We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tip Top”
Review of Burnt House Farm

Burnt House Farm
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Burnt House Farm
Ranked #1 of 2 Mark B&B and Inns
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tip Top”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I was one of the studying pilot we stayed here for 2 weeks all I can say about this place that is is a perfect place to stay if you like the country side this place is for you the view from your rooms is outstanding and Carmen and Steve me you all very welcome. Dont forget your Fishing Rods perfect little stream in there padocks I caught plenty of fish.... I WILL be recomending it to everyone..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilot_Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    13
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
34
11
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Sounded lovely from the website. Firstly would not take credit card for deposit so had to write and post cheque. On arrival the place smelled of damp dog. Pool and jacuzzi covered up and unavailable. Room comfortable but very small. Shared bathroom with allocated time which we were unaware of. Good breakfast although no time choice. Arrived 5 mind too early for breakfast and were sent away. Would not go back to this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnboy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Lovely setting in the heart of Somerset, Made to feel welcome straight away from the owner who couldn't do enough for us, Breakfast-plenty of choice.
Negatives - Owner's son rude (a cross between Basil Fawlty and Victor Meldrew), room a bit grubby.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D_DIXON1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hayling island
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Our team stayed for one night and we had two rooms - one was the huge upstairs room with lovely views over fields and the garden. Our room was good, the bed was comfortable and the en suite was fine; and internet access with a table was great for updating our website. The other room was the family suite downstairs; one of the rooms was great with a double bed, the other a little small for an adult and the shower was very small for this size of suite.
Breakfast was lovely with plenty of variety.
The location is lovely and everything feels very spacious.
My only criticism would be the owner's concern that we would impact other guests - we were constantly reminded that there were 'pilots studying' - even though we were particularly quiet given the fact that we were tired from travelling.
All in all - we did like this overnight stay - facilities are good and the owners are friendly - once above criticism is noted!

Room Tip: The very large upstairs room has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eandkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoreham by sea
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

For: Excellent breakfast in a lovely setting.

Against: Dated bedroom decor with cramped shower/basin. Short bed.
Lukewarm service manner by the owner who stood on ceremony and appeared more concerned about any misbehaviour of the dog. More money-driven than welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burton027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Huge room overlooking fields not en-suite but exclusive use of bathroom right nextdoor.
which presented no problems. Very welcoming owner and the bonus of a out door pool if the weather is good. Lovley breakfast freashly cooked to order. very good value for money. I will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paperboyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mark
4.9 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
175 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Sundowner Hotel
The Sundowner Hotel
#1 of 1 in Highbridge
23 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
627 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Greenwood
The Greenwood
#2 of 4 in Highbridge
102 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wall Eden Farm
Wall Eden Farm
#1 of 3 in Highbridge
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnt House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnt House Farm

Property: Burnt House Farm
Address: Burnt House Yarrow Road, Mark TA9 4LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Mark
Amenities:
Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Burnt House Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burnt house farm is in the Country side But only 5 miles from J22 M5. We have 3 en-suite rooms 1 with a private bathroom and 1 standard room. We also have a newly Converted Large Holiday Cottage which can sleep 5 people. We have a swimming pool which is open between end of May to September(limited open times). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Burnt House Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing