We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cascada de las Animas
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hosteria Millahue(San Jose de Maipo)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Qamaqi(San Jose de Maipo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spa Pirque(Pirque)
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Hotel(Santiago)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Cornisa(Farellones)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (768)
Filter reviews
768 results
Traveler rating
463
194
58
31
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
463
194
58
31
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite water raftingzip lininghorse riderafting tripsafety proceduresherbs and spicesmountain backdropmain receptiononsite restaurantchillikitchen facilitiesrestaurant staffoutdoor activitieswe loved our staysantiago airportriver raftingnature lovers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 768 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We just stayed in one of the new Cascada Lodges. The surrounding nature is already a treat in itself, and also the setting for the dinner at the Cascada riverside restaurant was amazing, but all that was even topped with the accomodation in one of the new lodges. Unique architectural design offering an extremely comfi and cosy space with a very special atmosphere, which makes you want to relax and hang out as long as possible.
Waking up in the morning with this big window right in front of the bed offering a view of these majestic mountains and green trees bathing in the morning sun was nearly too good to be true.
Tine

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
4  Thank christineXXXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Had 3 nights at the hostel and after initially liking the place that much we added on an extra 2 nights in a cabin Hostel was great and we had the place to ourselves. Location of the main area and cabins is fantastic, great back drop of the mountains with lots of activities.The cabins were dotted around the woodland and the site had a great little restaurant with free wifi, bonus.
We did however find some of the staff a little unhelpful, for example we went to eat dinner one night and were told the restaurant was shut due a wedding. We were not advised of this early in the day when having lunch and when we asked about somewhere else to eat they didnt really help or care that we needed to eat. We ended up having to get a taxi 15km back in to town just to get some food.
Also when we came to check out of the hostel and move to a cabin the staff would not let us check in before 2pm even though the cabin was available. We were then also told we would not be able to do any walks without guides even though we had done several walks the previous days without a guide. Unable to do any walks and nowhere to go we ended up not staying for the extra 2 days to which a particular staff member did not really care. I must stress that not all the staff were unhelpul, the restaurant and hostel staff were fantastoic and I believe the guides were good to.
All in all it's a beautiful setting but don't expect the staff to help you unless you are booking a trip.

Room Tip: Get a taxi collectivo from the main Mercedes metro station, should cost about1,1000 pesos per person, takes about 50 mins. Bus costs about the same but when we tried to get on it was always full and we would not ahve been able to get the bags on it was so small.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asia2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

I just got back to the states from chile. I stayed in cascara de las animas in June. We wanted to go treking near el volcan and we asked in reception about the bus service and how we could get there and were also told that it was not accessible by bus or taxi.we luckily met a man from mountain rescue at the local shop that told us that he did not know why we were told this as a bus runs on a daily basis.we were horrified when we heard this as we were planning to leave because of this misinformation.

We also wondered why they were cutting trees in a nature reserve because in the states and Europe you can't do this. This is obviously a money making reserve to trick people into thinking they care about the surrounding area but the only vibe we got off it is that they don't.

Last but not least I want to talk about the people in reception. These people put humanity to shame. They are so unhelpful,rude,obnoxious and smug.we were in a tent and they looked down on us even though our tent was worth more money then their car. If these people are going to continue working on this place they need to start liking the outdoors and stop swindling tourists for their money. The 2 men working at night were the nicest of the lot and they probably get paid buttons. These are the ones that should be running the company not the managers in the corner trying to look outdoorsy with their northface clothes. When really they haven't seen the north side of a mountain or dealt with proper camping once. They also nickel and dimed us for wood, made sure that there was not one independent walk and were only interested in our money.

I'm sure they are going to send me back some jargon about them loving the outdoors but really they haven't a clue and they ruin what the Andes is all about.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eimear_beaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe Willis J, Public Relations Manager at Cascada de las Animas, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank your for taking the time to post a review of Cascada de las Animas on Trip Advisor. We regret that your visit did not meet with your expectations. Our staff makes every effort to treat all of our guests with courtesy and respect. If you felt disrespected during your visit we apologize - this would never be an attitude that any of our staff would intentionally display towards our guests.

Our resort and nature sanctuary is owned and managed by a local family, who pioneered settlements in the Maipo Canyon in the 1840's and is recognized throughout the country as founders and leaders of the modern ecology and conservation movement in Chile. It appears that you may have witnessed some brush clearing that was taking place on the sanctuary to create new space for the animal rehabilitation and relocation center that we have recently built in concert with Chilean Wildlife authorities. Rest assured that we do not engage in forest cutting here - on the contrary we have planted nearly 30,000 trees on the sanctuary during the last 15 years.

We welcome the opportunity to hear more from you and hope that you may give us the opportunity to correct any misunderstanding you may have about our mission. Please give me a call at 56 2 8611303 at anytime - I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you further about your complaints. We wish you the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Cascada de las Animas is a definite must if you like the outdoors. You can take public transportation to get there (subway then colectivo/bus) and it's a real bargain. The staff will email you excellent directions. The grounds of this place are beautiful and immaculate and the cabins are very nice, clean and the beds are awesome. They have a pretty good restaurant with outdoor and indoor seating. They have wifi in the restaurant area. It was so cool sitting outside, working on the computer and hearing the rushing water of the Maipo River. Just so relaxing. My daughter and I went whitewater rafting. It was April (fall for them) so the river was a Class 3. It was a great run with great, well trained guides. They also gave you wetsuits to wear to keep you warm. I was worried that the wetsuits would smell but they did not. We also took a hike to El Mirador that was fun if you are able to do hikes with serious inclines. We only had 2 complaints. They sort of nickel and dime you for every little thing which was kind of annoying. Lastly, this place is a family operation. For reasons unknown, the women were not very nice while the men are very helpful and pleasant. Any number of times, we walked into the restaurant and the female staff was sitting around talking, or eating or having a cocktail and they would look at you and continue with their social time. It was really weird to be treated that way at a resort.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MartiPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

First, I’m a traveler from the United States here in Chile like most adventurers, seeking to encounter the culture and see the Andes.

By chance I discovered a full-moon horseback ride to the “Cascadas de las Animas” mountain mesita (plataue). An employee described,
“C’mon man you can take your girlfriend. It’s a new program, beautiful up there (on the mountain plateau) the moon full you see everything, we have una asado (Chilean barbecue), big fire, cowboy music, pisco sours, your girlfriend going to love you.”
I’ll be honest… I didn’t care about the horseback ride, but that part about winning points with my girlfriend hooked me enough to throw down the ol’ Visa card. To me this trip was the Chile I’d hoped to discover, cowboys, moonlit Andes mountains, guitars and Spanish songs, pisco sours from a tin cup…

Cascadas is a surreal place… at 9:00 pm we began by walking across a swinging bridge above the sounds of the Rio Maipo rapids, walked passed the giant hawk rehabilitation cages (some sort of nature preserve), to the stables. There we encountered cowboys wearing wool ponchos, leather and flat brimmed hats, 3” giant jingling spurs, and hand crafted leather chaps. They looked rugged and tough, real rugged as they finishing rigging 21 horses. Rolled cigarettes completed the look.

The real cowboy was a cowgirl and trip leader “Gordita.” Gordita is her nickname meaning “fatty” but must be a joke because for a 55 year old… well let’s just say I’d be happy if that were my thin and fit beautiful wife.

Gordita’s outfit must’ve been worn a thousand times and was the epitome of “BA Chilena.”

Her most impressive piece was a white leather vest lined with wool fleece. The soft leather had been weathered to a smooth sheen from years of riding and fit tight and perfect to only Gordita’s body. I thought, “the vest is obviously tailored for her,” as I noticed some of the original stitch art half gone. Her belt was tougher darker leather with a smithed copper belt buckle. I wondered where I could find the creator. Tight well-ridden jeans, broken in boots, and a hat adorned with dried flowers and a feather completed the uniform. She was confident as she taught us how to control the horses and explained that the horses even in the dark knew the way and had superior balance. Here, in the Andes the cowboys had returned to a past time where people worked with their hands, their beautiful clothes a symbol of their pride.

Before we knew it I was pulling myself onto a horse. The saddles were padded with a fleece blanket, the typical saddle horn was replaced with an opening allowing you to grab direct to the saddles metal frame. The bridles too were hand crafted leather and there was a certain respect and admiration I was developing for the efficiency of the resourceful rustic Chileans.

We rode for thirty minutes up the mountain passing a waterfall and taking in the towering Andes in the moonlight. The wranglers kept the pack of twenty riders together yelling, “Vamos, vamos, vamos chequillos…” They’d run to a slower horse and smack it on the butt commanding the straggler to trot and keep up. Soon enough we arrived to the mesita or plateau.

La Mesita Asado… The Plateau Barbecue- Some Places Just Feel Magical

At the plateau a fire was ready and soon pisco sours were being made for us. It’d be interesting to know if USA insurance companies would even allow this trip. I didn’t care because by now I could tell this was a place with a special energy and was happy to drink my share of piscos.

The wranglers began shoveling coal and arranging cuts of the butchered goat. One of the guides took a guitar and began singing as we gathered around the fire. I watched them place bread into a barrel cut in half with a coal bed underneath, it was a simple Dutch-oven method. The bread was placed on a tray inside, a tin roof placed on the barrel as a lid, and then they built a fire from the coal bed on the lid… our fresh hot bread was baking.

Gordita handed Maria and I a stout pisco sour in a tin cup. The moonlight was brightly casting shadows onto a towering wall, at it’s base were the horses tied along a fence, shadows casting, slight breeze… it was like a scene from an old cowboy western I will remember for the rest of my life. The wranglers busy watering the horses, prepping food, and one playing the guitar and singing keeping us entertained by the warm fire.

After eating a healthy portion of asado cuts, salad, potatoes and wine Gordita told a story. For a while I listened with my limited Spanish but eventually tuned out and tuned into observing the magic of the cool breeze, the fire, cowboys and horses, and Gordita’s flare for story telling. They had a translator but I didn’t care, I was more interested in holding Maria. Now, the effect of pisco, a good meal, Maria’s warmth, and the full moon seemed to be the perfect intoxicants.

My most memorable Chilean experience was those cowboys with the leather chaps, me holding Maria under the moonlight while the Chileans sang, drinking pisco sour from a tin cup, watching the fresh bread come out of the “Dutch-oven barrel” and riding off of that plateau at 2:00 am in the morning under the full moon.

Room Tip: Weekenders should make a reservation.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JohnnieKayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews