We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Marge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Marge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Overstrand
Certificate of Excellence
essex
1 review
“Great little find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2010

I find it really hard to see that people have written negative things about this hotel. We came upon it when looking for a good standard Cromer hotel - and we were not disappointed. We too had the Lookout Suite and though it was quite cold when we checked in on the Friday night (they had put an extra radiator in the room) by Saturday it was as warm as toast and continued that way till we left on Sunday. On checking out I suggested that they warm up the room a little earlier in the winter if guests are checking in - and that comment was most welcomed and taken onboard and they were horrified to think we had been cold at all! The food was excellent and the staff very nice. No complaints at all and will go back when the weather is better and we can enjoy the outside space more - though it was so lovely to come into that beautiful fireplace!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    148
    59
    39
    26
See reviews for
111
251
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
norwich
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

Having just returned from yet another trip to the Sea Marge I feel it is important to write on here how wonderfull our stay was. Having read the reviews before returning we were slightly concerned that this stay would not match up to previous stays but we need not have worried at all,

Since our last stay the hotel has undergone a few changes and improvements throughout.

The lounge now boasts beautiful new sofas and arm chairs which compliment the room wonderfully. The Winston dinning room also has undergone a make over iproving this room considrably. Although i dont know if the picture in this room work. New carpets in the bar and in reception and lovely furniture in the gardens.

Between our group we had several rooms as usual, and having confirmed with reception, alot of the rooms have just been refurbed. New bathrooms in 5 of the rooms including my room (19- standard twin) My parents stayed in room 2 as usual and we not dissapointed. They love the vies from this room and now the bath has been moved they could enjoy the view form the tub now. A hit weith mum i can assure you .

Having booked a Spring into Summer break on the suggetion of Hollly on reception we saved ourselves 20% from the normal DBB rate.... and we certainly werent disapointed!!! The new chef Andy was brilliant and the food was wonderfull, we could not fault it at all. And the chocoalte fondant.. is any chocaholics idea of heaven :) All of the staff were brilliant and could not do enough to help you, from house keeping to management. They were fantasic!! Linda, (the lady refere to below that needs a top lip wax) (which is just rude) was wonderful, done all she could for us and nicky was fantastic with the children.

Needless to say we will be back next year for our anual visit and we can not wait

Thank you seamarge

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dollybird_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Barnet
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

Just returned from three night stay at the Seamarge. Booked in BB & D as was suggested by the receptionist when making the telephone booking. Very bad move on our part. Having been offered dry, overbaked bread rolls we should have 'uped and fled' there and then. However we suffered the crab tortellini, complete with shell pieces followed by beer battered fish (about the size of a small playing card) huge (I mean huge) hand cut chips, hard throughout and a desert spoonful of mushy peas. We can cope with steep prices if the food served warrants it - this restaurant doesn't. The full english breakfast includes ONE very small mushroom although it is cut in two. We actually asked for three full english breakfasts, one without mushrooms to which our waitress (the elderly lady who needs a top lip wax) gave a heavy sigh and responded 'You mean two full english and one sausage, egg and bacon'. Did we complain you may well ask. No we did not, we had come away to enjoy ourselves and did not want to upset things by complaining about a rude waitress who had no intention of doing anything more than she thought necessary. However, the room we stayed in was the Lookout Suite which I believe had recently been renovated. It was clean, comfortable and very peaceful. On a health and safety note: If you stay here and have young children, do not let them stray towards the end of the grounds, there is no fencing and if they take one step too many they will topple over the cliff edge. Advice to Mr & Mrs Mackenzie, the proprietors: Have a meal in the pub along the road where the staff know how to make you feel welcome and the chef is FIRST CLASS.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick-nb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2010

We had booked on the recommendation of one of our family, and were a little apprenshive as we don't normally all like the same type of place or food - but all 12 of us loved it! They had a wonderful bar with a lovely log fire for us all to warm around. We received a friendly welcome from the staff and enjoy drinks while reading the menu. The staff picked up on the fact that it was my Aunt's birthday and to our suprise decorated the table for her who loved it! They also sang Happy Birthday when presenting the dessert with a candle in it - this was definately above and beyond what we had expected and we can't thank the staff enough for making it so special.
We found that the menu had a varied choice of food, and that there was something that we all wanted to eat (which when there are 12 of you, all of different ages is hard!). We had our order taken in the bar and where then seated in a lovely dining room, with tasteful christmas decorations. Everyone of our party enjoyed the food and atmosphere in the dining room, the desserts are beautifully presented and the special touches the staff did made my Aunt's birthday for her.
I would recommend this to anyone wishing to enjoy a family get together or just a quite meal for 2!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovemycatsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights between christmas and new year whilst visiting friends in norfolk. Our room was a Delux suite which was beautiful and had 2 extra beds for the kids. The staff were all really friendly and helpful and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minty10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2009

Just had the most wonderful few days at a place discoverd by chance while visiting north norfolk. The hotel it's self was perfect in every respect room comfortable, views breathtaking and food fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letsgowhynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

I booked this hotel as a treat for my husband's birthday on a good recommendation. Unfortunately there were only standard rooms available, but I was reassured by the description of these rooms on the hotel's website as "luxurious with modern bathrooms". The room itself (No 19) was OK, at the top of the house, with nice side views, and quiet. There was only a shower cubicle in the very small bathroom. The floor tiles were cracked, as were several of the tiles in the shower cubicle. There was a rusty soap dish, and plenty of nice black mould on the tiles - so unappealing I didn't want to use the shower at all. Toiletries included soap and handcream only - no shower gel/shampoo.

The food in the dining room was good and the staff friendly, although service on our first night was appalling - 20 mins to get a menu, 30 mins for starter and 30 mins for main course, and my husband was served the wrong dessert (this with only 2 other tables occupied - but we were told they were busy serving meals in the bar!). The second night was much better. Breakfast was good, apart from the tinned grapefruit and prunes.

This is a beautiful hotel, in a superb location, charging top prices - what a shame it doesn't ensure that all the rooms meet its glowing descriptions of them. The lounge is reminiscent of a care home.... My polite email to the owners received an initial "sorry" response we'll respond within 3 days, and was then obviously "filed".

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RFE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Overstrand
1.4 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
6.7 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
6.7 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Marge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Marge Hotel

Property: Sea Marge Hotel
Address: 16 High Street, Overstrand NR27 0AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Overstrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Overstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Marge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the unique beauty of the North Norfolk coastline while staying in a magnificent grade II listed mansion steeped in history. Stroll through 5 acres of beautiful terraced gardens, enjoy cream teas, log fires, exquisite dining and access to an unspoilt beach, and experience the luxury of a country house atmosphere in a stunning cliff top location. For those who want to 'keep in touch' there is the added benefit of a free, wireless broadband connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Marge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Marge Hotel Overstrand, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing