We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a team building”
Review of Club Balai Isabel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Club Balai Isabel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Talisay
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The grounds of Club balai Isabel is huge. This is a great place to have a team building. They have several areas for sports activity and several pools to choose from. The Taal lake is great to see but not to swim. You can do some sailing on the lake though. The grounds had beautiful garden setting. The place is also laid out in a way that even if there is a team building activity going on, there is privacy for other guests who are not part of the activity. They have a pool that is child friendly because was very shallow.
The food is okay. The rooms are clean.
Some setbacks....there was an infestation of ants so the housekeeping had to come a clean out the room. The pressure of the water was strong that the pipe of the sink of our bathroom burst. This was fixed immediately within an hour unfortunately they did not clean up after the bathroom pipe was fixed so it was a bit muddy. Overall..great place for a company outing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cricketabello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 599 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed in this property twice in August and was satisfied during both visits.

To Metro Manilans, Balai Isabel is this: a quick weekend getaway for family relaxation, good food and good massage. It is only 1.5 hours away from Manila taking SLEX, STAR tollway then Tanauan exit to the town of Talisay. The quick drive makes it an attractive last-minute idea.

The property is expansive as it is situated on a large plot of land beside Taal Lake. The overall appearance of this property is clean and decent. It is not five-star, but one can see that there was some thought by the owner in designing the resort. It carries a Filipiniana theme, and this can be seen in the designs of the reception lobby, restaurants and the rooms. There is also a lot of trees surrounding the property, which adds to its relaxing lakeside atmosphere.

The rooms are plenty, of average size and contemporary design. The villa suites accommodate large groups, making it ideal for families and corporate groups. The room design features decent interiors, furnishings and finish. They win my nod of approval given the price we paid.

There are 2 pools, which our children enjoy staying in. Both have views of Taal Lake, while one is located beside a restaurant that serves good Filipino and contemporary dishes. Its enough to contribute to a relaxing weekend.

The service is novice, and one might quietly question the training that the staff received, but obviously you'll see that they do try their best.

We tried the massage during each visit - excellent on both times.

Also, one can stay in Balai Isabel and still get to make a quick dinner trip to Tagaytay, only 45 mins on the zigzag Talisay-Tagaytay road.

All in all, Balai Isabel wins as a weekend idea, I will go back and will be looking forward to the pool, food, massage, and good family bonding times.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheEuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Had our corporate event here for the month of June,the process of reservation was fast,the reservation dept.were able to attend on all our requests. Checking-in was fast,rooms are decent and homey expect for ants on our walls and verandas. Service is superb and outstanding,esp.Vernon Pedro(Account executive). Food is okay,can be improved more. We'll be back definitely..

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank leonag25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

One of the best place for me.my dad had a buss.meeting here so we go with him..the resto is cozy and clean they serve eat all you can b-fast,lunch and dinner for a very affordable price...one biggest resort.you have to ride a coaster to go to their big infinity pool.a resort wirh chapel, have many choices were u want to stay..if u want a cottage by youe own or stay at the hotel. Ours is at the hotel 7k/night. Very big and nice room..with kitchen. Ref,stove,coffee maker,heater,complete..beds are big two king sized bed with 4big pillows each and comforter.cr is big and clean..a very beautiful and excitinf placw.ar night while having dinner theres a acoustic band foe you tp enjoy

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnmarielRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were a family of four and we went for a loft room. The room had a small kitchenette (bar fridge, sink, 2 burner stove), bathroom, living area with a daybed and a bed underneath, and a loft with two queen size beds

Pros:
- Waterfront resort so a great view of the lake and volcano
- Watersports are available but we didn't do any so I don't know about the cost
- Greenery and spacious resort
- Three pools - one with a waterslide for children
- Large room that was clean and up-to-date
- Power went out for a minute and then the generator kicked in - generator seemed to work everything except for the cable TV and I think the hot water heater

Cons:
- Sink in bathroom leaked
- No hot water in shower but this could be due to generator
- No utensils or items to cook with so don't really understand the kitchenette concept
- The restaurant. Service was slow (they seemed to focus on the wedding and corporate events) and the menu is very limited and features purely Filipino food. No children's menu. Everything is served family style, so you can't pick and choose what you want if you are a small group. The fried chicken was the only thing my kids would eat and so that was the only thing I ate the entire time we were there. There's no where else to eat unless you want to drive back up into Tagaytay.
- No elevator so if you have mobility issues or young children ask for a lower floor.
- The resort seems to prioritize weddings and corporate functions and so if you are not part of those things you get slower service.

Room Tip: No elevators.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

To celebrate my eldest son's birthday, we wanted to stay at a new place. Place is homey and clean with antique interiors - which I LOVE!!! Food is great, especially the turon!
Staff are friendly and the lifegaurd even gave us 3 huge apple mangoes.

We will definitely go back to this place.

Room Tip: Sampaguita Room is good for families who wants to be under one roof but on different rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BethV2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Club Balai Isabel offers good relaxation and scenery. The rooms that we stayed at was good ( we stayed at two rooms). Both rooms are clean, fair enough sheets, with comforters and soft pillows. Pools are ok but may require long walks to get there. I suggest not to swim in the lake, there's sea weeds everywhere. We tried the callus eating fishes and their foot massage, its a little bit pricey. Food? not good, menu is limited not to mention pricey, ( they only have one restaurant) its better to go buy food outside the resort. There is a small grill restaurant just 5 minutes away from the resort. Grilled squid and Sisig is recommended. Got a little bored too as there isnt that much activity in the resort. Will I comeback there? Maybe, if its for free again :D

P.S
Kudos to their staff, friendly and accomodating :)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedAndBlackFaerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talisay
28.3 mi away
Coral Beach Club
Coral Beach Club
#1 of 4 in Lian
201 reviews
27.2 mi away
Eagle Point Resort
Eagle Point Resort
#1 of 7 in Mabini
302 reviews
28.7 mi away
Pico Sands Hotel
Pico Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Nasugbu
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.5 mi away
Canyon Cove Hotel & Spa
11.2 mi away
Canyon Woods Resort Club
28.8 mi away
White Castle Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Balai Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Balai Isabel

Address: Taal Lake | Banga, Talisay, Luzon 4220, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > Talisay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Talisay
Price Range: $67 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Balai Isabel 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on the shores of the world-famous Taal Lake and across from its volcano is a place where you can relax, connect and be with nature. Club Balai Isabel offers an option for an active lifestyle with all the comforts of city living. A mere fifteen minutes from the Tagaytay ridge, it offers an up-close and personal view of the lake and its world-famous volcano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., getaroom.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Club Balai Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Balai Isabel Hotel Talisay
Hotel Balai Isabel
Club Balai Isabel Batangas/Talisay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing