We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a good package deal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Marge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea Marge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Overstrand
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a good package deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Took advantage of one of their 3-night deals to include a 70th birthday celebration and a visit to the Thursford Christmas Show. Excellent room with a sea view [paid extra] and a well organized trip to the Thursford show which included transport to and from the show plus very good seats at the front of the auditorium. The 3-night deal included 1 dinner, a meal before going to the Thursford show plus 1 night without dinner when you had to fend for yourself. The only problem with this was that the night we had no dinner [the 2nd night] was also the night of my birthday and we could not change the night on which dinner was served to us. Such a shame as the food in the restaurant was very nice even if the service at both breakfast and dinner left something to be desired. As the hotel was part of a small local group, we were able to enjoy the gym and swimming pool at one of their other hotels nearby and this was without charge.

If you want to visit the Thursford Show with a minimum of fuss, it is worth considering stay at the hotel - its 3-star rating is about right, even in one of their extra cost sea-view rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldgitNorwichUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    148
    59
    38
    26
See reviews for
110
247
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

A lunchtime celebration for a significant birthday. I booked by email so to find happy birthday confetti on the table was a wonderful thought. The staff were very attentive on our arrival and continued to be so during our meal

The food was fabulous from starter to finish. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Went for an anniversary meal. Friendly welcome in superb surroundings of the bar. Meal choices made and drink served before sitting in front of log fire prior to going into the restaurant for our meal. Great choice of food from both the bar and a la carte menus.
My wife's main course of sea bass came out overcooked, but there was absolutely no hassle in getting it sorted.
Kind and courteous staff, not too overbearing but with the right amount of attention. Knowledgeable staff. All in all a lovely evening. WILL be back for lunch and dinner in the future. A real gem.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CWEMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

As we were only staying one night we booked a "Superior" room in what looks like, and in fairness, is a very attractive building. The room was large, comfortable and had a super king bed so everything looked good. Then the rain started. Now it gets rather wet and windy on the North Norfolk Coast but we didn't expect the rain to come in the top of the window in a "superior" room - let the Chinese Water Torture begin! We told the staff about this and were given some towels to put on the window ledge and told that "All the rooms are like that - it’s an old building!". It's just over 100 years old, so not that old, after all, The Tower of London has windows that fit!

We went out for a walk and got rather wet - time for a hot bath. No hot water. Enough was enough - we asked what could be done and we were transferred into a smaller room down the corridor with a smaller bed, etc., but at least the windows didn't leak! The water was only tepid. We waited an hour - still cold. It was cold in the morning too so we packed and left for home without sampling breakfast, so we can't comment on that. We were really looking forward to a bit of luxury but this place was a joke.

Top tip to the owners: more hot running water in the pipes and less cold running water down the walls!

Room Tip: Windows facing the sae let the rain in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank televisionsover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Second night at this hotel in a few weeks and enjoyed it just as much second time around. Good rooms tasty food and friendly staff. And good beer too. It seems to be an old Edwardian country house that had fallen into disrepair before being turned into the hotel a few years ago. Bound to be a few ghosts wandering around and would be great for holding murder mystery weekends in.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobnShirlnSamnJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here a few years ago when it was taken over after being run down for a long time. Now there have been some improvements and architecturally is very interesting with lots of carved timber inside the building and outside is quite striking. Still needs a lot of work to renovate it to higher standard but it was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

We had the "cottage" which was just outside the main building. The room was fine although several light fittings needed new bulbs. It was let down by the small garden approach which was uncared for and overgrown. We thought we going into "shed" but it was OK.

We only had B&B but the breakfast was very good. For dinner we walked up the road for 100 yards to the White Horse Inn which was excellent with a good atmosphere.

This claims to be 4 * Hotel but I would probably rate it 3* but it does have a good restaurant looking at the menu and the AA rating. Not sure it was value for money at £142 per night B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevspeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The food and the service at the hotel was very good. The bed was comfortable, but it was all let down by the decor in the room. We booked a Luxurious Suite, but it was anything, but this. The wallpaper was stained, with water marks in some areas and white streaks in others. We were so disappointed, as this was a two night break for us, before my wife goes into hospital for a knee op.
They will need to make big improvement to the room before we will ever think of going again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Overstrand
4.2 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
1.4 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
6.7 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Marge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Marge Hotel

Property: Sea Marge Hotel
Address: 16 High Street, Overstrand NR27 0AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Overstrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Overstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Marge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the unique beauty of the North Norfolk coastline while staying in a magnificent grade II listed mansion steeped in history. Stroll through 5 acres of beautiful terraced gardens, enjoy cream teas, log fires, exquisite dining and access to an unspoilt beach, and experience the luxury of a country house atmosphere in a stunning cliff top location. For those who want to 'keep in touch' there is the added benefit of a free, wireless broadband connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Sea Marge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Marge Hotel Overstrand, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing