We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs improvement, expensive for what it is”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cascada de las Animas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Alfonso
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Needs improvement, expensive for what it is”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

1. Freedom: when you check-in they obligate you to wear a plastic bracelet to indicate that you are staying at the place. You have to wear it day and night, it is very uncomfortable. I have visited many places around the world and this is the first time that a hotel makes me wear a bracelet. It makes me feel that I have lost my freedom. Shame on you Casacada de las Animas.
2. Independence: as a previous reviewer said, you are not allowed to hike by your own. The trails and bridge are controlled and you are obligated to go with a guide person. Shame on you.
3. Restaurant service: we were told that they have just 1 (one) cook and a few waiters. My daughter ordered a "tecito caliente" (hot tea) and they took 1 HOUR and a HALF! to bring it. We were a big group, the meals were served first to half of the people on the table. The rest of the plates were served when the first were finishing their meals. Shame on you.
4. Room Cleanliness: average
5. Comfort: we stayed at a cabin that had just 1 log heater in the central room. In order to stay warm you need to feed the heater constantly with logs. So at night when everybody is sleeping, the heater is off and you get very cold (we stayed there in July, Winter). To get a decent shower water temperature, you have to continuously play with the hot handle and the cold handle, very annoying.
6. Setting: its the Andes Mountains, very beautiful.
7. Price: super expensive for what you get. You pay for a 5 stars hotel and get a decent "rustic" cabin in the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VickysTrips2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    166
    52
    26
    21
See reviews for
145
281
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

If you are looking for some independent camping and hiking (i.e., unguided), do not come here. While the facilities are extensive and quite good, including the camping, the surrounding terrain and trails are privately owned and access is controlled by the management. To access the trail network you must cross a bridge with a locked gate on one end (i.e., one must have a key). They do not allow independent hiking, and offer only guided hiking and horseback tours which comes at the usual high costs. On that note, the place is pricey in general, so even if coming to camp, bring your wallet and lots of money. If you are looking for a higher-end guided outdoor experience, this is your place. Independent experienced outdoor recreationalist should go elsewhere.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadaRobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Spent an amazing weekend at Cascada de las Animas in the Cajon del Maipo just 60 km southeast of Santiago - it was like another world! We had a little dome-structured cabin (I called it the Hobbit Hut) right on the bank of the rushing Rio Maipo, with hiking, horseback riding, rafting and ziplining right there.

Our little domed cabin (there are 6 Borde Rio cabins about 3 months old, they feel very private) by the river was perfect, cozy with thoughtful decorative touches like mosaics, wood beams and netting over the bed. We’re not wood stove experts (the only heat source) so it got cold that first night. By the second night we'd gotten the hang of the stove and we stayed warm for most of the night. The comfy bed with plenty of blankets helped. We loved sitting on the little terrace reading and listening to the river rush by, or climbing the boulders down to the river’s edge and watching the kayakers and rafts full of cheering, wet-suited paddlers rush by. The mountain and river view just outside our door was peaceful and perfect.

We took a hair-raising horse trail up the edge of a mountain. The edge of the mountain wasn't as scary as my horse, though. The friendly old guy who saddled us up pointed at my horse, laughed and said he was "flojo" -- lazy. What that means is he hated to work too hard, and so when we'd get to a really rocky patch he'd slow way down and his footing would get very jarring, which made it look like we were about to pitch off the side of the mountain. In most places on the way up the edge was a sheer drop about a foot away from the horse's hooves. The view from the top was spectacular, though.

We also went on the highest zipline course I've ever seen (complete with tree platforms swaying in the wind). Our guide said that, on the longest line, we'd hit about 50 kph, it was a blast. On a guided hike (included with our lodging) we visited the Cascada de las Animas, a small waterfall tumbling into a little pool; you can even sip the potable water at a faucet piped directly from the falls.

The single restaurant has a rustic, treehouse feel and the food is better than it needs to be – after all, they’re the only game on property. We ate two meals a day there and didn’t get bored. It all seems freshly prepared, with a serviceable wine and coffee selection. The resident cats and dogs sometimes wander through and greet you, and they’re well-groomed and friendly. We parked by the wood stove one evening and had a bottle of wine andnice conversation with Linda, a smoky gray cat who loves to be scratched between the ears.

Day guests can use the picnic tables and terra cotta grills on the tree-shaded grounds on the river bank. A swinging foot bridge crosses the river to a small zoo (you can hear the pumas scream sometimes) that leads to the waterfall hike and horseback rides.

To get there, we took the metro south to the end of the line at Puento Alto, about a 45-minute ride, then outside the station hopped in a shared taxi called a colectivo -- don't be shy, a uniformed guide there will ask where you're going (especially if you're a cluless-looking tourist with luggage) and direct you to the correct car. They stuff four people and their luggage into a tiny car that takes one route and, as the driver winds up the cayon, he drops people off and picks them up as they wave him down. We basically paid $4 for an hour-long taxi ride! (The alternative was to have the hotel's van pick us up for $80/each -- hardly as interesting or cheap). The ride on the way back was iffy because we had to stand on the side of a mountain road and wait for a colectivo or bus to drive by on a Sunday evening, which we were warned could take a while, but we actually only waited about 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Borde Rio cabins are the newest lodging, provide the most privacy and are the best bargain - breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryanr98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
264 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We so enjoyed our "room" in the Borde Rio area -- it was like a self-standing yurt, but was covered with wood. Very cozy. Better than we expected! This is a lovely place -- very scenic and restful. We also enjoyed the hike to the waterfalls (short, but a bit of a climb). Also, the dinner was delicious. We especially liked the salmon with the capers. Highly recommended. We wanted to stay a second night, but they were booked. Que lastima!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank swannygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Can't say enough about this incredible place! We had great massages with Misi and. Cecilia . Then we had two fantastic yoga classes with Jaime. He was the greatest teacher.. Then we went rafting with the great Simon! He knows his river and loves to play! Our beautiful hostess, Soco, was always available to help us out. We planned to stay for one night and stayed for three!

Room Tip: We had #9 and cooked and barbecued every night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtnestors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

First of all, need to point out that Cascada de Las Animas offers 3 types of accomodation, with huge difference among them; HOSTAL, CABINS & the newly built LODGE.

After staying in Aug-2010 at the HOSTAL Cascada de las Animas to attend a friend's wedding in the area, my husband and I decided never again to stay overnight at anything that was run by Cascada (outdoor activities in their nature center though, are worth a full day visit).

However, by Jan-2014 we had to attend a friend's wedding at Cascada and decided to stay for the weekend at the Lodge. I must say the Lodge surprised me. Each room creates an atmosphere of its own, with well taken care of details using elements from the surroundings (wood, stone, earth). There's a more than fair size swimming pool. Breakfast, continental style is served in a nice small terrace shaded by some trees (Home made jams and range free eggs for breakfast -instead of supermarket ones- would have been perfect!). The Lodge staff was very nice & warm at all times. One of the things I liked the most, is that at night time you hear but the crickets singing, perfect for restful sleep.

What I think needs to improve: Once we were dressed and ready to leave for the wedding, we waited at the Lodge's lobby for almost 20 min for the Cascada van that was supposed to pick us up -according to a Cascada employee- to continue to the wedding (which was taking place at Cascada restaurant). But the van never showed up. We didn't mind and decided to walk the almost 100 mts of gravel road (not easy in high heels). Afterwards we were told by another employee that this miscoordination was due the Lodge and Cascada have completely separate administrations.

In summary, Cascada LODGE is an accomodation that allows you to be close to nature, with no luxury yet comfortable enough. Those 3 days we stayed there, allowed us to really REST. Perfect for a weekend getaway with your couple.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia_Andrea_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We spent one night in one of the cabañas. Not the cheapest option at around 70.000 pesos, but a great place to be: relaxed, in the middle of the woods, with a free swimming pool, great private barbecue area and free tours to the cascadas. All in all, it is worth the price. Small shops at walking distance from the park can provide you with supplies. The nearest supermarket is in San Jose del Maipo. Cascada de las Animas is a great place to escape the heat of Santiago in summer.

Room Tip: The cabañas are great: really close to the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Alfonso
9.6 mi away
Hotel Qamaqi
Hotel Qamaqi
#1 of 2 in San Jose de Maipo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.9 mi away
Haiku Cabanas Panoramicas
Haiku Cabanas Panoramicas
#3 of 19 in San Jose de Maipo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hostal Chikiyan
Hostal Chikiyan
#1 of 19 in San Jose de Maipo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Altiplanico Cajon del Maipo
Hotel Altiplanico Cajon del Maip...
#1 of 7 in San Jose de Maipo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lodge Andino El Ingenio
Lodge Andino El Ingenio
#4 of 19 in San Jose de Maipo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
11.2 mi away
Lacasadecarlitos
Lacasadecarlitos
#2 of 7 in San Jose de Maipo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascada de las Animas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascada de las Animas

Property: Cascada de las Animas
Address: Camino al Volcan, 31087 | Casilla 57, San Alfonso 9460384, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > San Alfonso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Alfonso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cascada de las Animas 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cascada de las Animas is a full service eco-tourism resort located in a natural paradise of over 3700 hectares of rugged mountains and valleys, rivers, springs and waterfalls. Only 60 kilometers from Santiago Chile, you will find a wide assortment of delightful cabins, rooms, hostel accommodations, a full service restaurant, swimming pool and more, all located in a park-like setting. Guided horseback riding, whitewater rafting, trekking, wine tasting excursions and other activities are available year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cascada de las Animas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascada De Las Animas Hotel San Alfonso
Cascada De Las Animas Chile/San Alfonso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing