We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay but would return for longer”
Review of Burnt House Farm

Burnt House Farm
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Burnt House Farm
Ranked #1 of 2 Mark B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed for one night to visit Cheddar Gorge en route to Cornwall, with my daughter and her children. We were made to feel very welcome had our own large room with our own front door. The facilities were clean and comfortable and breakfast was very good, freshly cooked, plenty of it and the children were asked what they would like for breakfast. I would definitely stay again if in the area. When my granddaughter asked if she could go for a swim first thing in the morning we were told the pool was only usually open in the afternoon because of the heating. However they volunteered to open the pool if she wished to swim. Thank you

Room Tip: We stayed in a room for 5 which had its own front door self contained and slept 2 adults 3 children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 67 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed with the kids last night after visiting cheddar gorge. Arriving to use the pool was fab, gardens gorge, rooms were comfy and beds more so. Good breakfast made to order too! Will use this as a stop off point in future when on way to Cornwall as just 5 mins off the m5 and good for the kids with nearby burnham on sea for a mini beach break.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank EmmaManchester_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The room we had was slightly dated and the furniture was slightly damaged.
Location good for exploring Somerset and close to a nice cider farm!
The weather was unfortunately not good enough to use the pool.
We had a super king size bed and slept very well.
Small en-suite.
Lovely breakfast.
Slightly overpriced for what it is (in my opinion)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MWfamily_PSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here for an overnight stop, as soon as we turned up we had a warm welcome and was made to feel at home straight away.
We had two 10 year old girls who had plenty to do with swimming, trapolining, swing ball.
Breakfast was great with lots of selection, rooms were clean and tidy.
Your doing a great job Carman and Steve and we will would love another stay.
5* service, many thanks Steve Kerry and girls.

Room Tip: Great stopover for Cheddar Gorge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights with our teenage boys during the recent July hot spell. We were in the ground floor family annexe room at the front, which is an interconnecting double and twin. The room was a little dated and tired and the bathroom very small, but for a short stay it wasn't an issue. Carmen and Steve are friendly and caring hosts who are keen to make sure their customers are happy. The pool is open from 4-6 pm each day but with the weather being so hot, they were flexible in letting us stay later and offered us extra towels. Breakfast was of a high standard and plenty of it. Our boys wouldn't get up for breakfast the first day so Carmen made a sausage sandwich for us to take back to the room with a jug of orange juice.

I disagree with previous reviews saying this B&B isn't family friendly. We were made very welcome and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maroco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights in July 2012 with my 2 sons. Stayed in the family room at the bottom of the garden which was so lovely! Carmen and Steve were lovely hosts and very welcoming with my sons. Owing to the weather being so wet even gave us wellingtons for the day and cleaned my sons coat. Despite the weather they even opened the hot tub for us! Breakfast was lovely and very hearty! Try it our for yourselves! X

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhianj242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We booked two rooms both were spacious and clean. Carmen was very welcoming. Had a last minute request which they were very happy to help with. Breakfast lovely too! Thank you again and will visit again when in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Burnt House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnt House Farm

Address: Burnt House Yarrow Road, Mark TA9 4LR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Mark
Amenities:
Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mark
Price Range: $94 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Burnt House Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burnt house farm is in the Country side But only 5 miles from J22 M5. We have 3 en-suite rooms 1 with a private bathroom and 1 standard room. We also have a newly Converted Large Holiday Cottage which can sleep 5 people. We have a swimming pool which is open between end of May to September(limited open times). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Burnt House Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing