We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COMEDIAN STAFF, TOO LIPPY, LITTLE RESPECT. Sea Marge.”
Review of Sea Marge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Marge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Overstrand
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“COMEDIAN STAFF, TOO LIPPY, LITTLE RESPECT. Sea Marge.”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The hotel is generally very pleasant and the food is quite nice but the vegetable portions are a little too small, especially if you have a big appetite after walking, or if the weather is cold. The reduced price meals at about £6.00 each are very good if you visit during the applicable offer times. (Two meals for about £12.00, terms and conditions apply).

BUT some staff members are apprentice comedians and show a lack of respect to guests or diners with their own unfunny type of witticisms and offensive comments. Staff are not employed to be entertainers and should be polite and appreciative of guests/diners, not trainee clowns.

I found some comments from the bar staff member rude and offensive. I made no comment at the time as I felt that if I did this could only make matters worse. I prefer efficient polite attention as a visitor, not unfunny jokes and a cavalier over familiar attitude from staff members. Remember that I am paying the staff wages! I expect to be treated with respect.

Room Tip: Get one with a sea view on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    149
    61
    39
    27
See reviews for
111
257
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Very friendly reception and atmosphere. Bar area offered the largest wood burner I have seen.
Room was clean, bed was comfortable wit good quality bedlinen and natural filled duvet. Exceptionally clean new looking en-suite. We were in room 3 which was to the front of the hotel, though set back overlooking the road. Quiet.

Room Tip: On the first floor room 3 was well positioned to the Dining room and reception. We could see there w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed for 1 night, in room 12 fantastic sea view. Room clean tidy and spacious plenty of storage and seating. Beautiful hotel lovely accommodating staff made to feel very welcome. Would happily visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed in room 1 last weekend and had an excellent break. Hotel was clean and welcoming with attentive,well trained staff. Room 1 had a sea view, obscured in the mornings by the sea mist but wonderful later in the day. Comfortable beds and two wing armchairs so we sat by the window to enjoy the view. Only gripe about the room was the low lighting - made reading in bed difficult for middle aged eyes! Food was excellent especially on the Saturday night - the duo of lamb was to die for. Breakfast first class and I would highly recommend the home made pancakes - great start for a day walking the coastal path in the bracing February air.
I would happily return to this hotel - we came on a winter break and got a very good DBB deal. If you need a place to stay in this area you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Superior room we stayed in was a good size with great sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We originally stayed at the Sea Marge several years ago and always have Sunday lunch there, when we are in the area.

The Sea Marge has character and old world charm with fantastic views of the coast. It is located in the delightful village of Overstrand which never seems to change, but always delivers a relaxing and very peaceful retreat, whether visiting as a couple of family.

Excellent bar area with large open fire in the winter and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanR422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Fourth visit here and this time the food was the best yet. Decent rooms here. This time due to the cuts we down sized to a room without sea view. Still good though, no complaints on any aspect of the room but the evening meal was excellent. Went for the bream as a main. The fish was beautifully cooked and all the herbs came through. 10/10. Breakfast was a good one too. Full English. Lovely walk on the beach, turned right going south this time. Lucky with the weather I guess. Over all if you're going up that way give it a look, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: 1 or 2 are good rooms, bit more expensive but probably favourites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Why did I enjoy the stay?
- Lovely old building (1909 half timbered) loads of atmosphere and a very interesting history including Kaiser Bill and Winston Churchill!
- Very comfortable room (Lookout Suite) with a nice view of the garden and the sea beyond.
- Friendly (but never "matey") staff who seem to actually care about the guests.
- Courteous and proficient service in the dining room.
- Well cooked and presented food.
- A good base to explore this part of the coast.

We spent 3 nights at the hotel for a birthday treat and it happened to be Valentine's day as well so how romantic!

The hotel offered a "Winter warmer" break that included a suite, breakfast and dinner all for less than £140 a night which is excellent value.

We had a problem with the plumbing in the bathroom and it was dealt with immediately and to our satisfaction. I think you can tell a lot about a hotel by the way they deal with problems.

The weather over the weekend was bright, dry and bracingly cold, just right for walking along the beach to Cromer and a coffee on the pier. Getting back to the hotel for a hot soak before a G&T in front of the roaring wood fire in the bar then dinner was blissful. Dinner is taken in a tranquil manner and many of the guests retired to the resident's lounges to play chess or one of the board games that are available. It's all very "Miss Marple" and charming because of it.

Nowhere is perfect but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel for a pleasant weekend away

Room Tip: The Lookout Suite is lovely but do check that they have sorted the hot water supply to the jacuzzi b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterC48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Overstrand
1.4 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
6.7 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
6.7 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Marge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Marge Hotel

Property: Sea Marge Hotel
Address: 16 High Street, Overstrand NR27 0AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Overstrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Overstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Marge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the unique beauty of the North Norfolk coastline while staying in a magnificent grade II listed mansion steeped in history. Stroll through 5 acres of beautiful terraced gardens, enjoy cream teas, log fires, exquisite dining and access to an unspoilt beach, and experience the luxury of a country house atmosphere in a stunning cliff top location. For those who want to 'keep in touch' there is the added benefit of a free, wireless broadband connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Sea Marge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Marge Hotel Overstrand, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing