We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sea Marge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The White Horse(Overstrand)
$75
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cromer Country Club by Diamond Resorts(Cromer)(Great Value!)
$49
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$187
$173
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandcliff Guest House(Cromer)(Great Value!)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor Hotel(Mundesley)
$122
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$297
$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveler rating
246
168
76
43
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
246
168
76
43
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswinston churchillafternoon teawinter warmerminstrels gallerythe cliffsea viewmassive bathroomlookout suitelovely buildingcream teaedwardian hotelbar menuevening mealsunday lunchposter bedwinston roomsuperior room
Filter
Updating list...
415 - 420 of 562 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Having stayed at the Sea Marge for a New Years Break a couple of years ago which we enjoyed very much and was lots of fun - we thought we would give Christmas a go.
Unfortunatly we were so disappointed.- how different could it have been!!
Instead of having "A Luxury Festive Christmas Break" it was more like staying in a retirement home for the infirm (average age being 65+) A great shame!
However the rooms that we have had have all been great - all sea facing and worth the extra highly recommended.
Staff really friendly and helpful
Good wine list-food ok this time but much better before
They do a very good job for older guests if that is what you want
but unfortunatly it makes for a rather dull atmostphere generally- hopefully it is different in the summer!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolinefama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed here, in between Christmas and New Year. The room was very comfortable, clean and very spacious. The view was outstanding. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We ate there for 2 nights, once of the bar menu and the other off the resturant menu and on both occasions had wonderful food. It was noce to have local food done very well, without being too pretentious. I did not want to leave and would happily go back

Room Tip: if you pay the extra for a deluxe room the views are fantastic, nothing between you and the ocean except the garden.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urchin101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My partner and I booked the 4 night Christmas Break at the Sea Marge Hotel which proved to be good value overall, rating, for us, about 7 out of 10. The 3 outstanding factors which made our stay enjoyable were: 1. The staff: endlessly polite, helpful, friendly and efficient. 2. The meals: excellent in choice, preparation, delivery and presentation. 3. The ground floor public rooms which have some interesting architectural points and are spacious and comfortable. The single factor which disappointed us relates to the upkeep and management of the hotel as shown by the following. On our arrival, we were allocated room 15 on the second floor adjacent to the lift. At first glance the room was rather small and old fashioned with some immediately obvious wear and tear – door fittings hanging by a single screw etc., but it was the discovery late in the evening that the modernised and attractive ensuite bathroom had no hot water, coupled with the staff’s inability to cure the problem, that settled our need to move. The next morning we were fortunate to find there was 1 spare room available albeit at the far end of the building and we moved, feeling sorry for another couple whose room on the second floor had the same hot water problem but who were too long-suffering to ‘make a fuss’. The view from the grimy windows of our second room, No.62, was of rotting frames surrounded by overgrown climbers whose debris littered the gutters, but we did have hot water! Externally the Sea Marge has an aura of encroaching decay which is rather depressing.– clearly a great deal of money needs to be spent on the fabric. Internally there are issues with some of the bedrooms especially in the older part of the building and on the second floor. The fact that obvious shortcomings aren’t being put right before the arrival of guests is a clear indication of slack management and I would strongly advise anyone planning a visit to enquire closely as to the condition of the room(s) offered. (October 2013 review by 'televisionsover' also relates.)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Took advantage of one of their 3-night deals to include a 70th birthday celebration and a visit to the Thursford Christmas Show. Excellent room with a sea view [paid extra] and a well organized trip to the Thursford show which included transport to and from the show plus very good seats at the front of the auditorium. The 3-night deal included 1 dinner, a meal before going to the Thursford show plus 1 night without dinner when you had to fend for yourself. The only problem with this was that the night we had no dinner [the 2nd night] was also the night of my birthday and we could not change the night on which dinner was served to us. Such a shame as the food in the restaurant was very nice even if the service at both breakfast and dinner left something to be desired. As the hotel was part of a small local group, we were able to enjoy the gym and swimming pool at one of their other hotels nearby and this was without charge.

If you want to visit the Thursford Show with a minimum of fuss, it is worth considering stay at the hotel - its 3-star rating is about right, even in one of their extra cost sea-view rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldgitNorwichUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

A lunchtime celebration for a significant birthday. I booked by email so to find happy birthday confetti on the table was a wonderful thought. The staff were very attentive on our arrival and continued to be so during our meal

The food was fabulous from starter to finish. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Ronnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews