We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location and everything we needed”
other travelers have booked this property
Rufus Cottage, the perfect location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rufus Cottage, the perfect location
The Kitchen/Diner is fully equipped, all white goods and a great 5 ring gas hob and huge oven Study, view through to kitchen diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Rufus Cottage, the perfect location
The Kitchen/Diner is fully equipped, all white goods and a great 5 ring gas hob and huge oven
Study, view through to kitchen diner
The study with games for rainy days
Study; with day-bed under the stairs for a 5th guest if necessary
TV lounge with comfy sofas
TV lounge through to conservatory
The conservatory
Patio with BBQ and fresh herbs in season
Master bedroom; double bed with ensuite shower room
Ensuite bathroom
Bedroom 2: New 1000pocket matress with feather and down duvets
Family bathroom
The New Forest Hotel garden. Perfect for watching the kids play whillst having a drink.
The New Forest Hotel, for when you don't want to cook (pic on a rare snowy day).
Rope swings over the river
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Ashurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
s0phiebut...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and everything we needed”
Reviewed June 30, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

A great place to stay. Not only is it next door to a lovely family pub (with a great garden and play area for kids), it's also walking distance to a train station, bus stop and most importantly the New Forest. We took our 3 year old, so we needed to be within walking distance of the woods - a 10 minute walk and we saw horses, cows and deer!
Peppa pig world is only a 20 minute drive away and there are lots of attractions for children nearby.
The cottage was child friendly with an enclosed garden. The 2 bathrooms was really handy, especially as there was a bath and a shower. All the extra touches were appreciated, from games and DVDs to condiments in the cupboard. The washer/dryer was very useful too. A great stay and highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet S
1 review
“Wow cottage in the New Forest”
Reviewed June 23, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Brilliant location, near station, pub and main roads for sight seeing.

The cottage itself was equipped with everything one could wish for. Beds were comfortable and the rest of the cottage was furnished adequately?

A good place to bring children and less than 15 minutes from Pepper Pig World.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tdl1972
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 4, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Lovely clean and comfortable cottage, with everything you need. Excellent location, can’t wait to go back to the New forest and stay at the same cottage again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flyer6066...
1 review
“Excellent dog friendly cottage”
Reviewed May 29, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We loved absolutely everything about this cottage, just cannot fault it. Perfect location for some wonderful walks, with or without a dog, but having a dog and seeing how much he enjoyed it, just made it even more special. Great amenities all within walking distance, pubs takeaways and a shop etc, cannot wait to come back. The cottage itself was perfect with two bathrooms, which was a bonus, great kitchen with everything you need, a really spacious property. Love it, thank you David.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre G
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A cosy comfortable cottage”
Reviewed March 30, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We spent a long weekend here, four adults, a baby and dog. Plenty of room for us all and very well appointed. A cold weekend, with snow on the Saturday night, but the cottage was warm and cosy. Everything we needed. Because of the snow, we decided that our Winchester trip,on the Sunday would be on the train which was so convenient. Ate at the pub for our lunch on Saturday and had an excellent meal. Would love to come back, perhaps in the better weather, to see more of the area. A fantastic weekend and the accommodation was brilliant,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janetroom...
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rufus cottage”
Reviewed March 25, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Absolutely perfect, great location warm and comfortable everything you needed. Ideal location for us as family in Totton and Holbury. Would definitely book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCP60
Callington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rufus Cottage ,Ashurst, New Forest”
Reviewed March 13, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

David has immaculately presented Rufus Cottage.
It was clean, comfortable,cosy and warm.
We all slept very well due to the high quality of the beds, pillows and duvets.
The shower provided hot water on demand and you could eadily adjust the flow.
The kitchen was very well equipped and contained all modern appliances which made our stay even more relaxing.
The conservatory was bright and airy even when the rain was torrential !

It's position near to the line and Forest Inn did not compromise it's tranquiity in any way.

The price was fair.

We would stay here again without hesitation,and thoroughly recommend this lovely cottage in the New Forest

Mark,Mary,Katherine and Alexander

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 27, 2018
Thank you for those positive words. It was a treat to see some of your family arrive by train and some by car. Perfect meeting point. People don't always pick up on the rail travel option.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing