We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is a genuine dog friendly hotel
The garden room was good size
The food was great and fresh and tasty
The hotel is genuinely dog friendly and you can eat your meals in the conservatory with your four legged friend as company
The housekeeper needs some extra detail but every thing else is great
If you want a nice hotel nice area with good service and food and genuinely dog friendly look no further if housekeeping duties were better then this would be a 5 pluss for me
The dogs get their own towels and blankets and even a treat
It is so nice to have a genuine dog friendly hotel of this calliper and great area well done
Our particular room was not clean but that was one person not doing job correctly not the hotel but as we stayed in that room it effected us so that is why we have given the low mark but that is not the case of the hotel in general and the lady on duty offered to rectify it but we were so tired but the housekeeper does need to do job better in all rooms

Room Tip: Room 17 is great for families and less mobile also if you have dogs Give it a try we're please...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farrington1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

490 - 496 of 634 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a night in August as we wanted to do some walking, cycling and relaxing in the New Forest. The location of the hotel is great - you can walk through the garden and straight into the New Forest.

We received a friendly welcome and were shown to our deluxe double room, which was quite nice. The room was nicely decorated and the bathroom was generally good. The only problem was the shower - it was great in the evening, but for a while in the morning there was no water at all - not ideal when you're standing there with shampoo in your hair and unable to wash it off! There was some noise from the corridor outside - banging doors etc - but I suppose this is pretty much unavoidable in most hotels.

We ate in the hotel restaurant, which was a good experience. We were served drinks in the lounge area overlooking the gardens while we looked at the menu. The service was great, and so was the food, especially the plate of four yummy desserts which we shared.

Overall, I'd highly recommend the New Forest for walking and cycling, and if we return I'd be happy to stay in this hotel again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gladioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Have just spent a very enjoyable few days with our family to celebrate our golden wedding anniversary at the Woodlands Lodge Hotel. Robert,Bob and Alex made our stay first class,the grand children quickly relaxed with the easy style of Bob and Alex in the dining room and loved the food, empty plates are always a good sign!! I would certainly recommend the restaurant where the food is well cooked, presented and of high quality, well done chef. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and hope to return in the future The efforts of everybody made out stay memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PicklesFarnborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights over the August bank holiday weekend and had an enjoyable time in pleasant surroundings which are well located and within easy reach of Southampton, Lyndhurst and other towns. Gardens are great and made for a very pleasant late Sunday afternoon in the sunshine.

The hotel restaurant is excellent and to be honest the food quality came as a surprise. There is nothing wrong with this hotel but I just didn't expect food of this quality. The rest of the package is a little behind the restaurant in the quality stakes, though nothing is poor. The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.

The major negative for me was the acceptance of dogs in the hotel - though not in the restaurant. I hadn't noticed this when we booked but as someone who doesn't like dogs I found it uncomfortable when people had them in a hotel and in the bar. I am afraid I wouldn't return just because of the willingness to accept dogs on the premises. If you like dogs and this wouldn't bother you then this is a really pleasant hotel - nothing fancy but just great quality food in pleasant surroundings. Bar area lacked any atmosphere over the weekend we were there but I guess this is to do with who is staying on any given date.

Room Tip: The ground floor suites with private conservatory space look good but only if you appreciate a previ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IJ67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a great stay at Woodlands Lodge Hotel where we found the accommodation and location well suited to our needs. The staff in particular were first class and very welcoming.We wanted somewhere that provided good access to the forest yet was close to Southampton with good access onto the M27.Woodlands lodge fitted the bill perfectly in thus regard.

We stayed in a family suite which was spacious and comfortable with excellent bathroom and shower facilities.As dog owners[ although we didn't have our dog with us on this occasion] we were also pleased to note that the Hotel was very dog friendly and would certainly consider taking him with us next time. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone who wanted a good base to tour the beautiful New Forest and surrounding area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Woodlands Lodge perfectly organised our business' 15th birthday in their picturesque BBQ garden. Feedback from our guests was wonderful, as was the food & service. Finally, the staff was very helpful, understood what was most important in our function, and made us all feel welcome. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ITC Solent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We enjoyed our bank holiday weekend at Woodlands lodge. The staff were very helpful and often went out of their way to make use feel comfortable and at home. The chef surprised us with a excellent vegetarian dinner one evening. The lodge offers excellent access to hiking and biking trails. One issue was that the WiFi and mobile phone reception in the room were not great. Overall, a relaxing holiday in a charming manor house in an idyllic setting.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KS_1977_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodlands
2.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
8.5 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
774 reviews
8.3 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,832 reviews
3.7 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
851 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Lodge Hotel

Address: Bartley Road, Woodlands, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO40 7GN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woodlands
Price Range: $100 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodlands Lodge Hotel is a charming Country House hotel well away from main roads set in three acres that open directly onto Hampshire's New Forest. The perfect base to relax, walk or enjoy the local New Forest attractions. Woodlands Lodge Hotel can also host, conferences, weddings and special events. We have The Hunters Restaurant on site which is open to non-residents and has been awarded an AA rosette for culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Woodlands Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Woodlands
Woodlands Hotel Southampton
Woodlands Lodge Hotel New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing