We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“White sand and blue water”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Playa Laiya

Playa Laiya
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in San Juan
Attraction details
Makati, Nueva Vizcaya, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“White sand and blue water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

During the time I visited, the beach was not crowded and the hotel we stayed (Vrigin resort) had its own private beach which was clean and nicely maintained. The water was very calm and you feel as if you are in a swimming pool. It was an excellent relaxing time.
The food was not so good but OK. Don't select the set menu if you go there. Nice and friendly staff.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CPD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    29
    19
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calamba, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Its More Fun in Laiya”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Last Saturday (Feb. 4, 2012), I together w/ my boyfriend's officemates went to Laiya, San Juan Batangas. We stayed at Casa Dolores in a Nipa Hut. We are almost 20persons.

We took the route from San Pablo to Tiaong then to San Juan which took us almost 3hours of jeepney ride. We arrived there almost lunch time. After eating heavily, we enjoyed the unlimited videoke. Then once the sun had set already, we almost walked on the seashore. The sand was not as white and fine as to Panglao. But the water is clear. It was low tide at that time. Dadhi's officemates went to pick up some seashells.

Whole day was spent inuman and kantahan at the videoke. Same as the next morning. THey just enjoyed the beach as it is unlimited and clear.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay although the trip was really exhausting. On our way home we took Lipa for a lighter trip which just took almost 2hrs.

Laiya is really advisable for those who want clear beach, calm place, scenic views, etc. Don't forget that it is also good at night wherein different nearby resorts lit their areas with beautiful. Also, at night there is some fireworks display which you will enjoy at its best ;)

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Xue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The beach is very clean compared to most I have seen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

The best part for me was that the sand is from stones and not fine like you see at most other beaches. You can simply wash it off unlike the other you later find it in your shorts, ears and in your bags six months later.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Outta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
219 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“The nicest beach 2 1/2 hours from Manila”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Easy to get to, uncrowded and beautiful. a must for anyone in Manila on business with a day and night to spare.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank koolkookaburra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Has Potential...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

I likethe food and ambiance..I do not likethe beach and totality of service.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KingArthurCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Laiya also viewed

San Juan, Batangas Province
Batangas City, Batangas Province
 
Batangas City, Batangas Province
 

Been to Playa Laiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing