We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great couple of nights away”
Review of Holly Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holly Lodge
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We're a couple with young children wanting to pamper ourselves as part of a two night getaway. The stay at Holly Lodge was lovely and we would definitely recommend to anyone. Jeremy was extremely helpful & even cooked us a delicious and very reasonably priced homemade three course meal the second night. All in all, a fantastic find.

Room Tip: We stayed in Claret Cottage and can strongly recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pdramndp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 98 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2012

We were very impressed with Holly lodge, comfortable rooms, great breakfast and helpful host. We loved the fresh cake in the room when we returned each day and the bottle of wine when we arrived was a nice touch. We would go back again, it makes a good base for exploring North Norfolk.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue6676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Recently returned from 3 nights in this most relaxing B&B the third night was a special deal and free.The hosts were extremely friendly and made me and my partner very welcome.The cottage we stayed in had a very rustic charm to it ....complimentary wine fruit and chocolates together with delicious ginger cake being provided which was a very nice touch.

Breakfast was excellent with full english all home cooked on demand.A thoroughly excellent establishment and we shall return later in the year.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Recently returned from a fabulous stay of 3 nights at Holly Lodge.The hosts could not be more helpful. Everything is top quality. The complementary wine, fruit, and of course cake are lovely touches and much appreciated. Breakfast is super, and served in a lovely conservatory.We'd love to return. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JillWSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

This place promised to be amazing but didn't quite measure up. Admittedly we were there on a very cold night and the room, especially the stone floor, made for a chilly experience. The mattress on the bed was far too firm for our taste and not very comfortable.
Suzie, stood in for the owners who were away, did a great job of looking after us by cooking a great breakfast and the extra touches in the room like a bottle of wine, fruit and cake were very welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeandNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We were just looking for a convenient place to stay for the Thursford Christmas show and found this gem. We turned up in driving wind and rain to be greeted at our car by Jeremy with an umbrella to escort us to our room. Complentary wine, cake and sweets were waiting in our room. He also cooked a very nice meal before the show and had cheese cake and mince pies ready when we returned later that evening after the show. The accomodation, food and service would be hard to beat. We will be coming back again but next time the Holly Lodge will be the main attraction, not the show.

Room Tip: Don't go just for the Christmas Spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed twice, once in the autumn for just one night and again in the new year for three nights. It is the best of both worlds: it feels as if you have your own cottage yet you have all the benefits of being in a B&B. The rooms are cosy and warm, with lovely furnishings. The food is to die for, with wonderful breakfasts. Evening meal is delicious and portions are huge. There is a conservatory for guests which is really comfortable and the gardens are beautiful. Jeremy is a professional host and could not be more helpful. The rooms have everything that you could want including torches. This is a magical place which we will visit again. The best place I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AramLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thursford Green
4.8 mi away
Wensum Lodge Hotel
Wensum Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fakenham
178 reviews
3.2 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walsingham
231 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
652 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Blue Boar Inn
The Blue Boar Inn
#1 of 2 in Great Ryburgh
81 reviews
2.9 mi away
Reeds Barn B&B
Reeds Barn B&B
#2 of 9 in Walsingham
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Lodge

Address: The Street, Thursford Green NR21 0AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thursford Green
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thursford Green
Price Range: $131 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Holly Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holly Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing