We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely romantic homely cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
The entrance to the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The entrance to the cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
The entrance to the cottage
The cottages from the garden
Garden and The Borrowers
Supper for two
Your welcome pack
The kitchen
The coffee menu
Soak away the cares of the day!
Bathroom
Relax and watch Phil the resident pheasant from the decking
The old well
Ducks nest here
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Banham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SGibbo
Spalding, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely romantic homely cottage”
Reviewed February 4, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This is our second visit here, having visited a few years ago as we loved it so much! Darlene and Alex gave us another lovely welcome and we particularly enjoyed all the homemade extras especially the strawberry and pimms jam to go on our scones. Nice relaxing break, even though the weather was cold it was snug inside and we love the heated flooring. Thanks again for another perfect stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2018
It was so lovely to see you both again and we are so pleased that your return visit was as relaxing for you as your first. We look forward to seeing you again soon - especially as The Borrowers is now officially a 5* rating and there will be lots of new things for you to enjoy! Kindest regards. Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dixonbob6...
Ryton-On-Dunsmore, United Kingdom
1 review
“New Year at The Borrowers”
Reviewed January 3, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We wanted to stay somewhere dog friendly to attend my grand daughter's 3rd birthday. We found somewhere lovely, with its own array of animals both wild and domestic. It was the end of December ... probably not the best time to visit Norfolk. But wrapped up in our cosy cottage it was fine. And the local produce in our welcome pack perfect :-)
I could go on and on but suffice to say this is one to save in my book for a return visit, perhaps when the weather is better.
Thanks to Alex and Dalene for their attention to detail. The little things are so important.
Good luck for 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2018
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we do try to make everyone's visit as special as we can and it makes us so happy when we succeed. The array of animals both wild and domestic also includes the hosts:)))) We look forward to seeing you again here at Olde Farm. Kindest regards. Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biscuitg
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect, from the welcome pack to the perfect hosts who have made an idyllic retreat.”
Reviewed January 3, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Dalene and Alex have created a beautiful place to relax and unwind. The accommodation is the very highest standard, the garden is amazing and the welcome they give is incredible, nothing is too much trouble for them. We had aBbq in the Smial on Christmas eve and they had decorated to make it truly magical. Thank you for a perfect holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2018
It was so lovely to welcome you both again to stay with us and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we do try to make everyone's visit as special as we can by going that extra mile and it makes us so happy when we succeed - I had great fun turning the BBQ hut into Santa;s Grotto. We look forward to seeing you again here at Olde Farm later in the year. Kindest regards. Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2017
It was our pleasure to have you to stay with us and we are so pleased that you would want to come back! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kindest regards. Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ForbeseUK
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unbelievably brilliant experience”
Reviewed November 2, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Never before have we found such a brilliant place to stay in England.

The location is fantastic to explore Norfolk and Suffolk where there is so much to see and do all year round, everything reachable within an hour drive from Holkham Hall to Framlingham.

The accomodation is spotless for starters but so well equiped, bring nothing! Never have we found accomodation that literally has everything already there and in great working order. There is also a welcome pack that wants for nothing.

Then, there are your hosts, Dalene and Alex. Beautiful people who only care that your stay is outstanding. Ask them anything and it will happen. It's rare to find such a couple and they are now firm friends.

Finally, just how spacious, beatifully furnished and stylish could accomodation be? Well, this is it, a home from home (and better) we could honestly live here if they would have us.

We write this review with fear that too many people will find the Borrowers then, we might not get the availability when we want it but it is so outstanding that credit must be given to the owners who are doing something rather ecceptional here.

We shall return ...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2017
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it always makes us happy to know that we have made our guests stay as special as we can. We look forward to seeing you again here at Olde Farm. Kindest regards. Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox-Fered...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Third visit”
Reviewed September 11, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Like the title states, this is our third visit to this wonderful place. If you want a home from home you would be daft not to book this gorgeous place.

The welcome pack which includes homemade goodies and much more is worth booking this place.

The secure garden is huge and has lots of garden nooks and seating. There is a fantastic children's play area but unfortunately the over forties are banned.

We used the fully kitted out BBQ hut again which is magical at night.

Deleine and Alex are so welcoming and even though our lurcher wants to eat their cats he always gets a warm welcome too.

If you book this place you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2017
It was so lovely to see you all again - even the would be cat eater Mr P:) We do try to make everyone's stay with us as special as possible and nothing makes us happier than when we succeed and people visit us again - the welcome pack is perhaps our USP and one we are justifiable proud of offering. Perhaps we should make an exception for the over 40s in the play area - "Banham Airport & Cruise Terminal" is now open to all - next time you come please make sure you take full advantage of it. See you all again soon. Kindest regards, Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
misscarla...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful”
Reviewed July 24, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed in The Borrowers for 3 nights and it was just perfect! Dalene and Alex greeted us as we arrived and showed us around. A lovely selection of goodies awaited us such as prosecco chocolates flowers.. local ham and homemade scones and bread and lots more. The grounds are just stunning with so many areas to go to relax. We will certainly be returning. Thank you both for a wonderful stay :) xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2017
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was lovely to meet you both. We look forward to seeing you again at Olde Farm. Kindest regards. Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing