We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem”

New Forest Wildlife Park
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Ashurst
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy the amazing animals at this beautiful park, in the leafy New Forest, with its fabulous adventure playgrounds. Follow the woodland trails to see wallaby, European bison, wolves, wild boar, Scottish wildcats, lynx, foxes, pine marten, polecats, owls and ferrets. Meet the friendly deer and say hi to the playful otters, including the endangered giant otter. Feeding sessions, keeper talks and special events year round. Amazing playgrounds for under 6's and from 6yrs to 86yrs!!!
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Little gem”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We visited the new forest and went to beaulieu motor museum in the morning and early afternoon and then went on to the wildlife park in the late afternoon the wildlife is perfect the otter are superbly maintained and kept in wonderful enclosures and are a joy to watch they have European otter, North American river otter the playful Asian short clawed otter and rare giant otters which are a sight to behold!! The zoo has other animals such as wolves, foxes, deer, wolves and many owls and birds.. The otter house has viewing windows for all heights to see them under water and on land there is also an indoor butterfly room with many butterflies, there are harvest mice, voles and hedgehogs and a badger.. You can walk in with the deer which usually follow you round and there is a great play area and cafeteria.

We was very impressed with the wildlife park and is worth every penny it's not very expensive and the shop has some bargins in it, although not as big as other zoos it is well worth planning to spend at least 3hours here as you will want to watch the otters again and again!!

Superb visit

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    275
    84
    35
    25
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting with beautiful animals”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I visited the Wildlife Park on a weekday. I arrived just as a school party were departing, so got around the park pretty quickly. The trails were easy to follow & there was good information about all of the animals. It was great to see them all. The wallabys seemed to have the freedom to go wherever they pleased & I was lucky enough to see them being fed. The wolves & lynx were in their own enclosures & looked happy & well looked after. My favourites were the owls & you can actually adopt an owl, & I intend to do so.

I would recommend a visit to the park, & will definitely be returning.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sareeta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday attraction for young families”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We visited with our four year old son and had a great time. There were good cafe and toilet facilities at the entrance and the trails around the park were well laid out, although you really need a dry day to get the most put of the walks. We were able to get up very close to the animals, especially in the deer park and the butterfly enclosure, which was fantastic for children. The playground facilities were also excellent, with a separate area for younger children and plentiful picnic tables, although the prices in the cafe and shop were very reasonable. All In all a great few hours spent here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol H, Owner at New Forest Wildlife Park, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post an excellent review. I will make sure all the staff know you appreciated and enjoyed your visit.

=
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Day Out in the New Forest”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We visited this attraction as part of a holiday, on first inspection the car park was close and a decent size, toilets at the entrance and a cafe. They had a Easter Quiz for the children which helped keep them on track around the park. There were lots of different woodland animals to see and some extras such as bison, lynx and wallabies. The play park was a big draw for families as it for both children and adults, plus there is a little person sand park seperate, bit awkward if you have 2 or more children of varying ages. Our girls loved it. My only gripe would be that the toilets at the beginining were the only toilets so if you needed them you all had to trail back to the entrance as was the cafe. They could do with more loos and maybe a snack shack.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helene298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Day Out.”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We had a brilliant day out here, with our children aged 10, 9, 5 and 1...in fact we went to celebrate our son's first birthday. Even at one, he loved the otters and butterflies and cake in the cafe! The other children loved the play areas, great idea to cater for both age ranges.
We had intended to visit Longdown Dairy farm, but changed our minds after their car park was full and the queue for the entrance was huge....so glad we came here instead.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ojorose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol H, Owner at New Forest Wildlife Park, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Very pleased you enjoyed yourselves when you visited us recently. We are aware of the problems with loos inside the park but unfortunately due to planning regulations etc we are unable to rectify the problem at the moment.
Thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Forest Wildlife Park also viewed

Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Ashurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Exbury, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to New Forest Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing