We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Option for a Day Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cascada de las Animas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Alfonso
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Option for a Day Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

This is our third visit to Cascadas las Animas.
Rafting: very nice option and probably the best activity the park has. It’s about an hour and a half ride. Don’t go into the water, it is very cold, and you will have a high chance of catching a cold. From a scale from 1 to 10 I give it a 5. The best rafting I have been to is in Honduras. Costa Rica and Brazil also have good rides.
Horse Ridding: it is a 2 and a half hour trip. It’s very challenging, for the horse, because you have to ascend and descend on the steep cliffs. The views are amazing and I definitely recommend it. It might not be suitable for people who are afraid of heights when you are coming back down.
Trekking: it is good option to exercise for a couple of hours maybe after having lunch. The sights and the cascade are not worth the walk.
Canopy: Its been close ever since they announce they were building it. They should take it out of the propaganda until it is ready to be used.
Swimming Pool: only for summer because it is very cold.
The food is delicious and at a good price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foxguevara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    165
    52
    26
    21
See reviews for
144
278
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
81 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Went to Cascada de Las Animas with my family to go on the zip line and to take their 2-hour horse trek. The zip line was a blast!

The horse trek was also a lot of fun, but be warned - even though it is marketed as perfect for inexperienced riders, it really is pretty scary if you've never been trekking before. My family and I had no prior horseback riding experience. The horses were pretty well behaved (one of our party's horses was a bit headstrong, though...), and they really did know the course well, but the trail is very rough - you climb up the foothills of the mountain. There are many areas where your horse walks along the edge of cliff-like drops!

Don't get me wrong, the views were spectacular, and it was well worth it. It just wasn't an easy ride through the park like they had advertised. If you're feeling brave and adventurous, this isn't one to miss.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Trompetista89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed here in early April in one of the suites and really enjoyed ourselves. We stayed here during the week and there were only a couple of other guests, which made it feel like we had it to ourselves. The food was delicious and the staff very friendly. The pony ride for children was great and the zip line fun.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flowergirlla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

I just got back from a wedding held in Cajón del Maipo, and I stayed at the "Lodge" that is part of the Cascada de las Animas compound. The "Lodge" is the more upscale part of the property, and each suite is actually a separate cabin. The design is really cool - there are no right angles, and it´s really organic looking and blends well into the surrounding mountains. The restaurant that is part of the property was excellent - we had salmon there one evening that might have been the best I have ever had. We also took part in the hiking and horseback riding activities offered by the outdoors center, and I would recommend both...there is also rafting, a zipline, etc. Overall, a really great place to stay in a beautiful part of Chile. I would recommend it to anyone who likes the outdoors and mountain views. It also makes a great place to stay if you want to do area vineyard tours. Best of all....the dogs that belong to the family hang out on the property and we were able to go hiking with some of them....really made for a great experience. I usually like to go new places, but it would definitely be worth going back to the Lodge.

Room Tip: if you are up for the more upscale part of the property, I definitely recommend the suites at the Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Genevieve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Level Contributor
96 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Do not confuse the hostel and suites
lodges as many people do so.
Hostel: this was our 2nd stay, unfortunately the new manager of the hostel allows more access to the kitchen even in the refrigerator. This was necessary because the lunch is too late for hiking.
More: good for small budget, beautiful patio, beautiful garden.
Least: no access to the kitchen, 10 minutes of Cascada, no wi - fi, breakfast mince and no possibility to pay for a supplement. Beautiful House of renovation that is if need renovation.
For suites lodges: most: original decoration and unique, large room, great shower, small gallery. Good breakfast
Least: no connection wi - fi at this price, the path is poorly informed of the lodge
restaurant, breakfast too late and too late organized hikes in summer activities.
Important: on 2 occasions, the Manager has the correct errors to the home which have left a bad memory.
It is the only place in our 2 month trip where we wanted to deny our American money very very slightly crumpled.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

A cabin as you would imagine it, small quaint and rustic. This place is in a beautiful part of Cajon del Maipo. Lots of things to do from futbol, to a play area for kids to hiking to kayaking to a zip line. Lots of cabins throughout the reserve. Very rustic, we went in May, onset of winter and enjoyed the facilities.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satellite_answr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

First, the positives: the activities we did - zip wire and white water rafting where great, staff really friendly, good experience overall. Water is more cafe con leche than crystal clear...still didn't spoil the fun.
But, the restaurant is a disaster, complete disaster. They can't do anything right - first day the chicken I ordered was seriously undercooked. One dinner there we had eight issues in one meal ranging from taking so long to bring our drinks that we gave up waiting, to bring two of the same dish, to forgetting to bring things we ordered. Understaffing is partly the problem, when they're not serving the waitresses are helping with the cooking!
Finally, we had booked a wine tour for our last day, we had booked it weeks previously but the agent forgot to book it with the vineyard. We weren't told they couldn't do the time we had expected till the moment we were due to leave, then we were given three completely different versions of what had gone wrong. Risible.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Alfonso
9.6 mi away
Hotel Qamaqi
Hotel Qamaqi
#1 of 2 in San Jose de Maipo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
2.9 mi away
Haiku Cabanas Panoramicas
Haiku Cabanas Panoramicas
#3 of 19 in San Jose de Maipo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hostal Chikiyan
Hostal Chikiyan
#1 of 19 in San Jose de Maipo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Altiplanico Cajon del Maipo
Hotel Altiplanico Cajon del Maip...
#1 of 7 in San Jose de Maipo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lodge Andino El Ingenio
Lodge Andino El Ingenio
#4 of 19 in San Jose de Maipo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
11.2 mi away
Lacasadecarlitos
Lacasadecarlitos
#2 of 7 in San Jose de Maipo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascada de las Animas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascada de las Animas

Property: Cascada de las Animas
Address: Camino al Volcan, 31087 | Casilla 57, San Alfonso 9460384, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > San Alfonso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Alfonso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cascada de las Animas 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cascada de las Animas is a full service eco-tourism resort located in a natural paradise of over 3700 hectares of rugged mountains and valleys, rivers, springs and waterfalls. Only 60 kilometers from Santiago Chile, you will find a wide assortment of delightful cabins, rooms, hostel accommodations, a full service restaurant, swimming pool and more, all located in a park-like setting. Guided horseback riding, whitewater rafting, trekking, wine tasting excursions and other activities are available year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cascada de las Animas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascada De Las Animas Hotel San Alfonso
Cascada De Las Animas Chile/San Alfonso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing