We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect family get away”
other travelers have booked this property
THE BEE'S KNEES
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
THE BEE'S KNEES
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
THE BEE'S KNEES
View of the cottage across the gardens
Garden from across the farm pond where Moorhens and ducks nest
View of the cottages across the farm pond
Across the pond in Autumn
Front door - Welcome!
I live next door!
Living area and kitchen
Double Bedroom
View towards the Gazebo
The henhouse
Peacock butterflies are regular visitors
Ducks and moorhens live on the pond
Gazebo in which to enjoy that early evening drink and the last of the suns rays
Picnic overlooking the pond
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Banham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
629claire...
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect family get away”
Reviewed May 3, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Nothing negative to say at all about the house and the wonderful hospitality of Dalene and Alex. Lots of help running up to the stay with some great restaurant recommendations, and an amazing welcome pack on arrival! Home made scones, jam and a bottle of prosecco to wash it all down with. Dalene and Alex had even remembered it was my husband's birthday and there was a card and balloon waiting for him! The setting is gorgeous. Peaceful, yet plenty for the children to do. The outside BBQ summer house is wonderful. We will definitely be booking again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2016
Thank you Claire and we are so pleased that you had such a good stay with us that you want to come back - nothing makes us happier than for our guests to be happy and to share with them our little bit of Norfolk Paradise. It was so lovely to hear the children's laughter in the gardens as they played with the pugs - Horatio is missing his friends! Look forward to seeing you again. Kindest regards, Dalene, Alex and the Pugs!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaricha...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Totally amazing weekend”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The most lovely cottage with everything you could wish for- so clean, comfortable and wonderfully decorated. Welcome pack of prosecco, scones, jam and cream and a fridge full of food. Just lovely. And the gardens are so lovely. My two boys just loved all the animals too. Will definitely be back and recommend to anyone. Thank you so much for making my husbands birthday treat so lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2016
It was our pleasure to have you to stay with us and had we known it was a birthday we would have got you a balloon also! We look forward to having you to stay again with us - Horatio is missing his playmates already. One of your friends have already been in touch about coming to stay - thank you for the recommendation!! Kindest regards to you all. Just one thing can you send the sunshine back - it seems to have left with you:) Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen F
Hadleigh, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply the best cottage ever!”
Reviewed March 18, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My friends and I wanted a 'girly' weekend away, I researched all the cottages in the area and I can honestly say I found the perfect one with the perfect owners! We were welcomed with gusto by the owners, they have thought of everything, you simply cannot think of anything the cottage doesn't have. An extensive welcome pack (more like a weekly shop) with homemade scones, clotted cream, homemade jam to mention just a few Beautifully furnished, with the very latest DVDs, Netflix, Sky oh and the most amazing fire! The gardens are gorgeous, we didn't get chance to try out the indoor barbecue but we will next time! Yes that's right, we are going back! I do hope you didn't hear us laughing and screaming at the horror films we watched, it was the perfect tonic to our hectic lives and we can't wait to see you again real soon xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2016
It was a pleasure to have you all to stay and we are so glad that you had such a good time together. It makes us very happy if we make our guests happy. Hopefully next time you will get to use the BBQ and we look forward to seeing you all again soon. Kindest regards. Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Thoughtful, tranquil, clean and comfortable”
Reviewed March 12, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed in the Bees Knees, the other cottage looked beautiful as well. The cottage was clean, warm and comfortable, with a splendid view of the ducks! Dalene and Alex provided a starter pack that was so yummy and perfectly judged that we ended up buying very few extras - until we had a bag of naughty chips in Aldeburgh.
Comfy sofa, smart finishes to the decor, great kitchen, why bother to stay anywhere else.
There is a fine line between privacy and friendliness when staying in rentals or B&Bs and this wonderful, lovely, friendly couple do it with ease and charm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen
Liked least: I liked everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2016
It was a pleasure to have you both to stay and we are so pleased that we made you feel so welcome and comfortable, we do try to go that extra mile and it makes us so happy when it is successful. We look forward to seeing you again and being 'Norfolk neighbours'. Kindest regards. Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guide2005...
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed March 7, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My partner and I had an amazing stay at the bees knees, all you could ever want and more. Dalene and Alex were very welcoming and friendly. The cottage was beautifully decorated, cosy and clean. The kitchen had everything you could want from home. Lots of herbs and spices in the pantry so we didn't have to buy lots of added extras to make a meal. Would stay here again and recommend in a heart beat. Thank you again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 9, 2016
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we do try to make every guest's stay with us as special as we can and it makes us so happy when we succeed. It was a delight to meet you all. Kindest regards Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 17, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2016
Thank you for your kind words Carole and it was a pleasure to have you to stay with us. I am sorry that we could not do anything about the weather - but we do try to make sure that once guests are inside the cottages they want for nothing! We look forward to seeing you again when hopefully the sun will shine and you can enjoy exploring the gardens - I have great plans for them in the Spring and Summer! Kindest regards Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Balaam8
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“"Blown away"”
Reviewed January 11, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We were looking for a cottage in the country with the comforts of home and countryside to walk our dog, well finding the bees knees ticked all the boxes so we booked. Let me tell you that when we arrived we were stunned at how we underestimated how lovely this place is. We were met with such friendly and accommodating hosts and given the tour. The property is so amazingly catered for with everything you could ever think you may need while away, as a chef I was over the moon with the range of cooking appliance and layout. The rooms spacious and so clean it was wonderful. I could go on and on but believe me it was really a great stay and we will definitely be back and have already shared with colleagues and friends. Well done Alex and Dalene!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 13, 2016
Thank you Matt and Emily and it was a pleasure to have you and the divine Ruby to stay with us. We are beyond happy that we were able to make a professional chef happy - and the added bonus was the delicious dish you shared with us!! We have always tried to ensure that the cottages are the one that we would want to stay in and it is wonderful to have such a firm affirmation of our efforts from guests. We look forward to seeing you and your colleagues and friends in 2016 and sharing Olde Farm with them. Dalene & Alex
ps: The Smial misses you:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing