We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best Resorts!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matabungkay Beach Resort & Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Matabungkay Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lian
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the Best Resorts!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

First, let me walk everyone here from the gates....Well secured with courteous security guards patrolling every night. The staff are very polite with excellent customer service skills. The restaurants are well appointed, the waitresses are very hospitable. Food and drinks are expensive but worth it. If you want a cheaper one, you may find them outside of the resort. The pools are clean and the kids enjoyed it and enough room to sun bathe. All the amenities are top class. The beach is large enough for a walk but the waters are to shallow and you cannot swim. But the good thing is that when it's low tide, you will find many interesting sea creatures floating and lots of starfish. The rooms are traditional and HUGE. We had the 2 bedroom suite and can fit almost up to ten person. I like the feeling of traditional rooms than modern as long as it's clean. I just wish there is a microwave and coffeemaker.

Room Tip: Affordable but not cheap, priced well. Don't expect a modern room because this is not a hotel bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    49
    31
    19
    17
See reviews for
70
20
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We went at Matabungkay Beach Reasort and Hotel last weekend and it was a pleasant stay. Their lobby/reception area is welcoming and check-in was smooth. Concierge even help us carry our bags to our room. The room that we've got is beachfront, it is big however it needs a little improvement. I think they should include fridge on their room amenities due during the hot summer days, guest would want to have something cold to drink without going to their bar or restaurant. Overall, the resort is clean and safe enough and the staff are friendly and accommodating. My son had a blast both on the beach and on their swimming pool. I would recommend this place to those who are not that finicky when it comes to choosing a beach resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basti_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our family came here for the weekend and it was a pleasant stay. The reception/lounge areas were very welcoming and already there was a Christmassy feeling with the huge Xmas tree in the lobby - it made the place look festive.

The pros:
- The bedsheets were clean
- The TV worked.
- Good food at the restaurant
- The pool was clean
- The grounds seemed to be fairly maintained.
- Staff are friendly enough and service is okay.

The cons:
- We had a little cottage and while it was adequate, it was a little worn. Some refurbishment would do wonders.
- The spiral staircase going up to the bedroom was tiny and a little scary to use - I hope they can remodel with a better staircase that isn't an accident waiting to happen.
- There were mosquitoes, too. Perhaps the hotel should provide repellents or use some sort of fumigation on the grounds.
- There was no hot water and when we asked for someone to fix the problem, a guy did come in to have a look and that's where it ended - nothing was done about it (if there was no hot water in the first place they shouldn't have advertised it was available).
- The beach was a little disappointing - you can't swim in it since it only came up to your knees
- No outside food was allowed in, you had to pay otherwise. We ventured outside the hotel for dinner on our first night and found some affordable options.

There are boat trips being offered at the beach and there are facilities for barbecuing (for a fee). It drizzled during our stay but it was still a good weekend for the family. I would recommend this place if you're not really expecting much in the way of facilities or swimming on a beach. It's a good option for day-trippers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amaranth_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

The location is good but the beach could be much better maintained. The room we got which is on the beach was absolutely terrible. The reservation staff lied to us twice: once on the phone for the reservation and the second was to our face when we arrived. They claimed that the hotel was fully booked and that the only room available happened to be the most expensive. However the bar staff later said the occupancy is only 30% but our personal observations were around 20%. THEY LIED TO US TO GET US INTO A MORE EXPENSIVE ROOM. The room was very old with no airconditioning in the living room and next to zero water pressure in the shower and no hot water which makes removing sand difficult. We also banged our heads several times on the porch awning. Beach volleyball area is not maintained at all and ended up with a bad scrap on my leg. Security treat you like a prisoner when you go to check out by closing the gate and staring at you like they want to kill you. Still trying to figure out what they're afraid you did to the room or stole. Takes 30-45 minutes to check out.

Only saving graces? Excellent fish and chips, ice cold beer, and great service in the rest. Wish we could have slept in the restaurant.

Room Tip: If you will stay there, demand a room on the inside near the parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Hunter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Went with my friends to Matabungkay for the weekend. Didn't expect a concert there, but since we're all for having a good time, we paid an extra PhP200 to enter the cordoned-off area. The Bloomfields were playing -- a 60s inspired band, playing a lot of Beatles. It was a fun concert. No one was dancing though, so my friends and I were just dancing on the side. Good music though. We got to meet the band, too. That was fun.

The pica-pica's were served hot and were quite tasty. We had lots of beer and free ice cream.

Stayed in a deluxe room with extra beds. Ok naman. The main bed was comfortable and firm. But the extra beds were a bit saggy. No complaints about the cleanliness of the room. We were provided the usual toiletries like shampoo, soap, toothbrushes, towels. Heard they renovated some parts of the resort, unfortunately, we didn't get rooms in that part. I was curious.

Took a stroll by the beach and a morning swim in the pool -- refreshing and fun. Had a late breakfast of tocilog the day after -- yummy. Staff were friendly and accommodating with our requests and orders. Kinda wish there was wi-fi in the whole resort -- not just the lobby -- so I could check my mail whenever I wanted. But then again, when you're out of town, you shouldn't be spending all your time online.

For a quick weekend out of town, the place is not bad. Reasonable price for good facilities. Nice road trip back to Manila, eating bulalo in Tagaytay before finally getting back to the city. For a quick break from the usual, Matabungkay is ok.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne21Manila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Two years already, my family and I keep going to Matabungkay. We like the place very much since it's easy enough to get to via car (about 2-3 hours). My 2 kids like to splash in the swimming pool for hours, which allows us parents like to just relax.

We stayed in the deluxe room and paid for extra beds for the kids, so ok naman. The room is rahter big and comfortable, although kinda old pero it's not bad. The deluxe room has a big restroom and the shower is ok, too. Clean and comfortable. We like it that there is extra room to hang our wet bathing suits and towels. The aircon can get very cold in the evening or early morning though, so one of us has to turn it to low because there is no remote control.
The staff is very helpful and smiling all the time. Best time to go here is early in the summer so it’s not so full of people. Always, we go home with a nice tan. This is our fourth time there. If you're looking for a place na affordable and decent, ok yun Matabungkay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MannyG115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spending a great long weekend by the shore of matabungkay beach resort and hotel was very relaxing... nice activity, very warm accommodations and the staff are very helpful.

Superb food, you must go back and spend the rest of your vacation with your love once.

Room Tip: Get a large room for a group of 6 at the 3rd floor coooooozzzzzzzzzyyyyyy and relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 23slim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lian
0.6 mi away
Coral Beach Club
Coral Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Lian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
23.3 mi away
Eagle Point Resort
Eagle Point Resort
#1 of 7 in Mabini
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
54.9 mi away
Virgin Beach Resort
Virgin Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Laiya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Chateau Royale Hotel Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
White Castle Resort & Hotel
10.2 mi away
Canyon Cove Beach Club
Canyon Cove Beach Club
#2 of 4 in Nasugbu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matabungkay Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matabungkay Beach Resort & Hotel

Property: Matabungkay Beach Resort & Hotel
Address: Brgy. Matabungkay, Lian, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > Lian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Matabungkay Beach Resort & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Matabungkay Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matabungkay Beach Resort And Hotel
Matabungkay Beach Hotel Lian
Matabungkay Beach Resort & Hotel Batangas/Lian, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing