We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family Break with a dog”
rear of house with garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
rear of house with garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
rear of house with garden
bathroom
kitchen/diner
kitchen/diner/patio
from the patio looking in
view to the sea
living room
looking from TV room to living room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Overstrand, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ali P
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family Break with a dog”
Reviewed February 21, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This is our 4th stay here and we have booked again for next year. Val has made this place so homely and she is so helpful with any queries. We had an issue with hot water, and from calling her to the plumber arriving was 2 hours! Now that’s service.
Absolutely fab place to stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2018
Dear Ali, It is lovely to keep meeting you on your family break and seeing the children grow up. Thank you for leaving the cottage so nicely. I am delighted that you like it. See you next time. Val
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C
Wickham Market, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Family holiday by the sea”
Reviewed October 26, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We decided that summer holiday for 2017 would be a family holiday in Norfolk by the sea. This place looked ideal for location and size. What was advertised was exactly what we found. Spacious, comfortable, large safe garden, everything you could have asked for just less than 10 minutes from the beach. Lovely doors which open up front and back. Great outside eating area straight from the large kitchen. As it was such a fine weather week we used it a lot. Quiet, relaxing everything you might wish for. Perhaps being picky a shower over the bath in the family bathroom would have been helpful. Would have no problem recommending this place. Would be quite happy to come back some time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2017
Hi Paul, Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so pleased that the house and area lived up to your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to Beachcomber or one of our other cottages ....have a great autumn!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annlewis1...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beachcomber”
Reviewed October 3, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Lovely, comfortable, warm, welcoming place. Enclosed, private garden. Lovely walks. Few minutes walk to a beautiful beach, (dog friendly) shop & excellent pub. Would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2017
Ann, it was lovely to have you and the family to stay. Thank you for leaving the cottage so nicely. We look forward to welcoming you again another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Highly recommended cottage”
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed at Beachcomber Cottage for the weekend, we wished it could have been longer. Val left us lots of goodies for our arrival,much appreciated. Val also came to visit to check all was OK, which it was. The cottage was clean comfortable and well equipped. We were just minutes walk from a lovely beach as well as a shop and pub which has a good restaurant. We had very good weather and made good use of both the gardens. We hope to have a return visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2017
I am so pleased that you liked Beachcomber Cottage and the local area. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinanstev...
northants
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Return visit”
Reviewed December 30, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Second visit to this cottage for long weekend at end of Oct/beginning Nov. Very lucky with weather - again. On the beach in t-shirts! Cottage as welcoming, warm and well equipped. Had a great weekend relaxing, walking, eating & drinking.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma P
Burton upon Trent, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well equipped, lovely views and very relaxing!”
Reviewed November 19, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Beachcomber Cottage in the middle of September and the only thing I can fault was the weather which was rather foggy for the last few days of our week's stay!

You are provided with a clear set of directions when you book and the cottage was easy to find. Parking for our two small cars was fine, although two larger vehicles may struggle to fit off road.

Upon arriving the property appears well looked after, and the welcome pack consisting of wine, biscuits and tea/coffee was a nice touch, as was the personalised welcome note. Once settled, the owner Val visited, giving us lots of hints and tips about the surrounding area.

Inside the property is very well equipped with a kitchen containing every utensil we needed and more, plus a good selection of crockery and glassware. It was nice to find cloths and washing up liquid provided, one less thing to take next time! The kitchen (at the front of the property) is really bright and airy and lovely with the large patio doors open. There is a table and 4 chairs on the patio which is very sheltered.
from the kitchen you walk down the hallway with its lovely painted floorboards and find three good-sized bedrooms and the family bathroom.

Bedroom one has a king sized bed and en-suite shower room. Bedroom 2 is another double, bright and airy with a large skylight window, and a small loo and wash basin. Bedroom three is a twin room - the plug sockets are down the sides of the beds, it took a while to locate these. We did find the master and twin bedrooms a little on the dull side as the windows were very small. A nice touch was the locally made soap provided in all bathrooms.

The family bathroom is beautiful! Amazing bath and lovely pebble effect tiling make it almost spa-like; the only downside was the lack of a second shower - with 4 adults this would have been useful, or a shower attachment on the bath. However we managed perfectly well during our week long stay.

At the end of the hallway, past the bedrooms, a couple of steps take you up into the fabulous lounge. The double height room has the most amazing view over the garden and to the sea beyond. There was plenty of seating and the bonus of the mezzanine floor with two sofas and small TV. The overall feel of this room was light and bright, really relaxing with lovely shabby-chic furniture and an electric "log fire" for those chilly evenings.

Outside the garden was well kept, with plenty of seating again.

We enjoyed the 5 minute walk to the beach, but be warned as the walk back up the slope to the road is a little on the steep side! The ice cream man was very friendly and we ate at the cafe - great food and welcoming.

In the village we ate at The White Horse - the food was amazing; we spent £50 per head for 3 courses with wine although main courses varied from around the £10 mark. The village shop is well stocked too.

A trip to Holt is recommended, especially if you have time to browse, and we took the train from Cromer to Norwich for around £9 pp return. The fish and chip shop on Station Street was great, and Cromer itself offers a morning's worth of wandering. We used Morrison's in Cromer for our supplies - its easy to find situated next to the station.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious lounge, view and well equipped kitchen
Liked least: Lack of second shower and dim light in bedrooms
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grubbies
Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Would just like to live here”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a wonderful relaxing time at Beachcomber cottage, a lovely welcome with wine tea and biscites and flowers.Just like home from home Everything you need to cook and relax..
Overstrand and Mundersly where our favourite places but now we also like a wild part of Bacton as wel.l Can't wait to come back when we think the weather will as good as the five days we had.
Well done Val

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: opening the patio doors and the view
Liked least: Parking, it would be nice to use grass verge as extra space for parking
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing