We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Diving and Service at Walindi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Walindi Plantation Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kimbe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Last month my husband and I spent 3 nights at Walindi Plantation resort. What can I say? It was a fabulous experience. The diving was wonderful but given that there's good diving all over PNG. that's not what made this place a stand out. The rooms are lovely, the setting is lush and beautiful, the food is super yummy (an impressive feat in PNG where certain ingredients can be very elusive) and the staff are amazing. We received excellent dive briefings from the friendly and enthusiastic Dan and Kat. We were guided on our dives by Oscar, Martin and Peter - who seem to possess super human vision (easily finding pigmy sea horses and mandarin fish!) and took wonderful care of all their charges and our gear. Our reservation was handled by Emma, who is very professional, friendly and flexible, and the other staff whose names I do not know certainly knew ours and looked after us beautifully.
It was a pleasure to stay at such a well run place, a pleasure to dive in the incomparable Kimbe bay with skilled dive guides and a pleasure to kick back with a beer and enjoy the beautiful scenery in the evenings. I love too, that this place is more than just a resort, these guys put a lot of work into reef conservation and research and are very supportive of PNG's volunteer community. Thanks guys for an amazing stay, I can't wait to come back :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the plantation house and were very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slcassidyKokopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 200 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I expected a much less comfortable resort, but the Walindi was an oasis of comfort, good food, great staff, and world class diving! Upon arriving at the crappy, tiny, dirty, airport at Hoskins we had psyched ourselves into accepting another difficult trip in a developing country, but an hour later we were in a lovely cabana decorated with fresh flowers getting ready for a very tasty meal! The cabins do not have air conditioning but the fans and tropical breeze were enough for us. Only the fussiest traveler who has never done any adventure traveling could find any reason to complain...like the lady at breakfast one morning who complained that they didn't have soy milk, sheesh! There is a small quiet bar and a library area to hang out with folks, and a shared computer to check emails if needed. Other also have a wifi network so you can use Internet capable phones for email etc. Okay, now the reason that we went, to DIVE! In a quick survey of 7 divers who have extensive international dive experiences we all agreed that none of us have ever seen healthier reefs, corals, and sponges. Fantastic! Seahorses, two spot gobi's, grey and Black tip sharks, Clown fish, in pristine environs. The dive team goes out of the way to take you to the BEST dive sites regardless of time or expense for themselves. We also did a nice village tour and a cool firefly night tour. PNG is remote and expensive but the money we spent at The Walindi was a great deal. A+

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeanMarmion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

If you are seeking a world class diving experience like no other, than Walindi it is!
Nestled in the dense green countryside of west New Britain Island, we can't speak highly enough of our experience at Walindi, both resort and diving. We were treated to beautiful meals, extremely friendly and helpful staff, and a very comfortable bungalow with everything we needed to relax and unwind after our morning dives. We particularly enjoyed kicking back on our sea side balcony in the afternoons, with cool drinks in hand.

The protected Walindi Bay meant that the boat trips out to the dive sites were a breeze. With perfect weather and visibility we were excited to see many sharks, turtles, huge schools of fish, coral fans, star fish and many, many amazing underwater delights during our time at Walindi. Following two morning dives we would break for lunch at Restorf Island - the ultimate, idyllic lunch spot with time enough for a snorkle in the surrounding crystal clear waters.
Other highlights included an evening drive to discover the fire flys - magical!! We also ventured out to visit the nearby feedlot and abbatoir which as cattle producers, we found very interesting. Following this, a bathe in the nearby hot river was a very calming and relaxing way to wile away the afternoon.
We also loved sundowners and meeting some of the local characters at the Walindi Bar.
Thank you very much to the Benjamin family and the entire Walindi team for a wonderful experience! We'll be back! Fred & Sarah

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We were recently in Walindi after travelling through New Ireland and Rabaul/kokopo, which we also loved, but Walindi is the star! Lovely bungalows, terrific staff and good food and did I mention the bar! Hope they have managed to replace all the gin we drank. Spectactular diving with great boat /dive crews. We will be back!

Room Tip: Number 11 beach bugalow is close enough to the centre but very private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becrobskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I went with a group of 22 divers from Sunreef, Mooloolaba, Queensland from 8-16 July 12. My wife is a non-diver and I have only been diving for 14 months, aged 65. The accommodation is very comfortable and fits the native thatch style. Food and bar facilities excellent with quality buffets. This includes for lunch on the dive boat.

Boat crew carries, looks after, washes and dries everything so just check your gear in the morning, get on the boat, dive and step off at the end of the day. Dive sites ate 30 to 60 minutes away and very diversified. Vis was astounding , water temp 29 degrees and Lille if any current. The stop off at a small island for lunch and a swim is magnificent. Diving is in the range 10 to 40 meters with snorkeling available on many sites for non-divers. Lots to see and photograph. Make sure your gear has been serviced and take spare parts.

8.5 hours a day on a small boat ( cover from the sun) was a little too much for my wife after a few days so we took a day off diving and spent a good day touring. The hot river and oil palm plantations is worth visiting however the towns and villages should be visited with personal security caution. By the end of the week my wife was actively snorkeling. I did 3 dives on all but the first day and totaled 14 dives. Most dives were 50 to 60 minutes duration, getting on the boat with not much left in the tank- last minutes spent within site of the moored boat, shallower waterand safe.

Don't hesitate - just do it and you'll love it.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank Hedonist_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We went on an organised dive trip with Sunreef Australia. We found the accomodation was very good in individual huts with power, fans and toilet facilities. The huts are secure, clean and well maintained. We found the tap water was ok to drink which is abnormal for most of these style resorts. The meals were great and well organised and very well done. They have internet which is very slow, a great bar facility. They can organise day trips if you wish to hot springs, volcano etc.

the scuba diving is very well orgainsed and we found it probably level with the best we have experienced in the world. The reefs are some of the best we have dived to date ( and we have a fair bit of diving experience in the Asia/Pacific area. We would go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Loved staying here. Walindi is about an hour's drive from the airport - the roads are good by PNG standards. The Plantation House rooms were comfortable. Yummy food and dietary requests catered for. The staff are friendly and helpful and have obviously made the effort to learn guests' names. All very organised. Free internet (slow, but that's rural PNG for you, I was amazed it was free) and free laundry, baskets emptied in the morning and laundry returned in the afternoon.
A nice collection of well-behaved, pet dogs and cats (friendly but non-intrusive if you don't like animals) apart from Mama Cat, Marmalade, a fat ginger who presides over everyone on her deck chair by the pool - approach with caution.
Diving outstanding - the superlatives escape me.
A wonderful holiday and awesome break from the grind that is life in Moresby. Relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank centralpinotlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kimbe
167.9 mi away
Rabaul Hotel
Rabaul Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rabaul
56 reviews
168.2 mi away
Gazelle International Hotel
Gazelle International Hotel
#5 of 7 in New Britain Island
49 reviews
171.3 mi away
Rapopo Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
168.6 mi away
Kokopo Beach Bungalow Resort
Kokopo Beach Bungalow Resort
#3 of 7 in New Britain Island
103 reviews
0 mi away
Liamo Reef Resort
Liamo Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in Kimbe
25 reviews
156.9 mi away
Kabaira Beach Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walindi Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walindi Plantation Resort

Address: Talasea Highway, Kimbe, New Britain Island, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Location: Papua New Guinea > Islands Region > New Britain Island > Kimbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kimbe
Price Range: $231 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Walindi Plantation Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walindi Plantation Resort, established in 1983, is an intimate dive resort situated on the shores of Kimbe Bay on the island of New Britain, Papua New Guinea. Celebrating over 30 years of operation, the resort is world famous for its quality of diving, international award-winning photography and warm hospitality. The resort's guest book reads like a Who's Who in the world of Sport Diving and Underwater Photography and the resort has been voted to have the "best diving from a resort anywhere in the world" by reader surveys. Walindi Resort offers 12 traditional style, self-contained bungalows spread along the beachfront and surrounded by rainforest gardens along with 8 Plantation House rooms. Bungalow facilities include en-suite bathrooms, ceiling fans, large windows to catch the tropical breezes, kitchenette with tea and coffee making facilities, and private verandas overlooking the beach and gardens. The central resort area is the social hub of Walindi and includes the tropical and airy reception and dining room, lounge and bar area, swimming pool, sundeck, boutique and a comprehensive library with computers for guest internet connection. Wireless internet is available in the main resort area. Catering to a small number of guests at the resort means you receive undivided attention, yet the freedom to feel every dive has been made for you alone. Good company, great food, friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere provide a perfect backdrop while you enjoy the delights of Kimbe Bay diving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Walindi Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walindi Plantation Hotel Kimbe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing