We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Family Lunch” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dormy House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dormy House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 West Runton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kouklia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing Family Lunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

7 family members booked a lunch at 2 days notice. On arrival, there was a table of 12 who had just started their main course. There was another table of 4 just ordering. After we had ordered our main course, we waited 65 minutes before it reached the table. There was no explanation from the staff, nor the offer of nibbles while we waited. The meals - 2 carvery plates & 5 al a carte - were very ordinary. The waitress overheard our talk about celebrating a special occasion and returned to the table with a card signed by all the staff. That was a nice touch, but not enough to recover the situation. Unfortunately, the parents like the carvery, so they will probably return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DuggieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    31
    18
    12
    8
See reviews for
47
60
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a fantastic break at this lovely hotel in west Runton, in between Cromer and Sheringham. We cannot fault the place which at times we felt we had the run of as it was so quiet. The room was all we could ask for and they ensured we had enough room for our baby's travel cot. A fridge was also in our room which was great for storing baby food. Lovely views and extremely cosy and warm. The only possible area for development is possibly a revamp of decor and new updated bathroom suites but they were by no means shabby and completely serviceable and acceptable.

We ate both evenings in the restaurant, the first night was extremely quiet but the quality of the food and service could not be faulted...the battered fish was thoroughly recommended by my husband. On the second evening it was a little busier due to the rotary club holding their weekly meeting there so that meant I could try the carvery which was also delicious. On both evenings we had a bottle of the red pinotage which was an excellent quality wine for a very good price!

We cannot recommend this place enough and will definitely be back!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and myself stayed here for a night the weekend after Christmas. The weather was atrocious so we didn't explore the area, the village was probably a few minutes walk I guess. We had a lovely, warm comfortable room at the back of the hotel with a sea view. You could hear the odd banging and crashing from the kitchen at meal times but it wasn't that intrusive. We ate in the restaurant and had some drinks both at the table and at the small bar. The food was fine and the next mornings breakfast was very good indeed, well cooked and of good quality. The staff were very friendly, especially the receptionist when we booked in. When we checked out the girl behind the bar was very dismissive and verging on rude which although annoying didn't detract from the stay. We would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lighthousesweeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I took my parents there for a Sunday lunch and the lady on reception was helpful, the bar was pack with no one serving. When a waitress did bother to attend to the bar she was slow, rude to the waiting customers, and was certainly in no rush to reduce the waiting customers. On entering the dining room we waited over twenty minutes for a waitress to come to take our drinks order. By the time we had gone up to the buffet, ate the meal, the drinks still had not turned up. I asked for the bill and the waitress got very upset we were not going to have our drinks! That never made it to the table. Absolutely disgusted at the service and the rudeness of the staff. Never again will I go back there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 9155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

A very restful week staying with 2 elderly relatives. The food continues to be good (our 4th visit there), and the staff friendly and helpful. There is a carvery each evening, plus a selection of other meals that are cooked to order. Excellent breakfasts, choice of cereals, juice, porridge, plus or minus a full cooked breakfast which you serve yourself from the carvery area. The rooms are clean and comfortable. It was lovely to see the close knit family unit running the hotel with their dedicated team of staff who have been there for several years.
Ideally situated for travelling around Norfolk, and although it is on a bus route, use of a car is preferable.
Only one point to comment on, previous years as the 'only wine drinker' I have been able to buy a bottle of wine at the evening meal, and drink it over 2 or 3 evenings. (works out cheaper than buying wine by the glass of course!) This year the choice was between a glass of wine or a half/full caraffe, the latter being a larger quantity than required and not so suitable for keeping from day to day.
Looking forward to our return next year!

Room Tip: Avoid a room at the back of the hotel which is near the fans from the kitchen, it can be very noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandj020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I have just spent one night at the Dormy House Hotel. My husband is disabled and relys on a wheel chair. We thought the hotel was good. Food was very good. Had the Carvery in the evening, we thought that was excellent. Staff were very friendly. Room was very clean. and all in all we would give this hotel 9/10/

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had a last minute telephone booking for 2 nights BB&EM. as the Hotel we were going to stay at was not up to our standard. The receptionist greeted us very warmly and took us to see the bedroom, it was on the top floor in the roof space, but very clean, plenty of roof light windows, twin beds that were ok, We had a very good evening meal and spent the evening in the Lounge. Breakfast on both mornings were very good the last evening meal was also excellent and as the evening was lovely and warm we had drinks on the outside decking.
On leaving the Hotel after breakfast we were very please with the Bill which had our drinks from the Bar included. We will definitely stay at the Dormy House Hotel again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woodyLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Runton
2.9 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
2.7 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
1.9 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy House Hotel

Property: Dormy House Hotel
Address: Cromer Road, West Runton, Cromer NR27 9QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer > West Runton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in West Runton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the pretty village of West Runton discover the natural beauty of the small coastal Norfolk village of West Runton, it is in an ideal place to stay for playing Golf, Horse-riding, Fishing, or enjoying beautiful country and coastal walks with nearby bird watching facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your Dormy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy House Hotel West Runton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing