We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of The Willows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Willows
Ranked #2 of 3 Ashurst B&B and Inns
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I would just like to say that this B & B accomodation is nicely decorated extremely clean and the food was top notch. The owners couldnt do enough for you they were really friendly and helpfull.
i would recommend to anyone. Ps great shower in my single room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatfitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewillowsashurst, Owner at The Willows, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
65
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Willows is located on a busy road with good off road parking. We received a very warm welcome with tea and cake brought to our room. The room itself was spacious, clean and comfortable and the en-suite was very well appointed. Our dog was also made very welcome.
Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. There is a lovely walk through part of the New Forest from the B&B which our dog particularly enjoyed! During our short break we visited Lepe Country Park, Exbury Gardens and Bucklers Hard marina - all a short drive from the B&B and all well worth visiting. Public transport service is good with Ashurst train station just down the road and a bus stop nearby. There are several really good places to eat within 10 mins walk. The local family run bistro "the Herb Pot" was very good, but you will probably need to book in advance. We had a comfortable and relaxing stay and we hope to return, as there are more places to visit.
To sum up - a great location and an ideal place to explore the New Forest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewillowsashurst, Owner at The Willows, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you John for the review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that your border collie enjoyed the local walks through the forest. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combe Martin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed there for a night in August (a day without rain!). Lovely welcome with tea and cake, nice room, comfy bed and clean bathroom. Great location and only a short walk from pubs and a lovely Indian restaurant. The breakfast was a real high point, big enough to last us all day and made from quality sausages, bacon, black pudding, etc. The real deal!
If you are a dog owner be aware that, although it is a dog friendly establishment, you will not be allowed to leave your dog in your room when you are not there. Makes it trickier to go out for a meal but apparently some of the pubs do allow dogs in...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveIm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewillowsashurst, Owner at The Willows, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for the review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our Full English Breakfast.

Regarding dogs that stay at The Willows, we treat them as children. I am sure you would agree, you would not leave a child in a strange room belonging to strangers and go out for a meal. Strange noices and voices can cause an animal to become anxious or agitated and this may cause it to behave in a way you would not expect. We have 3 pubs in Ashurst and all accept dogs.
During breakfast, dogs can sit in their car which can be seen from the breakfast room. They are a lot happier in an evironment they know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Willows is a very comfortable ,homely and friendly B& B , immaculately clean and a fantastic full English breakfast . We arrived on Friday after spending the day in the New Forest and then to Lyndhurst. After our arrival at The Willows we walked up the road to The Forest Inn , and had a great meal, highly recommended. The purpose of our trip was to visit The National Motor Museum at Beaulieu, which was very good value , with the Top Gear and James Bond in Motion , we spent around four hours walking around and still didn't get to everything. All in all a great weekend break . Hope to come back to see more of the New Forest .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewillowsashurst, Owner at The Willows, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you Steve and Heather for the review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at The Willows. We are in an ideal location for a visit to Beaulieu Motor Museum which is an excellent day out and great value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We arrived to a very friendly welcome. Room was very clean and spacious. Excellent breakfast and parking available for all rooms. Excellent local pub for evening meal. Very handy for seeing New Forest or sailing from Southampton as we did.

Would definately return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewillowsashurst, Owner at The Willows, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you Alan for the review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at The Willows and that you enjoyed your sailing. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leusden, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Situated at the road from Southhampton straight through the New Forest. A bit busy all day but perfect located for nice trips to the New Forest. The room at the front was very big and confortable. A bit smelly from the cooked breakfast, but further it was a very good stay and was resonably priced at GBP70 anight. We enjoyed a good breakfast and at the evening we had two pubs and three restaurants within 10 minutes walk. Visit the New Forest Conservation in Longdown seeing the local wildlife!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brocktorana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewillowsashurst, Owner at The Willows, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you Danny for the review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you found your room comfortable. We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast even though it makes the house a bit smelly.

Ashurst offers a number of pubs and restaurants and discounts are available at two of the pubs when staying at The Willows. The New Forest Wildllife Centre and Longdown Dairy Farm are two excellent attractions local to Ashurst.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed over a weekend B&B was excellent, very clean and hearty breakfast, ideally situated to explore the new forest and the coast, local pubs serving good food in easy walking distance.

open top bus trips advisable on warm days, although its the first forest we`ve been through that has more heathland than trees. that said its still an area worth visiting

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewillowsashurst, Owner at The Willows, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you Pam. We are glad you and Martin enjoyed your stay at The Willows and that you took advantage of the Tour Bus-an excellent way to see the New Forest without a car.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashurst
1.4 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
550 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.0 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
819 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
835 reviews
3.0 mi away
The White Rabbit
The White Rabbit
#6 of 8 in Lyndhurst
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows

Property: The Willows
Address: 72 Lyndhurst Road, Ashurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO40 7BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Ashurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ashurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Willows 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Ashurst, the Gateway to the New Forest, this bed and breakfast is the ideal location for walking, cycling and wildlife. It is within easy reach of the M27, and Ashurst Railway Station, on the main line from London to Weymouth, is only a ten minute walk away. DOGS ACCEPTED BY ARRANGEMENT ONLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willows Ashurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing