We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“'Awesome' - according to our teenage son!”
rear of house with garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
rear of house with garden
bathroom kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
33 reviews
rear of house with garden
bathroom
kitchen
kitchen/diner
kitchen/diner/patio
from the patio looking in
view to the sea
living room
looking from TV room to living room
double bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Overstrand, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
T C
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“'Awesome' - according to our teenage son!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We had such a great weekend at Beachcomber Cottage. The house itself was even better that we imagined. Our teenagers loved it. It's so spacious, and beautifully decorated and furnished - there are really special touches in every room. The location was perfect - a short walk to an amazing beach. Although it was February, the sun shone and we spent lots of time outside. It was great to open the curtains and see the sea and the sky every morning. The bathrooms were amazing, and the sofas and beds all really comfortable. We even loved the crockery! I could go on - it was so lovely! We only stayed for three nights, but it felt like a proper holiday! Thanks, Val, we hope to be back.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The house and location were so beautiful
Liked least: Having to come home again!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinanstev...
northants
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Relaxing, fun weekend in sunny november”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Stayed Fri - Mon at the beginning of November with best friend of 40 years and her daughter and small white highland terror - great cottage. Lovely and warm. Comfortable rooms with a bathroom each. Great views from the upstairs sitting room. A very short walk to the sea front to take dog out. Walked along the beach to Cromer and back along the cliffs. Took a drive out to places we knew we liked - fantastic beach and beach huts in Wells-next-the-Sea. We were lucky to be there for Overstrand fireworks display on Sat - best display I saw this year. And all cleared away by the time we took the dog out on Sunday morning. And fine sunny weather which was a real bonus in Nov. Recommended to friends who stayed later on in the month - similar comments.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyn C
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fantastic cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

we had an amazing family weekend at beachcomber cottage.Everthing was perfect there was a welcome tray with a bottle of wine to greet us after a long journey.Overstrand is a lovely little place,we walked along the beach to cromer .We will definately be returning .

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely house near the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The owner of Beachcomber Cottage, Val, was very prompt and friendly in all our email contact through the booking process.
The beach is 5 minutes walk away with a fairly steep path down to the sand.
The cottage is clean, airy and has a relaxed feel to it.
Outdoor seating front and back was a bonus since we were lucky to have good weather during our stay.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Lovely location; perfect for a good old English summer holiday by the sea
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floracatC...
Cambridge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Beachcomber Cottage is a tranquil haven.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

This was the perfect holiday rental for us (grand parents, parents, grandchild and friend). It is spacious with a large bathroom, two ensuites, plenty of comfortable living areas, a large kitchen diner and two outside eating areas, front and back. The décor is fresh and attractive, the whole place has a modern feel with double height windows. Val and her husband are most welcoming and helpful. The beach is a very short stroll with lots of good amenities for shopping and eating out. Overstrand is a charming, picturesque and quiet village.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The spacious feel to the property, inside and outside.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony_Blo...
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect holiday retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I first spotted this cottage last year when we stayed for four nights. We loved it so much we stayed again three weeks ago and have already booked for next year. Everything about the cottage is ideal for a family. It's in a quiet country lane in a small village with a general store, a beach cafe and an excellent pub which does superb food and has a garden with play equipment for the children. A five minute walk from the cottage brings you to a lovely beach below the hilltop and reached by a steepish footpath. Between the cottage and the beach is a small play park for the children. The cottage itself has been recently rebuilt and is immaculate, with enclosed gardens front and rear. The owner is very helpful and usually meets you there on arrival. The only reason I didn't recommend it for disabled travellers is that the cottage is slightly split level, with three steps between the front and the back, not really a big difficulty to overcome. Altogether, a real home from home and one we look forward to going back to again and again.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location and peacefulness
Liked least: There is nothing I didn't like
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard Somerset
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Overall excellent quality
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$130
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing