We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Club Balai Isabel
Nearby Hotels
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
San Roque Beach Resort(Talisay)(Great Value!)
$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$34
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (656)
Filter reviews
656 results
Traveler rating
124
236
174
61
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
236
174
61
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbalai isabeltaal lakeclub balaiaqua parkinfinity poolorchard laneteam buildingbanana boatwater activitiesbasketball courtbring your ownfamily bondingscenic viewbike rentalsdinner buffetbulalofront office
Filter
Updating list...
510 - 515 of 656 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent our 3 days 2 nights at club Balai, check in at 430pm on a first night with a dirty house all the bathrooms were stinky, bed sheets were dirty, floors were dusty and slippery due to its incredible dust. Distilled 5 gallons water was used and not freshly changed, and worst of all my 6 year old son slipped due to the sandy slippery floors and got a black and blue cheeks and no medic around was found. Poor customer service, manager nowhere to be found. Worst of all no announcement were made to vacationers that there will be a Filipino soap opera shooting near the biggest pool area with rude crew who will shout "wala ng titingin" no one will look!! We did not even knew their cast! --- we were just trying to enjoy our family and relax and this was the result of choosing club Balai Isabel .... I am not going to recommend this place at all! Thankful to John and Jonathan of their housekeeping for apologizing with the company's mess and for thoroughly assisting us ...

Room Tip: Not recommending this place!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SheNu41035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balai_Isabel, Manager at Club Balai Isabel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Hello Ma'am,

We are sorry to hear that your stay with us has not been satisfactory. Please allow us to give you facts based on our records. The villa where you stayed is one of the most frequently occupied lakeshore family villas. It is literally beside the lake where you can leisurely walk on the sand and hear the sounds of waves.

We received three (3) calls from you on March 24. The last call was at 8:54pm where you complained about sandy, dusty floor and the reason of your son's tripping on the floor. We understand that distress of seeing your son bruised but with all due respect, you were already in the house for 6 hours when the incident happened. The room attendant responded and attended to your needs promptly on these three calls. He also offered to bring ice for your son's bruise but you refused and told him you already bought some ice at the restaurant.

We apologize for the rudeness of the TV crew that you experienced. So that this will not happen again, we will advise all guests beforehand if there is a TV shoot happening. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Worst accommodation and customer service. They gave us an old dilapidated (aircon not functioning at all at the living room and it was 91*F) villa though we booked it 2 months in advance requesting a villa my sister had a month ago. They made us wait until 3:30 pm before checking in and gave us the very old villa. WILL NEVER RECOMMEND THIS PLACE!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
11  Thank kngrthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balai_Isabel, Manager at Club Balai Isabel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Hi Sir,

We are very sorry that we were not able to provide you a good experience. All of our villas have a vintage motif but none of them are dilapidated. We are conducting preventive maintenance on all our air-conditioning units to ensure that this will not happen again. We are also sorry for the 30 minutes check in delay. Our regular check in time for villas is 3:00 pm. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We spent our Aussie Day weekend in Club Balai Isabel last January. Our Aussie client specifically requested to search for a resort with sufficient space where we could do Aussie outdoorsy stuff such as cricket, golf, football etc. and Balai certainly did not disappoint. Kudos to their account executive, Monica, for helping me organise the rooms and food for my team. Monica organised a function room for our meals at no extra cost. Location was awesome. We all liked the fact that it was only an hour away from Manila via Star Tollway as we had 2 pregnant moms join us in our team building. Corkage was reasonable for the amount of booze we brought.

For those on a budget, don't get the rooms with the Taal view as the place is literally lake side. You're not there to spend time inside the room anyways. For food, best to take advantage of the buffet for variety and bang for buck (price as of Jan2013 - breakfast P295; lunch and dinner P400 per head) as the ala carte meals are pricey (difference of P100-150 only).

Areas for Improvement: water pressure from the shower. We did not experience this in the Sampaguita rooms but my staff staying in the Ylangylang suites did. Room service would need bit of work as I received feedback from one of my staff that when their group asked for a change of towels, they were not given any as they were told they had a fixed number of towels allocated for the room.

Overall, what we spent was worth it and our team was happy even those who only took the Day tour packages. Highly recommended! I will be celebrating my birthday weekend with my family and significant other in May of this year.

Room Tip: For those on a budget, don't get the rooms with the Taal view as the place is literally lake side. You're not there to spend time inside the room anyways. For food, best to take advantage of the buffet for variety and bang for buck (price as of Jan2013 - breakfast P295; lunch and dinner P400 per head) as the ala carte meals are pricey (difference of P100-150 only).
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balai_Isabel, Manager at Club Balai Isabel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Hi Ma’am,

It is our great pleasure to have you and your group here last January and we hope we can have you back. We are grateful that we were able to meet your expectations. Thank you very much for this helpful feedback. We are on the process of installing booster pumps in all our buildings to increase water supply. Club Balai Isabel is looking forward in your return on May.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nestled at the foot of a ridge, Club Balai Isabel is a natural splendour. This 10-hectare resort is just perfect to spend the rest of the day after exploring every nook and cranny of Tagaytay.

Once settled, we leisurely walked around to see what this place has in store. We discovered the numerous activities on hand. It ranges from the serene to the energetic. Nevertheless, the best is indulging in Taal Volcano’s stunning landscape whilst chin wagging, laughing and sipping cocktails. Experiencing these as the world passes by is heaven on earth – real bliss!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uncluttered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balai_Isabel, Manager at Club Balai Isabel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Hi Ma’am,

We are truly blessed that we were given the scenic view of Taal Volcano. Your satisfaction and appreciation of our resort added to its perfection. It is our aim to provide our guests with a WOW service and we are glad that we haven’t failed you. You are always welcome to come back and thank you so much for the heartwarming feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here in club balai last Nov 2012. I have heard a lot about it so we decided to stay overnight. when we got there im not too impressed with the entrance, there were a lot of people and it was a little bit crowded. it felt a little bit cramped with lots of cars and not too much space for parking so in the beginning there was traffic. check in was ok and we were given a room at the third floor. no elevators so im not happy with too much stairs. anyway, the room was spacious and clean though the aircon is not enough for the big room. the bed was comfortable and i had a good sleep. the bathroom was a little bit slippery and one of us slipped luckily we did not have any injuries and just laughed about it. my concern too is that the pressure of the water is not good, so if you decide to come here dont get rooms on the third floor, it took me a lot of time to get the shampoo off my hair!

the buffet at the resto is just average, so we didnt avail of the buffet.

the pool was huge but the larger part was deep so people tend to stay crowded on one area were the pool is not too deep.

i do think that theres not too much to do here and the place still needs lots of improvement for people to stay longer. overnight is just ok!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryAnnL1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balai_Isabel, Manager at Club Balai Isabel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Hi Ma’am,

Your feedback is highly appreciated. Through this, we came to know that we still have some things to improve. Regarding the traffic in the entrance, there are times that the number of cars build up at the entrance. This is because of our security check procedures. We have assigned more security guards to assist those cars in line during peak days.

For the parking, we are almost finished with our new parking site near the restaurant that could accommodate more vehicles.

We understand the inconvenience of going up the stairs. We have a five-storey building equipped with elevator, for those who do not like using stairs.

All our water pumps are now being upgraded for better water supply.

Our Kumintang swimming pool is an Olympic size pool that is why it has the 7 feet as requirement. On your next visit, please try our smaller pools, our Talisay and Terraza pool. We also have water sports activities and ball games. You can also try the healing hands of our masseur in the Spa for stress release.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews