We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cascada de las Animas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cascada de las Animas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Alfonso
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“GREAT!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

For some reason a review of this place is only listed on hotels while this location/venue offers so much more. My party and I were staying in Santiago and booked a rafting/canopy combination adventure. All arrangements to include deposits were made via email. The location is about a 1 hr drive from downtown Santiago, but once you get to Cascada, the fun begins. All I can say is DO IT!; the lunch served as part of the package is enough to feed an army, and it is served at a lovely restaurant overlooking the river. Very well done, safe and open to various skill levels. A great way to experience the outdoors, raft and escape the hustle of the bustle of the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cruisinbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    163
    50
    23
    21
See reviews for
137
273
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Beautiful sanctuary, we stayed there for one night at the hostel. Beautiful house with big rooms with private bathroom.
Included was a complimentary pisco sour and a trekking to see the waterfall, and we added up the rafting experience, really fun in a unique area with very nice guides.
We also tried to reach the thermal waters by the volcano, but the police had to stop us due to strong summer rainfalls.
The staff at the welcome center and restaurant was just ok, not eager to help nor effective as one would expect, but the rest of the activity "guides" were much better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlyingRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

My wife and mother took a day trip to Cascada and we couldn't say enough about our experience. We got picked up promptly in Santiago and were driven to Cascada. Once there, we were helped to get situated and comfortable with the grounds. We were given a quick history of the place and how it came to existence. We then proceeded to the 3 hour horse back riding tour of the Andes. This was our trip highlight. Although some people in our party were scared of riding horses since they did not know what they were doing, the guide was very patient and ended up tying the horse to his. The views were increadible and beautiful. The only I would advise is that if you have a fear of heights, cliffs and/or horses- do NOT go on the horse back riding tour.

After the tour we ate lunch at their restuarant which was unique in how it was situated and built. We then spend some time at their pool which although was cold, it was beautifully kept and one a kind.

My wife and I then went on the waterfall (cascada) walking tour. Unfortunately the winter before did not provide much snow so there was not much of waterfall to be seen. The hike was fun (although hot) and rigorous at times but again the guide was patient and understanding the whole way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aho682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at the Cascada de Las Animas in late 2009 and had a very interesting stay, we walked to the waterfall, had lunch and an evening meal in the very unusual restaurant right by the mighty Maipo River, very good food an interesting experience. We chose to do a horse ride up into the Andes, just a couple of hours, how exillerating do you want life to get? Treking along a trail just 60 cm wide with near vertical drops to the Rio Maipo with just very large thorny cactus to break your fall if unlucky, poor horse with me on it, it had to stop fairly frequently to get it's breath back, but what an experience and really good value. We were quite surprised to see Condors, we thought they were mythical, but no we saw six on one day, they are just so huge, really, no joke I have seen nothing bigger flying you start off seeing small specks circling in the sky and then they fold in their wings and drop like a stone and then spread their wings again and just fly!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I booked a stay in the cabins this past July for a group of volunteers who were working in Santiago. It was a great way to get out of the city and relax after a week of very hard work. While my group enjoyed the experience, the headaches I had to deal with from the staff have were more than enough for me to advise the volunteer organization to absolutely never recommend this place to groups again. However, I have since heard that another group went after ours and had similar unauthorized charges appear.

From the start when I was making all the arrangements, I was told that not everything would be available, as it was the winter. Since some of the activities are packaged together (wine tour, zip-lining, etc.) I inquired as to whether we would be advised of the conditions in advance and if we would still be charged the full price if we were unable to take part in all the activities for which we had signed up. Unfortunately that seemed to set off the woman with whom I was corresponding and all communication henceforth was extremely unpleasant, to say the least.

After that point I noticed that the prices on our invoice had mysteriously increased. The transportation that was supposed to be included in the wine tour was now extra and I was being charged an exorbitant price. At first I offered apologies, thinking that there had been a misunderstanding when making the arrangements, as I do not speak much Spanish. I was very curtly told, no, the transportation was not included in my situation.

At one point after coming back from dinner, one cabin found that they no longer had any hot water. I called the information desk to see if someone could come out to fix it and was told "I don't speak English" and was hung up on. I tried again, using my broken Spanish to explain that we had no hot water but could fix it ourselves if they told us how, and again was hung up on. The volunteers then took it upon themselves to find and fix the water heater so it was no longer an issue.

The meals at the restaurant went over very well with everyone although the prices are very steep (the advantage of being the only option on site). We also went on the wine tour to Concha y Toro (beautiful, great wine), zip-lining (fun but very short) and hiking up to the waterfalls (great view, not too difficult for beginner hikers). Unfortunately the customer service was what really put a damper on the experience.

Furthermore, when I looked at my next credit card statement, they had added on hundreds of dollars worth of extra charges without my knowledge. Requests for more information from Cascada were unanswered so I took it to Visa and claimed the unauthorized charge. I finally got a notice that they had received a copy of my receipt from Cascada and the charge would remain. However, this was a falsified receipt, is lacking my signature and absolutely constitutes fraud. And that is not including the increased transportation charges that I gave up on questioning. I intend to pursue this further with visa and hope that other groups do not have even half the problems that we had there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ehclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe Willis J, Public Relations Manager at Cascada de las Animas, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank your taking the time to write a review of your experiences at Cascada de las Animas. We value the opinions of all of our guests and are very sorry that your time with us was less than satisfactory.

After reading your complaints, the description of the group you represent, and the time period that you visited, I went though our guest records so that I could speak with the staff who would have interacted with your group during your visit. Unfortunately we have no record of any group visiting our resort that resembles who you describe, nor does our staff have any recollection of these events. We also have not been contacted by VISA for credit card overcharges as you have described,

Based on these findings, I can only conclude that you may have mistaken Cascada de las Animas for some other business when you placed this review. Please be assured that we do not engage in fraudulent activities, nor add unauthorized items to a clients bill, nor misrepresent our advertised prices, or treat our valued clients in the manner that you describe,

So that I may clear up any confusion or misunderstandings, I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly by telephone. You may reach me at 56 2 8611303. You can be certain that if your group did stay at Cascada de las Animas and the events that you describe transpired, we will issue you an immediate refund and take corrective actions with any of our staff that were involved.

We hope to hear from you and wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elora, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I recently went here for an overnight stay. I was hoping to stay in a cabin but the only available room was the high end lodge. For around $200, it included a walk to the falls, complimentary pisco sours, a fantastic breakfast, access to the pool and a unique individual lodge experience. It was one of the greatest nights of my life! We ate wonderful Chilean food at the Tribu restaurant. I recommend the pastel de choclo and leche asada. The 3 hour hike to the Meseta was worth the tough climb. Couples and parents with older must come here. There is also rafting and a zip line that is quite the rush. I'll be back here again soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This place offers lots of different activities such as horse riding, rafting and trekking in a breathtaking scenery next to the andes mountains and the Maipo River.

Also worth to mention is the restaurant located in the middle of the park, which in terms of ambiance I just can't think of any better place. Having a glass of a good wine and tasting some typical Chilean food at this paradise is just priceless, and speaking of that I found the prices to be very reasonable.

Prepare your energy, and enjoy this amazing experince,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diego_Navigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Alfonso
13.8 mi away
Hotel Qamaqi
Hotel Qamaqi
#1 of 2 in San Jose de Maipo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hostal Chikiyan
Hostal Chikiyan
#1 of 19 in San Jose de Maipo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Altiplanico Cajon del Maipo
Hotel Altiplanico Cajon del Maip...
#1 of 7 in San Jose de Maipo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Lacasadecarlitos
Lacasadecarlitos
#2 of 7 in San Jose de Maipo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
2.8 mi away
Haiku Cabanas Panoramicas
Haiku Cabanas Panoramicas
#3 of 19 in San Jose de Maipo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lodge Andino El Ingenio
Lodge Andino El Ingenio
#4 of 19 in San Jose de Maipo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascada de las Animas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascada de las Animas

Property: Cascada de las Animas
Address: No 31087 Camino Al Volcan, Casilla 57 | San Alfonso, San Alfonso 9460384, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > San Alfonso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Alfonso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cascada de las Animas 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cascada de las Animas is a full service eco-tourism resort located in a natural paradise of over 3700 hectares of rugged mountains and valleys, rivers, springs and waterfalls. Only 60 kilometers from Santiago Chile, you will find a wide assortment of delightful cabins, rooms, hostel accommodations, a full service restaurant, swimming pool and more, all located in a park-like setting. Guided horseback riding, whitewater rafting, trekking, wine tasting excursions and other activities are available year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cascada de las Animas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascada De Las Animas Hotel San Alfonso
Cascada De Las Animas Chile/San Alfonso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing