Taitu also viewed

Cul de Sac, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Cul de Sac, Saint-Martin
Cul de Sac, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Cul de Sac, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Le Taitu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing