We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food”
Review of The Star Inn

The Star Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lessingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Star Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Lessingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crawley
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The staff are very friendly and the food is extremely good, very well presented and delicious. It was so nice to be able to take our dog Rosie inside and to be made to feel so welcome. I too wish it was my local.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FussyCrawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We came here for dinner when we were staying nearby for a wedding. Great food, big portions. Staff were really friendly and it had a great 'local' feel, whilst being extremely welcoming. We would definitely come back, just wish it was our local!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lovelyladyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burgess hill
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Recommended to us by Rookery Barn Ingham. Were welcomed as locals by everyone, staff and customers alike. Felt right at home with the warm atmosphere. The log fire was lovely, the beer was excellent and the food was beyond compare. Fabulously cooked and presented in a cosy little room off from the main bar. Have been back many times and it doesn't change.
Are always remembered. Love it.

Room Tip: Phone them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We visit The Star Inn at least once a year for a weekend and it really is our little part of heaven. The rooms are gorgeous and Sue always puts us up in the Hurcules room. A beautiful Double room decorated in red and the most goreous solid beams. It is not a massive room but the bed is soooo comfy. It has a small LCD T.V, tea and coffee making facilities and a small fridge.

The area is gorgeous and I have been coming here for years. The beach is worth a trip as is Cromer, Norwich, Gt Yarmouth and Happisbourgh.

The area is so quiet, the locals friendly (ignorant when it comes to their driving), the prices fair and the drinks and food at the Inn are great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This is the second time we've stayed here and its a great place. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and the decor is great. The breakfast, you'l be well catered for, choose the full english, you wont need to eat for the rest of the day. Its well worth booking your meals there as well. The chef is amazing and the food quality, quantity and choice won't disappoint. The owners Sue and Mick are so friendly and they keep an excellent cellar, the real ales are perfect. The Inn is warm and welcoming and in a lovely peaceful location and super dog friendly. Well worth a visit to stay, eat or just drop in for a drink. One tip though, you may be better booking a meal in advance, they are very popular and book up fast especially sunday lunch.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trishalouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed for one night on the 29th December this year, booking in without much notice. Although The Star is very small (accommodation is just two rooms in a converted stable to the back of the pub) plans were made to check in which suited us best.

When we arrived, Sue introduced herself and made us feel very welcome. We'd had a long drive and it was lovely to find the room was extremely welcoming and cosy - with an really comfortable bed - it was bliss.

We came into the bar for a quick nightcap, and Sue and her husband couldn't have been more welcoming. We had eaten but the food looked delicious, there were a couple of couples around the fire finishing off their meals and it was a perfect Christmassy setting - I bet the locals love this couple. Sue was handing out muffins like we were all her family - I bet for some of the locals she is just as good!

We slept really well, and had Sue fussing over us and the other couple staying - they had a very well behaved dog with them (we didn't even know it was there) and Sue ensured that their dog had enough food (and chews!) if you have a well behaved dog they will receive a warm welcome here! We had a delicious plate of salmon and scrambled eggs each, we have stayed at 5 star hotels and not had breakfast anywhere near as good.

We then went down to Sea Palling for a walk along the beach before going off to visit family (tip here is to get someone to run down to the front and check the tide before you pay for parking if you go to Cart Gap, as we did - the council must make good money out of people being in the car park for five minutes and not being able to get to the beach and having to go to Sea Palling, paying twice for parking in half an hour!)

You have to remember that you are in Norfolk - not London - so if you are looking for a high quality of basic accommodation without the flashing lights, The Star is absolutely perfect, the welcome cannot be faulted.

Room Tip: I would say The Star is perfect for walkers, dog owners, and ideal if you have family with you as yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newflat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lessingham
3.4 mi away
Wayford Bridge Inn
Wayford Bridge Inn
#1 of 2 in Stalham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ingham Swan
The Ingham Swan
#1 of 3 in Ingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
4.5 mi away
Olde Hall Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast
3.2 mi away
The White House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn

Property: The Star Inn
Address: School Road, Lessingham, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Lessingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lessingham
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing