We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, perfect location and welcoming.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Myself and my girlfriend stayed for two nights and we were both very pleased with our room, location and service. Tom and Gina's service stood out but all members of staff were very helpful and welcoming at all times. The hotel was located in a lovely area and close to nearby towns/villages/forest to visit with ease. We were also very pleased with our room which had fantastic views as well as spacious and comfortable. We will certainly consider staying there again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 579 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

We booked a deluxe room with a fireplace on a DBB basis to celebrate our wedding anniversary which I mentioned when booking online. On arrival we were shown to room 14 which had a nice view across to the forest and a fireplace which sadly had a decommissioned gas fire so no sitting by the fire as we had hoped! Other than that we have no idea why this room would be classified as deluxe, it was shabby, needing repainting and the window frame and other paintwork in the room was very dirty. We found the dinner menu very limited for a celebratory meal and would only rate the meal and service as average. We were served cold coffee (tasted instant) at breakfast which was then changed for a cafetiere of fresh coffee when we asked and the breakfast was cold before we could finish it. To be fair, we were compensated for our disappointment with the gas fire not working but with all of the other disappointments this made for a poor anniversary treat and we will probably not be returning in the future.

Room Tip: make sure you have a refurbished room
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank peeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at woodlands lodge for one night and were upgraded to a four poster room which was very kind of them. We took our dog and the hotel is very accommodating. We dealt with Tom who was very helpful from breakfast through to dinner! We had dinner in the hotel and the food was lovely and good value. Great location for walks although it was raining. Would definitely recommend

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Nunners173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

My husband and I wanted to go away for our anniversary and decided to go to the new forest. We stayed at the Woodlands Lodge for only 2 nights however we would have stayed longer if we had the chance. The hotel is brilliantly situated with a gate leading from the grounds straight into the new forest, where there are some beautiful walks. It is also not too far from Southampton town centre which has great shopping!!

The hotel staff were very friendly and any question or problem was attended to very quickly and efficiently. The hotel policy about dogs was fantastic, with our dog being given her own towel blanket and biscuit when we arrived, she was also welcome in almost anywhere within the hotel!!

We had our anniversary dinner at the restaurant at the hotel and the food was exquisite. Every single course was delicious and presented beautifully and professionally (personally the chocolate fondant was amazing and I could have eaten ten of them). Waiting staff were very friendly throughout the meal and both me and my husband loved every moment.

The woodland lodge surpassed our expectations. All three of us were made to feel very welcome and we had an amazing weekend away, and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

A very nice hotel, really friendly staff and well appointed rooms and excellent food,The setting is stunning just wished I had stayed for longer to explore the area I feel another trip coming on, but this time its not for business.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The Woodlands Lodge has just hosted our wedding and I must say that there was nothing that could be improved. Imogene has worked very hard and made sure that the big day was perfect and everything went to plan. Every one of the staff is helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. Our 30 something guests were all looked after and this really is a perfect location for a wedding. Planning a wedding is a very important event and it needs to be right. We got it right and the weekend was perfect. Thank you Imogene and all her staff.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

A wonderful restful weekend break. Excellent food and attentive staff. We arrived on Thursday and enjoyed a wonderful evening dinner with an execellent choice of menu. Food cooked to perfection.
Good sunny weather made it a most enjoyable time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rossendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodlands
2.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
8.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
748 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
390 reviews
5.9 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,756 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Lodge Hotel

Address: Bartley Road, Woodlands, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO40 7GN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woodlands
Price Range: $102 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodlands Lodge Hotel is a charming Country House hotel well away from main roads set in three acres that open directly onto Hampshire's New Forest. The perfect base to relax, walk or enjoy the local New Forest attractions. Woodlands Lodge Hotel can also host, conferences, weddings and special events. We have The Hunters Restaurant on site which is open to non-residents and has been awarded an AA rosette for culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Woodlands Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Woodlands
Woodlands Hotel Southampton
Woodlands Lodge Hotel New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing