We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Forest Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Burley Inn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Burley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had spoken to some friends who suggested to us that the Burley Inn Hotel was not as good as the Queens Head 50 meters away. However, my wife and I decided to give it a try after we had a really good coffee in the morning sitting out on the front patio. The menu is a little traditional but the specials board offers some great alternatives. If they have Game Suet Pudding on the board, you will not be disappointed. It is a meal for someone hungry and probably the best I have eaten - anywhere. Most clientèle appear to eat early in the evening as the pub was almost empty by 9pm. In my opinion it is a lot better than the Queens Head.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ray m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 280 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

Came here after a long day cycling with an old friend. Got a very cosy room, clean and with a good shower, plenty of water and I could stand tall under the water (I´m 6´3). Excellent steak for dinner. Very friendly staff. Love this area and will be back to this hotel.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank SS_Pals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I was whisked away for my birthday to the New Forest; and having spent all day riding in the rain it was great to enter into a pub with a real wood fire! We were greeted by Tom who was very friendly and quickly showed us to our rooms. Throughout our stay he was attentive, friendly and really went above and beyond to make our visit enjoyable; pointing out the wine deal mentioned later on.

The location itself is cute and quaint, perfect for a romantic getaway. There are some short walks nearby and a bike shop to hire from for the more adventurous. Or if driving by car you are free to explore some more. Within a 15minute drive we were walking around getting lost in a treetop walkway.

We stayed in the King size room at the front of the property. The room was spacious with plenty of storage, complete with en-suite. It was warm (despite the snow & rain outside) and stocked with kettle, biscuits, tea and coffee. The only downside was the en-suite was in need of a little refurb - but in all, a lovely room. Despite it being the weekend we fell asleep without hearing much noise from the pub downstairs (could have been due to the wine though!)

As a vegetarian I was delighted to find an entire chalkboard filled with vegetarian specials. Each was something a little different from your bog standard 'boring cheese' type dishes, it was hard to choose! My boyfriend being a typical meat eater also had a huge selection to choose from, opting for the bourbon beef which was incredible! Not only do you get to choose from vegetables or salad but have the choice of how you'd like your potatoes cooked. Soon, we had an entire table filled with delicious hot food!

Value-wise it was also great, although I don't know if it was just due to it being a Saturday. We were able to add a starter and dessert for around £2.50 each and the wine was buy two large glasses get the rest of the bottle free - great value for very tasty food! Dinner came in much cheaper than we expected so we were also able to afford a few after dinner shots!

Breakfast was also included, offering a selection of cereals, fruit salad and the option of a cooked breakfast. The staff were lovely enough to sort out a meat-free cooked breakfast option for me without any fuss.

In all - a lovely romantic surprise birthday weekend that had everything I could have asked for! The service from Tom deserves a special mention - he really did make our stay relaxing - as well as the chefs. A trip back just for the food is definitely on the cards, I have the rest of a specials board to sample!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a very traditional place. The decor is tired and cleanliness leaves a bit to be desired. The menu is huge and very typical pub food which arrived relatively quickly and was perfectly edible. However, it was frozen and pretty low quality. You get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

If you are looking for reasonably priced pub accommodation in the New Forest, the Burley Inn would be an excellent choice. It is owned by a small local company which has a number of pubs in the area and as such feels much more like an independent than part of a large national chain.

The room was clean and comfortable if a little idiosyncratic, with the basin plumbed into the dressing table at the foot of the bed. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The menu is good honest pub food. This isn't a gastro pub, but we had two very good evening meals.

Room Tip: We were in room 10 which felt like it was near the hot water tank, which made it lovely and warm in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LDP-Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Stopped off here from way back from durdle door lovely food, service., and location. Odd that they had on high chairs though. Will return soon for sure. The village was also nice. Can't believe we were the only ones in.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank tizzwaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My family stopped here for lunch and had a warm welcome by the lovely staff. There was a great coal fire burning away, the pub was dog friendly so my spaniel enjoyed the rest and warmth, and although we waited a while for the food, when it came we were not disappointed. The food was excellent, fresh and very tasty at a reasonable cost. I would highly recommend this lovely pub in the middle of Burley!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Jacki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burley
0.3 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
390 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
712 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,084 reviews
5.8 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,645 reviews
8.4 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burley Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burley Inn Hotel

Address: The Cross, Burley, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Ringwood BH24 4AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Ringwood > Burley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Burley
Price Range: $129 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burley Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your The Burley Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burley Inn Hotel New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing