We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet delight”
Review of big blue backyard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
big blue backyard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the African Hideaway for our 5th anniversary last weekend and had a very relaxing time. The highlight would have to be the warmth of Paul and Lisa and the amazing food. We had read reviews before we arrived but the food was quite spectacular and so fresh.
It is a nice part of the world to just relax and unwind!
thankyou again to our wonderful hosts and we will be returning for sure.
Miranda and Ward

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docmiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 199 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed in the 'Beach Hideaway' for our 1st anniversary. It had been a year since we had stayed in this exact same place for our wedding weekend and all I can say is that it's still amazing as always. You can't help but relax when your here and the hospitality from Lisa and Paul is second to none, not to mention the amazing food. The Big Blue Backyard holds a special place in our hearts and we will definately be returning again and again to this wonderful B&B.

Can't be recommended enough.

Room Tip: Beach Hideaway is nice and secluded and themed to perfection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Big Blue Backyard for our 10th wedding anniversary and we could think of no better place to have spent it!!
We stayed in the African getaway room. the decor was gorgeous and the bed was luxurious! The Olie and Olieve products are also superb!
From the smiley, friendly greeting from Lisa upon arrival to the deliciously amazing breakfasts both mornings, it was like staying with fabulous old friends who everyone wants to know!
On our anniversay night we were treated to a simply scrumptious 3 course dinner prepared by Paul and Lisa, which was TO DIE FOR!! Then rolled our full bellies out to the outdoor spa and relaxed under the stars and moon. it felt like we were the only people on the planet!
In the words of Molly Meldrum... do yourself a favour - and stay at BBB! We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaniM05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My partner and I stayed in the Beach Getaway room for two nights and were not disappointed in any way. Lisa and Paul are lovely people and made us feel more than welcome. The three course dinner and breakfasts each morning were second to none. The room consists of top quality furniture, linen and bathroom fittings. The clenliness was immaculate and the room was freshened up to original standard whilst we were out and about for the day. I would recommend this little piece of paradise to anyone in a heartbeat. Well worth every cent!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jksmith000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Big Blue Backyard - Blissfully beautiful beyond belief.
Plus Paul's picture-perfect platters, priceless.
What a way to while away a weekend.
BBB offers sophisticated simplicity to those seeking peace and tranquility a perfect refuge for any occasion.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Alison E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 10 year anniversary at Big Blue Backyard and it was perfect. Lisa is an excellent accommodating hostess and the food was amazing. Would definitely recommend to couples looking for time away alone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My mum and bridesmaid and myself stayed at the bush getaway the night before my wedding. The dinner was delicious and we felt very spoilt. The breakfast was delicious and we felt so relaxed getting our hair and make up done in this peacefull setting.

The next night they transformed the room into our wedding night accommodation and we loved the personal touches - the note on the back of the bathroom door to my new husband and I was so sweet.

We all loved this pace and Lisa and Paul made it so wonderful.

We will be back

Thanks again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Andrews Beach
3.5 mi away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
515 reviews
10.1 mi away
Flinders Hotel
Flinders Hotel
#1 of 2 in Flinders
233 reviews
1.6 mi away
Peppers Moonah Links Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harmony Bed & Breakfast
3.8 mi away
Views Hotel Spa Events
Views Hotel Spa Events
#1 of 2 in Cape Schanck
133 reviews
10.4 mi away
Lindenderry at Red Hill
Lindenderry at Red Hill
#1 of 1 in Red Hill
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to big blue backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about big blue backyard

Address: 56 Paradise Dr, St. Andrews Beach, Victoria 3941, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > St. Andrews Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews Beach
Price Range: $453 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — big blue backyard 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded barefoot luxury on the Mornington Peninsula.Smell the salt as you wind your way up Paradise Drive. An ankle height sign on the side of the road shows you into a treed canopied parking space...are you in the right place? A friendly welcome confirms you are and propels you along a boardwalk through the tangle of ti-tree toyour secret hideaway. Private, spacious, welcoming,all the time you can hear the ocean!This Award Winning, ocean beach hideaway for couples is ideally positioned to access all the bounty this stunning Peninsula has to offer. Tucked away enough to retreat and indulge. Meandering paths will lead you through the indigenous garden to the Chef’s kitchen filled with local produce or follow the blue painted stones over the dunes, to the stunning and often deserted St Andrews Beach.Each secluded hideaway, offers a spacious living area,light filled en-suite and sundrenched, sheltered deck with a double spa bath. Bathe by moonlight to the sound of bush and sea.Delicious long tray breakfasts are delivered each morning.Romantic candlelight dinners, prepared on request are served to the hideaway. A unique private dining experience!Friendly, discreet service creates an exceptional Australian experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your big blue backyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Backyard St. Andrews Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing