We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cascada de las Animas
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hosteria Millahue(San Jose de Maipo)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Qamaqi(San Jose de Maipo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spa Pirque(Pirque)
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Hotel(Santiago)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Cornisa(Farellones)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (768)
Filter reviews
768 results
Traveler rating
463
194
58
31
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
463
194
58
31
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite water raftingzip lininghorse riderafting tripsafety proceduresherbs and spicesmountain backdropmain receptiononsite restaurantchillikitchen facilitiesrestaurant staffoutdoor activitieswe loved our staysantiago airportriver raftingnature lovers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 768 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2010

An outstanding and very unique experience. I visit Cascada with my 5 friends, on our trip through South America. This perfect spot in the middle of the Andes made the frame around the most fantastic holiday.
We booked a 3-day horseback riding through the Andes. The trip gave an amazing connecting with the nature and the animals around us, and most of all an indescribable view.
It was the first time on a horse for my friends and me, but the guides paid very good attention to all of us, so the ride became enjoyable and fun.
After the horseback riding did we spent some days at the resort. We did zip lineing, rafting and trekking, and I can recommend it all.
What I liked the most about Cascada was the atmosphere around the place. Most of the staff is a part of the owner’s family, which gave the place a strong personality and a big charm. They have a huge love and respect to the nature, which makes this place so real.

If you are looking for a one-day getaway or weeks of holiday, this is the place to be.
I definitely recommend it.

Best regards - Dinamarca

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NinadeDinamarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

While backpacking through Chile I did not really want to stay long in Santiago. A friend recomended me to visit Cascada in the Andes next to the city. I ended up staying for two weeks ! The staff were incredibly friendly. The cabin was perfectly comfortable, I had enough firewood to last the night, while I read. I spent my days hiking on the hills, rafting, horse ridding and eating the most delicious food at the restaurant. When feeling lazy, I would request to use the sauna and later indulge in a massage that would leave me sleeping well into the next morning. The surroundings were so peacefull, everywhere trees blossoming in the early spring, the fresh breeze and bird singing made me feel that I was in a dream.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhidalgoferrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hostal Cascada de Las Animas, which is located at 3 blocks from the Cascada de las Animas Nature Center. We were attending a friend's wedding in Cajón del Maipo at CasaBosque on Saturday night, so we decided to stay over for the weekend at Hostal Cascada de Las Animas, whih is located in the main street. It is a 2 story house built in rock, surrounded by gardens -quiet enviorment- with a big living room with a chimney -fire was seldom lighted inside, though it was winter-. Our room was the only one in the 2nd floor and we had a medium sized terrace with a nice view of the mountains.

We arrived on Sat Friday July 30th around 11.00 pm. It had been raining and some snow still laid on the floor. We had advised the hour of our arrival but it seems they turned on the heating at last minute. The room was chilling! Eventhough the room did have a heating system, it was too small sized for the room's size. Worse was the fact the bathroom was outside the room, in the hall, with no heating system. Coldest bathroom ever! It was supposed to be our private bathroom but anyone could enter since all bathrooms were located in the halls. I had to continously move my personal bath items from the room to the bathroom and from the bathroom to the room.

The furniture, specially the bed, sheets and pillows looked old and worn out...the window's curtain was so thin all the cold passed through! (The bathroom towels were fine quality though).

After the chilling cold night was over, we went downstairs for breakfast (included), it consisted in natural juice, home made bread, some jam and butter, tea & milk. Afterwards we left to the Nature Center for our free tour to the waterfalls at 12 am. It was a lovely short walking tour with nice sightseeings.

Afterwards we went to have lunch to Trattoria Calypso and when we returned to the Hostal around 4.30 pm, our room was exactly as we had left it: wet towels in the bathroom, wet bathroom floor, no fresh towels, no toilette paper, garbage can full, bed undone, not even a broom had passed by our room (before we left, we left the room's door completely open with the room's key placed in place..impossible to miss!)

When we asked the housekeeper why our room & bathroom had not been cleaned considering we were gone from 12 am to 4.30 pm, she told us room & bathroom cleaning was not included in her chores nor in anyones'.She didn't even offer us to make the room then..so we had to clean our room & bathroom by ourselves! Unbelievable! (considering I asked for quotations in many places in Cajón del Maipo, and Hostal Cascada de las Animas was one of the most expensive ones: 60 dollars / $30,000 Chile pesos per night). By the way, all this made me wonder about the hygiene of the Hostal's rooms and bathrooms.

After this we considered we've had enough with the Hostal Cascada de las Animas and if we had had the possibility to stay the night at some place else we would have, but we had to get dressed for the wedding.

When we spoke to our friends at the wedding in CasaBosque, we found out most of them were staying there for the night. They told us about how warm their rooms were (heating system with remote control), bathrooms were inside the rooms and heated just like in most hotels, breakfast was great (and of course, they didn't have to clean the room & bathroom by themselves!).

In the end, we realized we'd make the wrong hotel choice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia_Andrea_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chilewillie, Public Relations Manager at Cascada de las Animas, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2010

Thank you for your comments and criticism. We are always eager to hear opinions from our guests.

We are saddened that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We always strive to do our best to meet or exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us. By your posting, I understand that you stayed with us because of a wedding you were attending in the area. Cascada de las Animas is an ecotourism resort, and as such, our focus is on outdoor adventure activities and access to nature. For most of our visitors, the primary reason that they choose to visit us is for the opportunity that we provide them to connect with nature. Participating on one of our horseback trips, zip-line adventures, rafting tours, or other adventures; or sampling some of the excellent wholesome and healthy menu choices in our resort restaurant would most likely have given you a more favorable opinion of us.

For guests who wish to stay overnight, or spend several days with us, we offer clean, comfortable and affordable accommodations in cabins, rooms, suites, and in our nearby hostel. Our hostel is currently our most economical alternative for overnight lodging, and is priced for budget conscious travelers. As a hostel, it cannot be fairly compared to the newly built 5 star Hotel Casa Bosque where your friends stayed without also mentioning that a similarly sized room at the Hotel Casa Bosque will cost a guest nearly three times as much as at our hostel.

As is noted on our website, our hostel is a converted residence that was constructed in the 1930’s; using construction techniques and materials common to that era. It is quaint and beautiful, with many gardens and large common areas; however it is can be difficult to heat to everyone´s satisfaction in mid-winter - especially with the record breaking low temperatures we have been experiencing recently in our mountains! We are sorry that you found it to be too cold for your liking.

It was also common practice with family homes designed at that time to have bathrooms that were hallway accessible. Understanding our guests need for bathroom privacy, each bathroom is assigned to a specific room and can be key locked at any time (using your room key). The bathroom and former master bedroom that you occupied take up the entire top floor and are not adjacent to any other guest (who would need to climb a flight of stairs to reach your bathroom). In your case, you had the most private section of the hostel.

To keep hostel room rates low and affordable for budget travelers, some services are not included – such as daily room cleaning. Each room is thoroughly cleaned by our staff after a guest departs and before a new guest arrives. If a guest is staying multiple nights and would like to have their room re-cleaned during their stay, there is a nominal extra fee for this service. Be assured that common areas such as the dining and living quarters are cleaned regularly and diligently, and to our credit, we have received dozens of written and hundreds of verbal comments praising their stay with us.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the continental breakfast that we included with your room and the free waterfall trek within our 10,000 acre nature sanctuary. This is a service that cannot be found at the Hotel Casa Bosque or any other location in the Maipo Canyon at any price.
We hope that you might visit us again in the future when it is not so cold, and stay with us in one of our cabins or suites which might have better suited your tastes.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

We were due to arrive at Cascada de las Animas on the 27th February but obviously the earthquake put a halt to that! We got as far as Brazil that morning and after many, many further planes, buses and taxis we eventually arrived on the 8th March! I have to comment on the fact that I emailed Cascada on numerous occasions to highlight the fact that we were obviously delayed and not only was their response time very slow but I felt the replies to the emails were in a tone of "all is ok here and visitors are arriving as normal, so what's your excuse!" - we felt bad enough that our travel plans had been turned upside down and did not need that feeling from Cascada.

However, arrive we did, to find a cheery face on the steps of reception and check in was quick and smooth (bearing in mind you pay up front at this point). Then we were kindly given a truck ride down to our cabin and I have to say that is when all the friendliness and cheeriness ended! We were never spoken to again by anyone who worked at Cascada (excluding the restaurant staff). When we entered the reception area to view books or the internet there was never any communication or chatter. We were really disappointed with this. In fact, on enquiring if they could call us a taxi to take us to a nearby town we were told they wouldnt. They said just go stand on the road and catch a bus or collectivo - customer service was non-existent. But all said and done if this is not important to you then you will love these quirky, unique cabins and their beautiful surroundings.

We were in a 2 bed cabin (it was number 2 cabin and can't remember its name). It was very qaint but as others have said lacking in kitchen utilities. Outside there are tables and brick bbq's but we did not attempt to cook outside. Did see other visitors lighting their bbq's and they looked good! Would also say that the shower facilities were quite poor with the water either being stone cold or boiling hot but after messing around for 10mins it generally settled down.

The restaurant food is very, very good and on our first night we were delighted with every aspect of the service. However, nights 2,3 and 4 we were not met with such good service. Just felt a bit of a nuisance at times. The restaurant closes around 8pm therefore i guess they wanted folks out. We felt it should have been opened later than that. Also it is very dark when walking back to your cabin so you should pack a torch.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the scenery is just out of this world. The walks and treks were fantastic and something that we will always remember.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scharminkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

We enjoyed a 2 night stay in one of the cabins furthest from the main resort. The cabana was large enough with a tiny and poorly equipped kitchen . The bathroom was also a little basic with leaky taps and worn fittings- the shower head fell down and had to be used as a hand shower.
The location of the cabana was very peaceful except for late night football games which went on amongst the locals.
The activities were well organised and we enjoyed a horse ride in the beautiful mountains . As non riders we felt safe with the guide and trusted the horses.
The white water rafting was great fun and well conducted with a lot of attention paid to safety. A relief as a first timer and grade 4 river conditions.
We ate in the restaurant on 3 occasions and enjoyed all the food. One of us had prawns and experienced a tummy upset the next day (but it could have been a coincidence)
The location is beautiful and the operation well run though not the cheapest of stays.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews