We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spot in the Woods
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Woodlands Lodge Hotel(Woodlands)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Rabbit(Lyndhurst)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lime Wood Hotel(Lyndhurst)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (631)
Filter reviews
634 results
Traveler rating
494
115
18
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
494
115
18
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel terravinafood and wineroll top bathtasting menunew forestlavender toiletriesvin douxmini barspecial occasionribeye steakcoffee machineterra vinarubber duckprivate roomopen kitchenmain courseattention to detail
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
333 - 338 of 634 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed at La TerraVina last Friday to celebrate my husband's birthday, and we had a lovely mini-break, made even more special by the room upgrade we were given. Stayed in Canteiro, which was a apacious room on the back overlooking the garden - very quiet, very comfortable and large bed and superb bathroom. Very good in-room facilities, including espresso coffee making and kettle chips! We opted for the 6-course tasting menu with wine. My overall comment on the food was that it was good, but not great; we have been lucky enough to eat at a few 1* restaurants, and I guess this has made us expect this standard, even though I knew La Terravene doesn't have a star. Service was good and the restaurant ambience is relaxed - more bistro style than quiet restaurant. My main reason for choosing La TerraVina was for the wines, and these did not disappoint, and my husband enjoyed talking to the Sommeliere. and he was certainly very knowledgable.
After a good night's sleep, breakfast was great - buffet for fruit and cereals and then a good choice of cooked breakfast, made fresh to order. All in all, a very nice stay; maybe a little pricey considering they don't have a star, but the room upgrade certainly made up for that. Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosieWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed recently (November 2013) on a special late availability deal before going on a short cruise from Southampton. We are so glad we stayed as it got the holiday off to such a great start
Can I just say at the start that this review is based on our opinion-I am sure like most people nowadays-that there isn’t much point paying out hard earned dosh for a hotel room if you could have a better night’s sleep and breakfast at home?
At hotel terravina this is never going to be an issue (we have stayed before) the welcome was very warm, the room and bed was lovely and comfortable (canteiro) with a huge roll top bath (there was also a separate shower wet room) with lashings of piping hot water – to be honest it took so much water to fill the bath we felt mildly guilty, so shared the bath water, neither of us being particularly grubby.
We are both vegetarian (not faddishly but long standing, as one of us used to work in a meat processing plant) and I am sure that causes many a chef’s heart to sink but at terravina there are great non- meat choices and the food is superbly tasty and generous.
The kitchen is open which really creates a bit of theatre and even though our second visit was a quieter Monday night we felt very comfortable and unrushed by the staff.
For breakfast we had premium items like Lizzi’s muesli, local yogurt with mango compote and more-ish freshly squeezed juice – (why do so many hotels serve that juice from concentrate, coloured sugar water?)
Cooked to order breakfast - A historic rarebit and a superb fried egg sandwich meant we left feeling really set up for the day
There is a terrace attached to the restaurant where you can sit outside in the summer and have a pre- dinner drink, when we stayed before we sat out here and there was a couple having an early supper with their two young children and even though we don’t have children we couldn’t help noticing how accommodating the staff appeared to be, arranging for the pudding and more wine to be delivered up to their room as one of the children was ready for bed
Ultimately - we turned up two very tired (slightly grumpy - in serious need of a holiday), wine loving, strict vegetarians and we could not have asked for a better stay, in fact one part of this twosome was heard to mention ‘could we stay here – like permanently?’
Thank you to all at terravina – we really look forward to returning

Room Tip: Top tip, room Ausbruch has a stunning roof terrace
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Docasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We've considered coming here for a meal before, but the name has given illusions of some kind of Italian restaurant or odd-looking Moorish building in the middle of the Forest. Not so, and couldn't be further from reality.

We booked a special meal for 4 as the future in-laws were over from France. They eat well, and we like to when we can, so the pressure was on not to let people down! I had no reason to worry, this was the nicest meal we've had in an English restaurant.

The building itself is a large old mansion tucked away in the Forest. The reception we received was warm and welcoming and after our coats were taken we were shown to the bar/lounge for aperitifs whilst we decided what to eat. Everyone was very friendly from start to finish, no pretensions here unlike some other good quality restaurants we've been to. The sommelier (not the famous one unfortunately!) was very friendly and knowledgeable and helped us pick two absolutely gorgeous wines which complimented our dinner choices perfectly. Impressive.

The food was exquisite. Presentation is what you'd expect at a Michelin restaurant, and the taste.......well, words do not do it justice. Simply sublime, all 3 courses.

The service was excellent throughout, the layout of the restaurant allows a lovely ambience, and everybody was enjoying themselves and their wine and meals. That says it all.

This is obviously not cheap, but not the most expensive either, and certainly value for money for the amazing experience. We will be coming back, and I hope it's soon (New Year's resolutions allowing!)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dunna100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We could not fault the prompt service and exceptional food on offer on a busy Sunday lunch. Seem less service complimented by quality food. Wine waiter was excellent with good knowledge of all wines on offer credit to attentive staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamela h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed here. A minor issue with our room was resolved sensibly. Finding a white Pedro Ximenez on the wine list gave us the confidence to hit the tasting menu with a different wine for each course. Great decision. Seven courses later we were understandably happy, highly impressed and comparing the meal most favourably with Michelin star experiences of a similar nature. At no time did we feel rushed and each wine was carefully explained by the very knowledgeable sommelier.
Most importantly for me as an OAP with digestion issues, the seven courses slipped down without later complaint which demonstrates the mastery of balance in the meal.
Not only will we be back but my son and girlfriend will enjoy the same experience as a Christmas present.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank 3sacloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews