We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eccentric Graeme”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springfontein
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Springfontein Guesthouse
Reviewed October 8, 2012

In the middle of the Free State you get this guest house owned by a Scotsman .
The accommodation was fitting for a 4 star and the cottaged well placed away from the main house,
Meals were like all meals in that area , Lamb for supper and sloppy eggs for breakfast , but all enjoyable, Graeme is a blast and well worth the stop, we'll do it again

Room Tip: Ask for the cottages near the Garden
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pietuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Springfontein Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 45 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

It is a couple of years since we stayed with Graeme but we enjoyed his company very much. (The trip was before August 2011 but that date is the oldest I could choose) He is a good raconteur and chatted to us at dinner, good wine in a good wine glass in hand! One thing in particular I remember about the accommodation was the quality of the bed linen; it was exceptional for a B&B. We also liked the idea of separate cottages in the garden and that our dog was very welcome. The food was adequate if not gourmet but the elegance of the diningroom helped make the mealtimes memorable. While in the area a trip to the War graves and the unbaptised children's cemetry is well worth while.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeAndDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We recently stayed at Springfontien guest house on our way to Cape Town which is perfectly situated to break the drive. Graham was a wonderful host and even spent time with us taking us to the Anglo Boer war grave sites which was fascinating. We then were treated to a lovely home cooked meal (Karoo lamb) and then a rest sleep under lambs wool duvets. We let after a great English breakfast well rested .

Room Tip: next to the pool is best
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We thoruoghly enjoyed our stay at Springfontein House. The food was delicious and our host great fun and very entertaining. Part of the joy of B and B accommodation is that every one is different and all the owners are different too. Those who were scathing about this Guest House should bear this in mind.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EveM704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We only stayed one night but cant stop boasting to all about our stay.
Graeme (the owner) was on hand to show us our exterior room-I should say suite of rooms!!Pre-dinner drinks with our host in the charming conservatory was like stepping back in time to a forgotten era of class and charm.
Dinner itself was a gastronomic delight and the wine choice was excellent. Graeme was on hand to make sure we were enjoying our repast and to converse.
One is made to feel like an honoured guest in a classic setting. Beautiful furniture and exquisite art adorn the rooms and quality all but shouts from every nook and cranny.
the breakfast was again excellent and when we were leaving we found that the gardener had washed our car!! That's really service above and beyond.
Our only regret is that it was only one night.
Well worth the the visit for any discerning traveller wishing to experience luxury and manners from a bygone(regrettably)age. Thankyou Graeme.-Best stay of the holiday.

Room Tip: The exterior suite of rooms we stayed in was above and beyond expectations.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bridie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This has to be the best stopover when driving from Joburg to Cape Town: a charming guest house run by an interesting, if not slightly eccentric Scot. The dinner was amazing and the breakfast did not disappoint either.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nakkiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We had a very good night's sleep. The food at dinner was ok - the snoek pate starter had not yet fully defrosted and the ice cream was served with a sliver of 'death by chocolate' which had in fact died a long time before. Breakfast was not bad. The bathroom was not entirely clean and the shower was very poor - mildewed with fluctuating pressure and temperature. There was a used bar of soap in the shower. The decor is slightly dodgy and the owner rather edgy (very strong opinions on everything and everyone), but the staff were totally charming.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evershot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Springfontein Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfontein Guesthouse

Address: 32 Van Riebeeck Street, Springfontein 9917, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Springfontein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Springfontein
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfontein Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest House with 5 en-suite bedrooms. Old world charm with interesting art on the walls. Three course dinner served by request and fully licenced. Pet friendly. Graded 3 star by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing