We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little spot”
Review of Le Taitu

Le Taitu
Ranked #6 of 14 Restaurants in Cul de Sac
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are located on the road to Mont Vernon : At the Cul de Sac roundabout, take the road to Pinel Island ferry , Drive for 600 meters and take the first right, 100 meters more and here we are on your left hand side.Welcome to the TAITU. We are open every day lunch and dinner, except on Sunday : 11.45 Am to 2.15 Pm and 6.30 Pm to 9.30 Pm.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My Husband and I were coming back from loterie farm, and stopped because we really wanted some authentic french creole food. What I really liked was the prices were reasonable, and the owner was very warm and welcoming. The food was good and the atmosphere is quaint. What i really like is speaking to the owner, he really took the reviews to heart and made sure to improve on his service, which is very admirable.

Would go again, was a very relaxed environment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Leora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taitu449, Owner at Le Taitu, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

You make us feel good , with a review like that !!
Thank you.

JEAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Le Taitu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 106 of 291 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

We have been having dinner at Le Taitu for a number of years and always find the experience enjoyable. John, the proprietor, is always present and attentive to customers. The food is good and prices are very reasonable. For a nice dinner in a relaxed atmosphere, Le Taitu is an excellent choice. B & L

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taitu449, Owner at Le Taitu, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review.
We will be pleased to welcome you on your next trip to St Martin.

See you soon

JEAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Finally we took enough courage to try Le Taitu out. Upon entering we were pleasantly welcomed bij the manager who showed us to our table and explained the menu. Besides this he also offered a choice of five day's dishes with a beverage and tea/coffee afterwards included; and that for a total price of just $15. We opted for the latter.

When the meals were served all four of us were pleasantly surprised by their make-up, their smell
and last but not least the taste.

In all I can say that we felt pleasantly surprised by Le Taitu.

Yolanda & Roel Kuiperij

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Yolanda051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taitu449, Owner at Le Taitu, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for your plesant review.
We understand you really enjoy our place, because if I remember well, you came back twice !!

A bientôt

JEAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My wife and I decided to visit this restaurant - once for lunch and once for dinner, after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. Folks who reviewed were pretty much right on. Not so easy to find, but decent parking. The lunch was nice and the owner was cordial. Drink was included in the $15 special and it was refreshing that he didn't mind what you wanted; fruit juice; beer, wine, water etc. it was all the same.

Don't expect large servings of meat in most restaurants on this island. A quick stop at the "super-market" will $how why. So the chefs are creative with all sorts of fillers with a little meat flavor. But the Caribbean touch and spices can be very nice. Dinner was good and the fish seemed fresh and well seasoned. Chocolate mousee wasn't quite ready so my wife waited while I drank my coffee. I would have liked the offer of a second cup when her desert finally came, but that wasn't to be.

All in all, a nice little place; very clean; safe and a good selection. If you want to sample island food (creole etc.) but you don't want anything too scary, this would be a nice place to visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mrjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taitu449, Owner at Le Taitu, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for your nice review, hope to see you on your next visit, for lunch or for dinner.
See you soon

JEAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Just had one of our best meals in StMartin.The ambiance is comfortable and you feel at home.The owner takes pride in his place and it shows.The wine list is small but adequate and priced well.The food was very good.My wife had the curried shrimp and I had the veal normandy.Both were excellent.The coconut flan and creme caramel completed a great evening.All this for under $100We will return

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taitu449, Owner at Le Taitu, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for your review.
Your last sentence( "we will return ") is exactly what we are expecting !!

See you soon

JEAN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Taitu also viewed

Cul de Sac, Saint-Martin
Cul de Sac, Saint-Martin
 
Cul de Sac, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Le Taitu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing