We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wet, windy but wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Grys Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wacton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Grys Barn
Ranked #1 of 1 Wacton B&B and Inns
Essex
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wet, windy but wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a highly enjoyable 3 night stay at Le Grys Barn, to escape the chaos of a kitchen refurb and to relax on my birthday. Whilst unfortunately, the weather was hideous, the welcome was warm, the room spacious, comfortable and well-equipped and the setting absolutely ideal for a peaceful break. Julie is very hospitable and her home is full of character. We were accompanied by our cocker spaniel, and being adjacent to Wacton Common proved very useful for walks and early morning/late night "comfort breaks". There are nice places to eat within driving distance but as we had the dog to consider, we took advantage of Julie's culinary skills and ate in the delightful main barn every evening of our visit. She really does create some delicious dishes and it was the perfect scenario for us to leave the dog in the car, stroll over to the main barn with a bottle of our own wine (chilled in the rooms mini-fridge) and be served a fantastic 3 course meal. My husband is not usually a dessert person but he devoured Julie's puddings with absolute enthusiasm! We slept exceedingly well and awoke to the sound of birdsong every morning. Considering the room rate, in our view, Le Grys Barn represents excellent value for money and if Julie is available to cook you a meal, please don't waste her talents... Thank you Julie for your relaxed attitude towards Dexter, for ensuring my birthday ended on a high note (not exactly sure what that chocolatey biscuity dessert was the first night we ate with you but it was staggeringly good!) and for providing a unique and cosy place for us to really unwind. We hope that we get the opportunity to return in less inclement weather. Alison and Nigel, Frinton on Sea.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

we enjoyed a one night break at le Grys Barn, the setting is beautiful, room was a delight, and the hospitality and breakfast was first class. We could not ask for a better host. This B&B is a must for anyone that wants to recharge their batteries.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stepaway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed here for one night and can't wait to return.

It's very secluded and the food is amazing. We enjoyed a relaxing evening sipping Southern Comfort on the patio and a lovely breakfast in the main part of the barn. It helped with the hangover.

Some B&B's can be overly personalised and you feel like you are staying in the middle of a house but this felt like our own private suite.

Perfection

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stepaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

We recently stayed at Le Grys barn for one night. The location is perfectly peaceful and the decor unique. Our bed was especially comfortable and the owner made sure we were well looked after. I would highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: The Iris room was especially lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indiatravel017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

We enjoyed a two night weekend stay at the end of July in the Orchid room. It truly is a retreat. A beautifully converted barn in a very peaceful and rural setting.
The 3 rooms are all delightfully decorated, all unique, and very comfortable. They are separate to the main barn in converted cattle sheds, each has its own entrance, with a table and chairs outside to enjoy the garden and surroundings. The rooms are full of eastern touches with Persian rugs, Buddha's and beautiful oriental furniture. The ensuite bathrooms are colourful and have lovely Italian tiles. Everything you could think of has been thought of even a torch and a fridge with fresh milk. Breakfasts are served in the main barn and are superb, cooked to order and perfection with a lovely fresh fruit platter and yoghurts on the sideboard.
There are several pubs/restaurants close by. We found the Relish restaurant at Newton Flotman to be very good and for pub grup the Old Ram at Tivetshal St. Mary was reasonably priced.
The only negative comment I would make was that on occasions you could clearly hear the other rooms occupants voices through the walls, which I found a little disconcerting.,
I only found le Grys Barn through a Smartbox voucher gift experience and I am so glad I did. I would definitely recommend to anyone who wants somewhere different or to just escape for a while.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pickylady07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
106 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

I only stayed for one night but it was a wonderfully serene location with great service and the rooms are very clean, well maintained and full of character. Breakfast was delicious and service was excellent. Would highly recommend for a romantic or peaceful break!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave_Wolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

Set in beautiful countryside, this unique B&B is a wonderfully peaceful retreat. A barn conversion that is now 3 stunningly decorated bedrooms, with a larger barn conversion next door for relaxing and eating. It really is off the beaten track in beautiful fields, somewhere to relax and unwind. Peaceful and isolated, although if you are looking for a lively B&B with lots to do this isn't for you. Nothing is too much in reagrds to service and the food is absolutely amazing home cooked food! So much so, my partner and I wondered if we could simply return for breakfast!! Would definately recomend to anyone looking for a break away from the world. Only foible, you get little beetles in your room, but considering it's a rustic countryside barn conversion, this is to be expected. Would be great to go with a group of 6 as you would have all 3 rooms to yourselves. Just lovely.

Room Tip: Only 3, so look on website for details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Honest_Traveller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Grys Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grys Barn

Property: Le Grys Barn
Address: Wacton Common, Wacton NR15 2UR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wacton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wacton
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing