We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Resort and Dive Shop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Walindi Plantation Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kimbe
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Resort and Dive Shop”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I flew to Kimbe to have a relaxing week after working in PNG for a month. Walindi was the PERFECT escape - a great blend between relaxation, low stress, and amazing diving. If you are looking to have an incredible and top-notch dive experience, this is the place for you.

Captain Gary and the crew of boys at the Walindi Dive Shop are fantastic. Gary is extraordinarily knowledgable about diving and has countless life stories. His crew is efficient, fun, and EXCELLENT dive guides with an impressive breadth of knowledge of local coral and fish species. Gary will make sure you are diving at your appropriate level and safe and comfortable in your diving needs.

All resort staff was lovely and the plantation has a very family oriented vibe. I visited in April/May when many Australian scientists were visiting and doing research. Family style dinners made for fun and interesting conversation.

Room Tip: Definitely take malaria prophylaxis and take precaution against mosquitoes with long sleeve clothes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    42
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
59
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I spent a wonderful 7 nights at Walindi in late April/early May.

The bungalow accommodation, the setting, the service and the general ambience were excellent.

The food was good, if a little bland.

Max and Cecily Benjamin were wonderful hosts.

Above all else the diving was sensational. The dive instructor, Capt. Gary Kulisek, was extremely knowledgeable and attentive. I learnt a huge amount about diving (and countless unrelated topics!) from Gary. He assessed my level of ability perfectly and tailored my courses accordingly. He emphasised safety and introduced me to a lot of new diving experiences. Under his care, I feel that my diving improved considerably. I would recommend Gary for both beginner and experienced divers.

All in a thoroughly great experience.

Michael Sullivan
Port Moresby

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 294118MichaelS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Walindi for 5 nights, with 3 days of diving including all equipment. Don’t worry yourself too much about the cost, PNG’s tourism is a work in progress, so accommodation is expensive everywhere!

All the staff and management were wonderful and nothing was ever too much trouble. The PNG dive leaders that take you out daily are professional and friendly and their local knowledge is invaluable. Having only recently acquired my SSI certification, I was extremely nervous about the diving, but I was quickly put at ease and enjoyed myself more than I could have imagined (if it was good enough for the National Geographic photographers staying there, then it was good enough for me!).

If you have a day off, there isn’t too much to do at the resort, you can’t really swim at the beach in front so take the opportunity to do the day tour with Joseph, he is so knowledgeable and probably one of the best guides we have ever had,

On our last day prior to departing, all the wonderful people we met during our stay including the staff and management came out to wish us well and good bye…I haven’t ever experienced that at a resort before. I would not hesitate in recommending Walindi Plantation Resort.

Room Tip: If you have the option, book a room in the Plantation House - it doesn't differ greatly from Bun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Solwara80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

So glad we came. Diving was top-notch thanks to the efforts of Gary & his crew (and Alan of the FeBrina by putting in the mooring system). Gary is a treasure-trove of knowledge & experience - they are lucky to have him. His professionalism with regard to equipment care will pay dividends for Walindi in safety and excellence. Friendly and helpful, he's always ready with a story that's almost hard to believe. Gary won't steer you wrong when it comes to diving - he's a must-see-do attraction for the resort.

The resort has a great layout and you never feel crowded or pressed for time to catch one of the attractions. The grounds are well-kept, offer a huge variety of tropical plants, birds & butterflies. The included laundry service was much appreciated after 10-days of diving on the FeBrina. We enjoyed talking with everyone on the staff, all of whom were there to make sure you had the best possible time.

Food selection was good, as I must avoid wheat and there was never a shortage of local greens, tubers (potatoes/taro/yams) and an array of protein (fish, chicken, beef) to choose from every nite. I could hardly believe how extensive the lunch menu was for the size of the resort. Yes, it could be "spicy-er", but, they do have Tabasco! Our vegetarian companion was well served also.

In short, if you have a 'bucket list' of something to do, diving PNG needs to include Walindi, Gary & the FeBrina.

Room Tip: Bungalow's are worth the extra expense and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Extremejor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We are just home from our holiday at the beautiful Walindi Plantation Resort and we had
a wonderful time.
The staff at Walindi was so friendly and obliging. We were always greeted with a smile and nothing was ever too much trouble. Our bungalow was very clean and comfortable, set amongst picturesque tropical gardens. The meals were fresh and delicious and often included some local speciality. An added bonus was the free daily laundry service.
The diving at Walindi was just amazing! Gary Kulisek and the dive crew were so professional. Their incredible knowledge and helpfulness made this diving experience very special for us, always feeling completely at ease and very reassured by their expertise. Every dive was an exciting new adventure and after 10 days, we had really just scratched the surface of what was on offer here.
We also took a day off diving to get a taste of the surrounding villages and countryside. Walindi staff, Joseph and Francis, took us on a tour around Kimbe town, the Hot River and then to visit the WW11 plane wrecks in the jungle…. a very worthwhile and comprehensive tour which made us appreciate the significance of this area even more. It was great to have the option of including some land adventures, with these very knowledgeable gentlemen, along with our diving adventures!

All in all we were expecting to have a great holiday but I must say, our stay at Walindi well and truly exceeded our expectations. Looking forward to our next visit!! Thanks guys!
John & Barb

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John and Barb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Short: We loved it – especially Captain Gary Kulisek and his crew – cultured excellence and top service! Only minor minus: The food could be spiced up for our taste.

Somewhat longer: We, a family with two kids aged 12 and 14, wanted to visit PNG for diving after we read about the treasures of Kimbe Bay in magazines. Travel went smooth from Singapore and we arrived late afternoon in Walindi. After checking in to our very nice, clean and extremely well maintained bungalows, our dive gear was picked up by the fantastic dive crew. Shortly thereafter, we meet a man we will never forget; Captain Gary Kulisek, the dive manager approached us to plan our dives and the pre-booked advanced OW course. We soon learned that Capt. Gary is one of the jewels of Kimbe Bay and enjoyed every minute in his company – over the water discussing absolutely everything and in particular, during our course as a perfect instructor. Capt. Gary shared his experience with us and we all (also the kids) improved our diving skills significantly. It is the small things as well as big things you learn from Capt. Gary – buoyancy, trim and kick to extend our dives and increase safety as well as wreck diving and mixed gasses. Gary mastered to teach all aspects of the diving as an intimate mix of theory and practise (wreck dive, deep dive, navigation etc.) and kept us all motivated to learn throughout our stay.
We were a bit unlucky with the dive conditions, as the rainy season had decided to extend itself and it poured down most days. Despite the relatively poor diving conditions (which in Kimbe mean far better than we have experienced before), we enjoyed all dives with the fantastic dive guides. They showed us the pygmy seahorse, tiny shrimps and lots of other stuff from small to really big!
Good boats, excellent dive operation, flexibility in planning, individual needs, fantastic company: what more do you need? Food of course! The food was OK, but more spices to jazz up the stews and fresh bread for breakfast would have made a big difference.
Our land tour was also great and we enjoyed a day with Joseph showing us the surroundings. Especially the swim in warm (36 deg C) river was a hit.
All staff is very kind and we would recommend the excellent dive operation and resort to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Four_Vikings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Having just finished a crash course in diving at home I knew just enough to be dangerous (to myself & others).

Thanks to the extraordinary level of service, support and expertise of the Walindi Dive Course Manager, Captain Gary Kulisek, and his guides - I am now not only totally prepared and at ease in the water , I am a reborn Diver!
(And I walk away with the confidence, respect & certifications if Advanced Open Water, Wreck Diver & Nitrox :-) )

I highly recommend the Dive courses offered at this resort as not many instructors come more qualified & experienced than Gary Kulisek. I trust him and his team with my life.

Thank you Everyone!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Enmarie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kimbe
167.9 mi away
Rabaul Hotel
Rabaul Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rabaul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
168.2 mi away
Gazelle International Hotel
Gazelle International Hotel
#5 of 7 in New Britain Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seeadler Bay Hotel
Seeadler Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lorengau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
171.3 mi away
Rapopo Plantation Resort
168.6 mi away
Kokopo Beach Bungalow Resort
Kokopo Beach Bungalow Resort
#3 of 7 in New Britain Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Liamo Reef Resort
Liamo Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in Kimbe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walindi Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walindi Plantation Resort

Property: Walindi Plantation Resort
Address: Talasea Highway, Kimbe, New Britain Island, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Location: Papua New Guinea > Islands Region > New Britain Island > Kimbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kimbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Walindi Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walindi Plantation Resort, established in 1983, is an intimate dive resort situated on the shores of Kimbe Bay on the island of New Britain, Papua New Guinea. Celebrating over 30 years of operation, the resort is world famous for its quality of diving, international award-winning photography and warm hospitality. The resort's guest book reads like a Who's Who in the world of Sport Diving and Underwater Photography and the resort has been voted to have the "best diving from a resort anywhere in the world" by reader surveys. Walindi Resort offers 12 traditional style, self-contained bungalows spread along the beachfront and surrounded by rainforest gardens along with 8 Plantation House rooms. Bungalow facilities include en-suite bathrooms, ceiling fans, large windows to catch the tropical breezes, kitchenette with tea and coffee making facilities, and private verandas overlooking the beach and gardens. The central resort area is the social hub of Walindi and includes the tropical and airy reception and dining room, lounge and bar area, swimming pool, sundeck, boutique and a comprehensive library with computers for guest internet connection. Wireless internet is available in the main resort area. Catering to a small number of guests at the resort means you receive undivided attention, yet the freedom to feel every dive has been made for you alone. Good company, great food, friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere provide a perfect backdrop while you enjoy the delights of Kimbe Bay diving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Walindi Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walindi Plantation Hotel Kimbe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing