We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exceptional hotel!”
Review of The White Horse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Horse
Ranked #2 of 4 Overstrand B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An exceptional hotel!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Tucked away in a small village on the North Norfolk Coast, the White Horse deserves to be noticed!
A carefully restored and modernised village pub, which has managed to retain much of it's character, while appearing very modern.
The bedrooms are more than adequate, although lacking such things as double glazing., but are lean and comfortable. The public areas are clean and modern, and very welcoming.
The food is excellent, making much use of local ingredients in a complex mix of traditional and modern cuisine. Our guest one evening described her meal as 'the best fish and chips ever!!'.
All in all a highly recommended - and the dog loved it too! did I mention that dogs are also welcome.?
And above all, the customer service is SIX star! Nothing, but nothing is too much trouble for Manager James and his staff!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ObadiahtheBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    62
    26
    8
    8
See reviews for
45
111
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Wow what another great lunch. Taking advantage off the two for one deal, was not disappointed. Was a lovely place for our girls get together. Just felt sorry for the one lady working, as it was rather busy, but was still very cheerful. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank tigger73_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This pub will not serve Diabetic,s !!!! Two of the staff are rude and one in paticular listens into private conersation,s ! there is a large waiting time between courses All I can say faulty towers is run 100 % better and Basil Faulty dar more polite !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Just returned from another short break at the White Horse, Overstrand. We have been comming here for the last five years since the pub was sold and extensively refurbished to an extremely high standard. Letting rooms were later established and fitted out to a lovely standard.

I cannot recommend the White Horse enough for a short break where after a day exploring the lovely coast of Norfolk you can book into the restaurant for an evening meal mainly consisting of fresh local produce beautifully prepared. The breakfast is also great and the selection of hot/cold dishes perfect. Darren (Owner) and Lucy (Manager) always ensure you have a warm welcome and ensure you have a memorable stay and the staff are great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank houseisarockin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Just been for another fabulous lunch. The sandwiches are amazing. Homemade bread along with homemade chips. Fillings are far from the norm and are delicious. Even gave us a receipe for one of there tappas dishes.
Oh and great not to hear constant Christmas songs.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank tigger73_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England, UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We ate at the White Horse earlier this year and vowed to return for Sunday Lunch as it is an ideal place for refreshment after a walk along the beach with the dog (dogs are allowed in the bar).

On their website they currently have a whole page advertising Sunday Roast Lunch for £10.50 served from 12 - 3 every Sunday. It looked lovely so we called in to try it today. It was also advertised on a blackboard in the bar.

We arrived just after midday and, having settled ourselves down with a drink, we duly tried to order 2 roast dinners at 12.30 - only to be told we couldn't! The excuse - a large party was due in and they needed to save the roasts in case they wanted them! We were told if we waited until after 2pm there may be some left!

We finished our drinks and went elsewhere.

I've only given as high as a 3 star rating at the beginning of this review out of fairness, as it is an average of our 2 visits.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan_Norfolk_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed the weekend at the White Horse, and from the minute we arrived we were made to feel welcome and comfortable. A nice room, small but well used space. There were 2 light bulbs out and the batteries in the remote weren't working, but as another reviewer has said the guy who does the room is waiting outside your door in the morning to clean your room, and is obviously going too fast to notice these things! If check out is at 10 clean the rooms at 10 please!
The food and drink at the pub was excellent, and we will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nolongerreviewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Overstrand
0.1 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
509 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
722 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
348 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
717 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#3 of 4 in West Runton
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse

Property: The White Horse
Address: 34 High Street, Overstrand NR27 0AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Overstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Overstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside pub set on the beautiful North Norfolk coast, Two AA rosette restaurant and 4 star accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The White Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Overstrand, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing