We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great beach resort - great service,food and accomodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coral Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coral Beach Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lian
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great beach resort - great service,food and accomodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

Stayed 2 nights in this resort ,the owner Theresa was very friendly and welcoming , and the service from the staff was excellent. The room we stayed in had been recently refurbished to an excellent standard, huge shower area,
We arranged transport through the resort to get back to Manilla which was good, however having lived in the Phillipines some 25 years ago I could not believe the amount of traffic, it took 3hours to get back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    83
    27
    5
    9
See reviews for
69
65
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belfort, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

They say there is no paradise on earth but maybe a little piece has fallen from the sky to the earth here in Coral Beach Club in Matabungkay. I've stayed more than 1 month for business in batangas region and I have really, really enjoy this place. The food is excellent, especially the chicken wings :), the rooms are nice and always clean and we are in front of the sea to enjoy beautiful sunset. i've tried other resort here in Matabungkay but it's the better one with a moderate price.
The staff is wonderful and you are always well attended with all the kindness you can expect. A great thanks at the big Coral Beach family, thanks to whom i've passed a wonderful month.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fariaedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tree65, Manager at Coral Beach Club, responded to this review, January 9, 2011
From us all at the Coral Beach Club we want to thank you for your patronage and appreciation of our resort. It has been a pleasure to serve you. We wish you a safe trip home and hope very much to see you again sometime in the future.

Best wishes,

Theresa and all the CBC Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

Arrived pretty late and was offered 2 rooms..one for 2,200 and the other for 3,100 pesos. we took the cheaper one and was vey pleased with the big clean room we got! Hvae only been here 2 hours but I am very pleased with what I have seen. One of the owners bought me a beer which gives you an idea of the friendliness. Drinks and food maybe a little pricey but maybe its worth it to,listen to the sea which is just a few meters from the rear of the hotel

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martyn John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yamba, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2010

My wife and 11month old baby daughter stayed in a deluxe room for 13 days.The pool and jacuzzi are clean.Allow an hour for the water to warm up in the jacuzzi after you ask the staff to turn on the heat.There is heaps of space in the deluxe rooms and the showers are great.The air con "rattled" a bit, but the management is putting in new split systems that will take care of that.The staff are really friendly and helpful.The security is great.The beach is kept clean by the staff.The water is clean and clear further out but has some "junk" in close.The resort is WELL maintained compared to the rest we saw.Food is great but maybe a little expensive by provincial standards.BIG servings though.There are some other places arround to eat if your budget doesnt allow you to eat at the resort for every meal..Happy Hour is 4.00 to 7.00 for cheaper drinks.Its very quite at night in the resort grounds after about 11.00.If you play Golf then this is the place to stay.Management all play golf and can arrange discounts at the Calatagen Golf Course for you.They can arrange a driver and van to get you to the course and pick you up when your ready to come back for 500 pesos.(about 15 to 20 minutes to the course)Calatagen golf course is a Roberts Trent Jones Jnr design and is in great condition for a course that doesnt get a lot of traffic..One of the best designed courses ive played including quite a few in Australia.I got invited to play with the management ,some other guests and some of the local residents .Very enjoyable.Its hard to go past Coral Beach Club if your looking for a resort style holiday at Matabungkay beach.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mitch1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

The rooms are priced just right considering that you get to have free use of the pool. Although they really needed to put a pool/jacuzzi because their beach front is really bad. Like what most people have said, you need to walk a few meters to the left to be able to swim. Maximum occupants per room is 4 and they really enforce it. Also, note that if you rented a van with a driver, be prepared to get the driver a room as well because they will not let the driver stay in the van to sleep. The food has already been reviewed and what they say is true. The food is too expensive but not that great. You will do better eating outside the resort, rent a "balsa" or a boat and just have the locals cook your food. Over all, it is true that this is probably the best place to stay [for sleeping,relaxing] in matabungkay but it is definitely not the place to eat or swim [beach swimming].

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank fatespinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2010

We are from the UK but know the Philippines well and have just stayed in the Coral Beach Club in Matabungkay. As we had a bit of a sweaty and fraught journey from Manila to get there (plus we were separated at the bus station!) it was fantastic to arrive and meet up at an oasis of calm as the sun set beyond the beach, with a cold beer promptly delivered from the wonderful staff at the resort. Having spent 3 days there and explored a bit, I have to say this resort is the ONLY decent place to stay on Matabunkay Beach, it was quiet, very relaxed, the food and service terrific and it was great to meet the owners around the bar in the evening. And with kids, the cycle of pool to beach swimming was perfect. Highly recommended and thanks to Teresa, Neil, Mike and their staff that made the stay so good - enjoy the World Cup on your big screen! regards, Simon Taylor

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank SDBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila,
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

It was an overnight stay with family and some friends, we arrived early and it was a good thing that they allowed us to check in earlier than usual. We got the supposedly best room (Deluxe). Room was okay except that there was not enough light and bed foam is a bit too thin.
We did not bother to try the restaurant because it was INDEED, pricey. Tapsilog for example is 260 pesos. What we did, we contracted a woman named Daisy Candelaria who also owns a raft/balsa to cook lunch and dinner for us. It was very good - grilled pork chop, fresh tilapia and sinigang including rice and coke. We had lunch at the raft (which we rented for 800 pesos).
The beach area is "swimmable" but it's quite open to the public and there are lots of rafts/balsa in front of the beach area, and quite rocky too. There was a dog swimming too.
Lots of foreigners at night and the area of the whole resort is not very big. So if you plan to have an intimate weekend getaway with lots of beach swimming and sun bathing, this might not be for you.
Swimming pool begins at 4feet so children too young opted to stay in the jacuzzi which is somehow used as a kiddie pool.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabby_dear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lian
0.6 mi away
Matabungkay Beach Resort & Hotel
23.7 mi away
Eagle Point Resort
Eagle Point Resort
#1 of 7 in Mabini
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
55.0 mi away
Virgin Beach Resort
Virgin Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in Laiya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Chateau Royale Hotel Resort and Spa
1.7 mi away
White Castle Resort & Hotel
9.4 mi away
Canyon Cove Beach Club
Canyon Cove Beach Club
#2 of 4 in Nasugbu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Beach Club

Property: Coral Beach Club
Address: Matabungkay Beach, Lian, Luzon 4216, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > Lian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Coral Beach Club, fun and relaxation comes in many forms. Indulge in activities like snorkeling, fishing, golf or billiards. Less than 2 hours drive from Manila, the resort is perfect for vacationers and urban dwellers seeking a relaxing getaway. Guests can delight in excellent European and Asian cuisines, relax in the resort's pool and jacuzzi or tee off at the nearby Calatagan Golf Club a majestic Robert Trent Jones Jr. championship design. The Spa is on our premises offering many services, including the indulgent Hot Stones Massage and hair salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Beach Club Hotel Lian
Coral Beach Hotel
Coral Beach Club Batangas/Lian, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing