We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Rainy day stay"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Balai Isabel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Club Balai Isabel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Talisay
quezon city philippines
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“"Rainy day stay"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Went here with my siblings in a very rainy day... The place is nice... So many swimming pools to choose from..and I like the view of the small house in the veranda of our room... Although it was freezing cold to swim...we still managed to enjoy... Enjoyable stay... :)

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank beautytravelmode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    198
    134
    41
    49
See reviews for
251
74
5
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

My fiancee arranged for us to have our pre-wedding photo shoot. The hotel is easy to find by following the directions provided on their website. The staff were very helpful including assisting us to get our bags to the room and set up the A/C and TV.
The location itself was most refreshing with a cooling breeze coming from Lake Taal and the vista of the lake and volcano made an excellent backdrop for the photo session.
The staff were all friendly and as attentive as could be expected bearing in mind that on both nights of our stay the restaurant was quite busy. Our room was ideal, having two double beds, one of which was used to hold our clothes for the shoot and the A/C and bathroom were more than adequate.
Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed our short stay and would be happy to recommend to others.

Room Tip: If I were to return, I would opt for a room on one of the higher floors to make more of the view acr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garybyrne69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent two nights in this resort. We were given a standard room with loft which could accommodate at least four or a maximum of 6 people given three queen beds in the unit. However, there was only one bathroom, so three people would be ideal for comfort. The room was alright, the aircon was working and there was hot water for bathing. One can also cook their food in the unit if they choose to. Check-in however was late at 3:00 pm given the large number of clients waiting to be checked in. Personnel at the reception were courteous and accommodating. The resort has three swimming pools but the most picturesque was the Terraza Pool as one had a clear view of Taal Lake and Volcano. The food was good although the menu had limited choices. Room rates included free buffet breakfast. The resort is very accessible from Manila using the South Super Highway and the Star Tollway and the roads were good except in some areas along the Tanauan/Talisay road which was under repair. Our only complaint is that the resort has very poor wifi. Connection is available near the Terraza Café but the signal is quite week. Overall, our experience in this resort was pleasant , great for family bonding.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just had an overnight stay at Club Balai Isabel last Sunday with the extended family , and the rating I had should be a 4 but after enduring their bad customer service , it went down 2 otchesThe room that we had , 104 on Orchard Lane , was a family room, took several mins for the aircon to work but that's fine , we enjoyed our rest. There 2 swimming pools that I saw and my family and I enjoyed our dip near Lake Taal. Water's not that cold and maybe it was due to the sunny weather as well.
We brought our own food and we were supposed to spend it up to 3 pm yesterday but management told us that another family would be occupying our unit. My aunt and their Makati office had an agreement that she would be paying additional for 3 hours since the checkout was 12 nn. She was told that it was fine but yesterday, they didn't honor their agreement leaving us to hurriedly pack up for home , with all the uncooked ingreidients for lunch, not even trying to provide the next family to have their own unit even though we're willing to pay additional , turning off the cable tv and aircon while we're waiting in our room, even telling us that the electricity was fluctuating.

Like what I said the place is good, but management and their customer service was otherwise : (

Room Tip: " Units on Orchard Lane have ample shade "
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rocky Elgin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balai_Isabel, Manager at Club Balai Isabel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi,

We apologize for the brown out during your stay. We have standby generator sets that provided power after 15 minutes that day. There were next occupants in the rooms so we called to remind you of the standard check out time which is 12nn. The cable TV and air con went off because of the brown out. It was not intentional. There might have been misunderstanding since the account executive in Makati who handled your reservation confirmed that no commitment for extension has been made. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Talisay hotels

Cainta, Rizal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's always best to do an ocular inspection first whenever you can.

We were initially booked at a 3F room (suite with attic). Since we have a not-so-senior couple in the family, we requested that we be given a room located in lower floors. However, the reservation office insisted that we need to get two rooms for lower floors. But lo and behold, there's an available room after all, which can accommodate the family... but that's after we've paid for the previous room. The front desk admitted her confusion regarding the room configuration.

After lots of appeals/negotiations, we finally got the lower floor room. It was quite stressful, going back and forth from our "holding" area to the reception/registration. Due to change in room (this could've been avoided actually), we were able to check in at 4:00pm. Their check-in time is 3:00pm by the way.

In general, the registration (Gemini) handled everything in a calm and respectful manner... but you can't take away the fact that this could've been avoided if handled right initially. If I will have any complain against Gemini, It will be about the promised welcome/complimentary drinks which never came.... :) But overall, she was respectful. Getting more familiar with the rooms will help her a lot in handling same case/ in the future.

The Room :

We had a comfortable stay in general. The room was equipped with gas range plus some utensils, including plates and spoon/fork. We had water dispenser, A/C in all areas - living, kitchen and bedrooms (it had 2 and each has its own T&B). The room was not in pristine condition but not also filthy dirty, just right. Hot and cold shower, spacious dining and kitchen area. Beds were okay too, not too soft, not too hard.

The Place Itself :

In my opinion, Balai Isabel is just good for an overnight stay. Nothing more to do after 24 hours. But aside from the pools, they have bike rental, basketball court. Just in case you ran out of things to do. Room rate (villas) is not cheap. A 2-night stay will not be practical if one will equate it to what you can do/see there.

Taal Volcano is a come on. Just the view itself is great. If you have plenty of time, you can rent a boat, 2,500 for six persons I was told, for a trip to the volcano. We had this skipped.

Going there was also an experience. From Manila, we took SLEX, then STAR, then Tanauan-Talisay Highway, lots of road repairs (zig-zag). But going back, we took Talisay-Tagaytay Road and it was quite scary, so steep and winding (zig-zag). The first time I used my low (A/T) gear.

In terms of going back there, I don't know.

Will I recommend? For the experience, check it out... But for the budget, it will not be hard for you to look for better and practical options.

Room Tip: Get the lakeside or view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gearacam1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent our 3 days 2 nights at club Balai, check in at 430pm on a first night with a dirty house all the bathrooms were stinky, bed sheets were dirty, floors were dusty and slippery due to its incredible dust. Distilled 5 gallons water was used and not freshly changed, and worst of all my 6 year old son slipped due to the sandy slippery floors and got a black and blue cheeks and no medic around was found. Poor customer service, manager nowhere to be found. Worst of all no announcement were made to vacationers that there will be a Filipino soap opera shooting near the biggest pool area with rude crew who will shout "wala ng titingin" no one will look!! We did not even knew their cast! --- we were just trying to enjoy our family and relax and this was the result of choosing club Balai Isabel .... I am not going to recommend this place at all! Thankful to John and Jonathan of their housekeeping for apologizing with the company's mess and for thoroughly assisting us ...

Room Tip: Not recommending this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SheNu41035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balai_Isabel, Manager at Club Balai Isabel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello Ma'am,

We are sorry to hear that your stay with us has not been satisfactory. Please allow us to give you facts based on our records. The villa where you stayed is one of the most frequently occupied lakeshore family villas. It is literally beside the lake where you can leisurely walk on the sand and hear the sounds of waves.

We received three (3) calls from you on March 24. The last call was at 8:54pm where you complained about sandy, dusty floor and the reason of your son's tripping on the floor. We understand that distress of seeing your son bruised but with all due respect, you were already in the house for 6 hours when the incident happened. The room attendant responded and attended to your needs promptly on these three calls. He also offered to bring ice for your son's bruise but you refused and told him you already bought some ice at the restaurant.

We apologize for the rudeness of the TV crew that you experienced. So that this will not happen again, we will advise all guests beforehand if there is a TV shoot happening. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Worst accommodation and customer service. They gave us an old dilapidated (aircon not functioning at all at the living room and it was 91*F) villa though we booked it 2 months in advance requesting a villa my sister had a month ago. They made us wait until 3:30 pm before checking in and gave us the very old villa. WILL NEVER RECOMMEND THIS PLACE!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank kngrthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balai_Isabel, Manager at Club Balai Isabel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi Sir,

We are very sorry that we were not able to provide you a good experience. All of our villas have a vintage motif but none of them are dilapidated. We are conducting preventive maintenance on all our air-conditioning units to ensure that this will not happen again. We are also sorry for the 30 minutes check in delay. Our regular check in time for villas is 3:00 pm. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talisay
27.1 mi away
Coral Beach Club
Coral Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Lian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
26.5 mi away
Eagle Point Resort
Eagle Point Resort
#1 of 7 in Mabini
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
25.2 mi away
Canyon Cove Beach Club
Canyon Cove Beach Club
#2 of 4 in Nasugbu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.6 mi away
Pico Sands Hotel
Pico Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Nasugbu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
27.6 mi away
White Castle Resort & Hotel
38.5 mi away
Palm Beach Resort
Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Laiya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Balai Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Balai Isabel

Property: Club Balai Isabel
Address: Taal Lake | Banga, Talisay, Luzon 4220, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > Talisay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Talisay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Balai Isabel 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on the shores of the world-famous Taal Lake and across from its volcano is a place where you can relax, connect and be with nature. Club Balai Isabel offers an option for an active lifestyle with all the comforts of city living. A mere fifteen minutes from the Tagaytay ridge, it offers an up-close and personal view of the lake and its world-famous volcano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Club Balai Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Balai Isabel Hotel Talisay
Hotel Balai Isabel
Club Balai Isabel Batangas/Talisay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing